We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation in amazing location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milford Sound Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Milford Sound Lodge is pretty basic, but this is mainly due to it being more of a backpacker style than hotel style. They do this pretty well with a nicely setup shared shower facility, kitchen, dining and chill area. Plus they have a small shop if you need some supplies. The rooms are very simple with just beds and a chair. I stayed by myself in a twin room and it was fine, although, having gotten used to hotels I noticed the lack of TV. This was only a problem because the rain poured down the first afternoon i was there and there was nothing else to do.

The location is what sells this place though as only 2mins down the road by car (10min walk) is the phenomenally beautiful Milford Sound. So the lodge was very convenient for the boat tours of the Sound and also close to the amenities nearby: cafe, info, etc. It's also quite close to the hiking tracks, although you'll need transport to get to the start of most of them.

my only complaint is that some of the lodge workers at the reception where not particularly helpful. they seemed made up mainly of young British people (probably backpackers staying for a while) and did not seem particularly keen to help out. I know my asking what the weather was supposed to do was probably boring to them, but as a paying customer you expect them to help, not just take your money. It wasn't that big a deal though and most of them where nice enough.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Milford Sound Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2010

We wanted to stay in Milford Sound for 2 nights and got a quad at Milford Sound Lodge. We are in our 60's and were slightly apprehensive about staying in a backpacking hostel place. We "old folk" may have been in the majority; all guests were friendly. The kitchen was always very clean, personnel were nice, the lounge was comfortable, and the dining area clean and welcoming. The bedroom had 2 bunkbeds and lights; bathroom/showers nearby. Good place to stay and the location couldn't be beat.
We went on Cruize Milford and were very happy we did. Yes, it rained, but that just increased the amazing waterfalls.
Do not go to Milford Sound unless you have Deet; the sandflies will eat you...all of you.
Go to The Chasm--easy worthwhile walk.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

I loved that place, you can see the river and the hills from your bed. was just fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikolettszarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Unfortunately, the Riverside Chalets were all booked up by the time I confirmed that we would be staying at the Milford Lodge so we stayed in the quad room instead which was very basic and perhaps not quite the atmosphere that one is going for on one's honeymoon! However, that is certainly not the fault of the lodge - for the price, the accommodation was certain adequate.

However, I am giving the Milford Lodge my higest possible rating for service and a very good rating overall because of their service. We managed to lock our keys in the trunk of our car during our Milford Sound kayak trip and Ben from the front desk agreed to head out there immediately and while in the rain (with no coat) spent a good 15-20 minutes helping us get back into our car. It really was the extra mile and saved us at lead 2-3 hours of waiting and worry as the nearest AA service center was in Te Anau a good 2 hours away. Thanks again for a great service experience and we will plan ahead next time and stay at the Riverside Chalets when we return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Nice bathrooms, for a hostel. They are closed for cleaning for an hour each in the afternoon, which can be inconvenient, though you're invited to use the other gender's bathroom. Not enough private accommodation available. Small kitchen, but lots of fridge space. Expensive (satellite) wireless. Bring sandfly repellent.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed for one night in the Milford Sound Lodge after doing a cruise, mainly because we didn't want to do the drive between Te Anau and Milford twice on one day, as we were travelling with our 2-year-old.

We decided to book a chalet and indulge ourselves a little - and it was fantastic. The chalet is roomy, and has fantastic views over the Clyde river and mountains. You would just hear the water - incredibly relaxing. We wandered around the river a bit and the little one had a great time playing with all the rocks there. You really have the feeling you're in the middle of nature - that it is just you, the river, mountains and trees.

The chalet also has a kitchenette. There's no stove top but a microwave so if you take something microwaveable there's no need to venture out to get some food. The bathroom is also spacious. The interior of the chalet is modern, and quite pretty. Big flatscreen tv (and I think also dvd player), the bed was huge (king size) and comfortable.

Absolutely one of the best places (beautiful scenery, clean and quiet) we stayed in - but it comes with a price tag. I think we paid NZ$ 240 for one night, and that is quite expensive. To be honest, I'd expect them to throw in a little bit more - maybe a simple breakfast? Also the service is nothing special. On the other hand, it is probably one of the places on earth where you wouldn't mind to spend that kind of money. Would definitely recommend this place and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed two nights in the regular rooms. It was very cold outside but they only heat the rooms after 6 pm. The lounge is great and spacious and internet access is for free. The communal kitchen is the dirtiest we have seen during our 3 weeks trip throughout New Zealand. We think the price is too high for what they offer, of course you can't beat the location and there are (almost) no other options for accommodation. . The cottages are probably nicer but cost 3 times of what we paid for the standard room ($70 per night. You also have to book the cottage a long time in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
23.3 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 7 in Glenorchy
287 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
61 reviews
24.2 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#5 of 53 in Wanaka
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Sound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Sound Lodge

Address: State Highway 94, Milford Sound 9640, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milford Sound
Price Range: $13 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is simply not possible to fully experience Milford Sound in a day trip... Stay in Milford to enjoy its pure beauty after the day tripping crowds leave and before they arrive. Just 5 minutes drive from Milford Sound cruise boats, Milford Sound Lodge is ideally located. With picture perfect views of the Cleddau River and surrounding mountains, activity bookings on site, and a cafe and a shop, you won’t find a better base for your time in Fiordland. Choose accommodation that suits your needs – from award winning Premium Chalets to cosy Backpacking Rooms and Rainforest Campervan Sites – and let our friendly staff help you make the most of your time in this World Heritage site.There is so much to do: boat cruises, kayaking, walking and sightseeing, or relaxing and soaking in the beauty of your surroundings. You won’t regret treating yourself to an overnight stay in Milford Sound. Pre booking is essential Nov - April and year round for our Chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milford Sound Hotel Milford Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing