We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and great view!”
Review of Reavers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reavers Lodge
Ranked #58 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at Reavers lodge in five weeks.
The view is amazing, and its only 10 minutes from town!
A great place to stay as a backpacker - and the breakfast is included, could'nt be better!
But I can give my great thanks to the amazing staff - Byron, Dean, Rachel, Jack, Wendy and Tong - they made my stay amazing!
Clean rooms, hot tub and a good place to be if you dont want any noise.
At Reavers you get more quiet nights, and the staff at Reavers are absolutely more friendlier then anybody else! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 415 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed at Reavers Lodge for 2 nights. It was noisy and drunks were coming home at 3.00 am. When I made a complaint the first night all I got from them was sorry and that they would do something about it. They did nothing.
The 2nd night was worse. This is the worst place I have ever stayed at. I was also charged
for 3 nights instead of 2. It has taken 1 phone 3 emails and 5 weeks to get my money
back...Beware!

Doug Cameron.

Room Tip: dont get a room overlooking the court yard.you may as well sleep in a park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug_Mellisa_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

what an awesome place to stay with great hospitality and excellent views!! would defiantly come stay again!!! good one reavers!! good bit of advise ask for a room with a view ,
we will be back again!!

Room Tip: ask for room with view when booking !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is really for backpackers. Unless you are willing to put up with noise and creaky soft beds, this may be a place for you. Not friendly staff, dirty, awful toilet and no facilities available after 10pm. No coffee or tea except in the cafeteria which closes at 11pm. Car parking if you are lucky to find one. Not suitable for family or guests who wants a relaxing night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwinLit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Reavers Lodge caters for backpackers and young teens, which wasn't obvious from their website when we booked. It was a bad time to be there (just before New Years Eve) and the place was full of young teens drinking all hours and being generally noisy, hanging around the balcony outside our room so we couldn't enjoy the views and a bit of quiet. Breakfast was basic and cheap, compared to other Continental breakfasts we experienced elsewhere - 3 "juices" available which were just coloured water (red, green and orange), no fruit, and basic homebrand bread, margarine and spreads. No room to move in the bathroom, pretty cramped space. Not worth the money we paid.
Charmaine M

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Suitable for young travellers, backpackers and those who can do with a room which is of no more use, than that of sleeping. Interior(to include beds, are very worn and need to be refurbished)

Poor budget breakfast:-\

In total: Fair value, but absolutely no more!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Reavers Lodge is actually a backpackers lodge, which was not indicated in their advertising. We booked a loft room, which was really a regular room with a crawl space as a loft. The sofa bed was broken and unusable so they gave us a different, cheaper room but have so far not refunded us the difference. The cheaper room we were given was terrible. The legs fell out the bottom of the double bed, the toilet was broken, the fridge was broken, the tv never worked, the bunk bed squeaked every time someone moved, the bathroom was so small you couldn't be in it with the door closed and all the mattresses were stuffed. We would never have stayed there if we had known it was a backpackers lodge and could have stayed in much better accommodation for very little more cost. It was terribly noisy with people running around yelling all night and nothing was done about that. All in all it was a horrible place with lousy customer service and I don't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#39 of 59 in Queenstown
309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aspen Hotel Queenstown
Aspen Hotel Queenstown
#50 of 59 in Queenstown
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#45 of 59 in Queenstown
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#46 of 59 in Queenstown
95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reavers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reavers Lodge

Address: 56 Hamilton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range: $21 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reavers Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reavers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reavers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing