We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski Equipment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reavers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reavers Lodge
Ranked #56 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ski Equipment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked our Queenstown trip with Oz Snow and it included Ski Equipment hire from Reavers. We met Jack Anderson who was great getting us boots, skis and poles. He took the time to make adjustments to our skis and gave us some good advice. We had a great experience on the snow. Thanks Jack!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    73
    70
    66
    73
See reviews for
53
108
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The most friendliest staff I have ever met, very welcoming and helpful. Awesome for a place to meet people and to have a good time. Very cosy and cute and well furnished. Would deffinatly come back and stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Reavers is definitely affordable accommodation and up there with the cheapest you'll find. I don't really suggest getting a quad room, bunks are noisy and ensuites tiny, however if you're looking for a place to rest your head after a big day on the slopes and a big night on the drinks, it'll do the job. Pay the extra to go for a loft or something, it's still super standard accommodation but you get what you pay for. The staff are awesome and super helpful, plenty of advice or tips for the younger croud. Easy walk into town, bit of a pain to walk up the hill with your snow gear at the end of the day if you're getting the bus but if you're on a self drive you're set. Taxi home at the end of a big night is no more than $10.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaytemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonogin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff and shown to our room. It had a loft which wasn't the easiest space to access and the sloping ceiling meant you had to duck or you'd hit your head. The beds weren't too comfortable and the sofa lounge needed to be swapped because of the damaged springs and supports. Unfortunately the replacement sofa bed was only marginally better. The bathroom/toilet area was very small and awkward to dry off or get dressed.

Breakfast was supplied and consisted of a few cereals, bread for toast, tea and coffee. The condiments included two jams and peanut butter. Basic but there if you wanted. Our package included one main meal which was a BBQ with some fresh salads. The staff did a great job with this and I really enjoyed the meal.

There is snow gear available if you need to hire. We had our own so I'm not sure what they charge. I did get a hot wax for my snowboard which cost $15. The guy did a good job and had it ready for me to pick up by 7:00 the next morning.

Internet is available and there are a couple of options. My son paid $3.00 for 30 minute blocks but you could also buy 1GB which was valued at $100. This didn't have a time limit but with the weak WiFi signal could only be accessed from around the common area. There are also a couple of computers you could use in the common and I think internet was coin activated.

Car parking is available but there aren't a lot. Fortunately the lodge wasn't booked out or many of the guests didn't have a car because we always managed to get ourselves a parking space.

The best things about this accommodation were its location and the staff. It's up on the side of the hill and from our room there were fabulous views of snow-capped mountains. It's only a short walk into Queenstown and the biggest supermarket is just around the corner. The staff were wonderful and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level have excellent views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Austraveller230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family and I made an online reservation via booking.com on 1st July for 2 standard rooms stay on 28th Aug. However, when we checked in, we were given 2 rooms in 2 different blocks. There were no phones in the rooms to communicate and we had to run up and down to bring things to one another. To think that we made the reservation almost 2 months prior to the stay, the allocation of rooms was disappointing.

There wasn't any space between the sink and the toilet door so if you need to wash your face or brush your teeth, you'll need to do it with the toilet door open.

Don't use the tap water for drinking. It has a bad smell!

We didn't sleep well for the entire night. The floor boards upstairs (our ceiling) are creaking and the walls are not sound-proofed. I could hear people talking and plugging in to the power supplies on the wall. I had to get off my bed to ask my neighbours (a group of girls) to tone down their volume.

The breakfast time was from 7am to 9am. My parents were down at the common kitchen 10 mins before 9am. However, they were declined to get their breakfast as they have already started clearing the food in the common kitchen.

Queenstown is a beautiful place. I wished I had paid more to get a better place to stay in (we paid $90 for each room).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YeYng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Amazing place!
I have stayed in many places while traveling and this is one of the best ones. when you get there you will get welcomed by a really nice view and a wonderful front staff. The staff will help you out with everything from where to go for dinner to book you activities and get your snow gear sorted. It is the only place that i have stayed at that show you around and tell you about the facilities and activities they have. They all deserves a special mention but special thanks to Rachel, Jack and Dean how always smile and are happy to help you out! They all doing a great job. The facilities are good for meeting people and they have a big kitchen. The rooms are clean and well valued.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie_swed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Like a upgraded backpackers lodge or rather being back at university with dorms, loud noise, partying, hundreds of 20yr old somethings boozing on and small rooms. We stayed as a couple in the loft room. It was like a childs cubby house, climbing bunk bed type stairs and a slopping roof where you have to crawl your way into bed and avoid bumping your head should you sit upright on the bed itself.......now the bed - king size well it's two singles together, the quilt hasn't even in a cover, it's as is with a sheet on top. The sofa lounge was a better option on the bottom floor but low and behold it was broken, on a slant and stuffed from people jumping on it or whatever the hell they did. The bear essentials with no hair dryer........soaking wet hair in -5 degrees yay for me!!!
Free breakfast, may as well starve, free dinners, sausages and bread slices in a communal area full of young boozers.
Positive was the staff at the front counter, enthusiastic, helpful and friendly, loved them!

Room Tip: choose a single level room with a large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rissa41585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#46 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#40 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
#47 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reavers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reavers Lodge

Property: Reavers Lodge
Address: 56 Hamilton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reavers Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Reavers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reavers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing