We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something really special”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milford Sound Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Something really special”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is one for those that want something a bit different- rather like glamping but in a lodge cabin- the view from the windows is spectacular- river and mountain. The room is spacious and modern and the bed very comfortable- yes its a bit outdoorsy bit thats its charm adn the price is directly relevant to scarcity value- we paid about NZ$250 which was good value in my view for something very unique
Not sure I would have felt the same about the lodge rooms which seemed to be older and had alot of foot traffic passing the door

Room Tip: All the cabins looked good to me- but perhaps dont stay in one of the lodge rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevebrenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    327
    186
    54
    31
See reviews for
173
539
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

When everything is booked, you have little choice sometimes. Fantastic web site. $305pn meant a very nice chalet with lovely views from the large windows. Still meant you cooked in the backpacker kitchen though (long queues and even longer wait fo a table). The beautiful, spacious balconies are useless because the insects eat you alive. But anything is worth it to see Miilford Sound. The boat trip and the whole area makes it all worthwhile. The chalets are new (great bathrooms) with ample parking. Short walk to boat departures.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbarista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

As there is nowhere else to stay in the milford sound I imagine you will stay their despite bad reviews, I just wanted to let you know that the dorm bed gave me bed bugs or some kind of invisible biting plague. I wish I'd slept in my sleeping bag and you might want to.
Other negatives are that the rooms don't have sand fly nets so you can't open the windows. With four people crammed in a tiny room on a hot dry summers night I'm sure the room temp got up to 35 degrees. Very unpleasant.
There is a large comfortable lounge to wait in which is great. The coffee was really average but the food was nice but of course overpriced. You have to purchase data to use the Internet, but the two communal computers are straight out of the nineties and literally so slow and defunct and the signal so poor that it's not really worth it unless an emergency.
The staff were a mixed bunch from slow and not very helpful to very helpful. The bathrooms were pretty messy like you would expect of those at a dorm full of twenty somethings.
The site is spectacular though and it's hard to worry too much about those things with that beauty all around.
There is free anti sand fly stuff in reception, a nice touch, you'll need it the sand flies are merciless.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed at a few backpackers lodges and a few hotels during our 2 week journey of South Island. I guess I would sum this place up by saying they have a really nice website that makes you think you are going to something much nicer than you are. The bunk rooms are just the two bunks, no towels and it's a shared bathroom for all the dorm rooms. The sandflies (which I realize are not the fault of the Lodge) are vicious in Milford Sound, so you had that to contend with as well. I probably would not stay here again - I would recommend staying a ways out of town and making the drive. We did have a wonderful time on our Morning Glory Kayak with Rosco's and hiking Gertrude's Saddle!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macd6951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I agree with other reviewers, it was a little tough to find the lodge, but once we found it - the check in was easy - we had made a reservation the day before and all was fine. We settled in quickly and headed to the cafe/lounge where in a lovely communal area, people are eating cafe meals or their own meals and just hanging out on the couches. The cafe is open long hours so you can get food and drinks (including alcohol) throughout the morning to the later evening.
THe kitchen is well equipped and well organised. The bathrooms are perfect, large size and there wasn't ever people waiting. I would recommend they put a few more hooks around the ladies bathroom, as there never seems to be enough to hang towels/toiletry bags etc while in the showers or at the hand basins. Leaving the next day it was pouring with rain, this made for a stunning view as we woke up - waterfalls flowing off the high cliffs. Magic!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionanz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

On our way around the south island of New Zealand we were told we had to go to Milford Sound. I'm so grateful today that we got to experience this! Around 3 hours drive from Te Anau with great views. When we arrived it was a bit hard to find the small road that led us to the lodge. And the road was full of holes, so it wasn't to easy to drive.
We were greeted at the reception by a Swedish guy, good for us :) He explained where we could park our car, and some other good facts about Milford Sound. We rented one of the cabins, and it was awesome! Stunning views next to the river and the high mountains raising next to us.
We rented the cabin with a double bed, which was very comfy. You have to be fast though, when you're going out from the cabin so no sand flies get in.
Kitchen area was well equipped and we didn't miss anything. Big sharing bath room. Only downer for me was that I had to walk from the cabin into the house during the night to visit the bath room. It was kind of cold and you don't really fancy to get all your clothes on to walk for a while to get there.
Anyway, this is a great place to stay at. And I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everythingcounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Emma and her staff took great care of us during our too short of a stay in one of their Chalet units.(#1 in the picture). These units along the river as well a few more with mountain view which were just built added a great alternative to the hotel or RV parking accommodations the lodge offered before.

Our room offered everything ou could ask for from a 4 star hotel room- comfortable bed, warm shower, small kitchenette, but best part was the floor to ceiling window facing the river and mountains of the sound. The deck looked nice, but was not usable due to the volume of sand flies.

There was only one restaurant, Blue Duck in the town of Milford Sound so we greatly appreciated the limited but tasty breakfast and light dinner we had while enjoying the river view in our room.
Since it took 2,5 hours one way to drive we felt that an overnight stay was the only way to really experience the park. This way we could avoid the bus tours between noon and 3pm.
We did take the 2 hour cruise of the sound, but the best experience was the guided 1/2 day hike along the Milford Track with the Anna who lead us and offered a great insight to the track as well as park.

The chalet unit was not cheap, but offered the best value of our whole trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meklof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
23.3 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
24.2 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#7 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Sound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Sound Lodge

Property: Milford Sound Lodge
Address: State Highway 94, Milford Sound 9640, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milford Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is simply not possible to fully experience Milford Sound in a day trip... Stay in Milford to enjoy its pure beauty after the day tripping crowds leave and before they arrive. Just 5 minutes drive from Milford Sound cruise boats, Milford Sound Lodge is ideally located. With picture perfect views of the Cleddau River and surrounding mountains, activity bookings on site, and a cafe and a shop, you won’t find a better base for your time in Fiordland. Choose accommodation that suits your needs – from award winning Luxury Riverside Chalets to cosy private and dormitory backpacking rooms and powered campervan and tent sites – and let our friendly staff help you make the most of your time in this World Heritage site.There is so much to do: kayaking, diving, boat cruises and sightseeing, or relaxing and soaking in the beauty of your surroundings. You won’t regret treating yourself to an overnight stay in Milford Sound.Pre booking is essential Nov - March and year round for our Riverside Chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milford Sound Hotel Milford Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing