We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, basic, accommodation in GREAT location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milford Sound Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Location is spectacular - surrounded by mountains and waterfalls and very close to Milford Sound.

We stayed in a two-person cabin (not the riverside Chalet). The cabin is almost comically small, but comfortably warm in the winter and fine for shorter stays. Staff are very friendly.

Common area is nice for hanging out - no TV.

We didn't use the kitchen facilities and ate dinner at the cafe down the road. The on-site cafe makes excellent muffins and flat whites for breakfast.

Had fun watching the kea on the property.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mhcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi, thanks for placing your review. Not only do we have Kea on our site but also Weka and Glow Worms! Thanks for mentioning our cafe, our muffins sell out every day! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for one night and it was worth doing as an expedition from Queenstown by car it is a little too far to do in a day. We stayed in the luxury chalet which are really nice considering the rest of the accommodation I imagine the view in the summer is amazing.

Room Tip: Stay in the luxury chalet the rest of the rooms are very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larissamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our chalets. We have another 8 for this year which is exciting for us. The drive from Queenstown takes 5 hours and 5 hours back - 10 hours driving plus your cruise of around 2 hours. This seems brutal to us and doesn't allow you much time for stopping and enjoying one of NZ's and perhaps the worlds most scenic highways. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The missus and I stayed in one of the cabins which are actually detached from the lodge, the cabins are so tiny you cant move in them. There is enough room for the double bed and thats it, good luck trying to fit 2 suitcases in there and move around, an extra foot of space would be ideal. The communal showers though were quite clean and nice. There is no competition for this lodge as its the only accomodation this side of Te Anau, so you just put up with it. But, being at Milford Sound in the evening and night pretty much by yourself is the only way to experience it, the most beautiful end of the road feeling you won't forget.
I would recommend this accommodation just so there's no driving or rushing in the morning.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, definately stay in the chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benji35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi, thank for your your review. You will be glad to hear we have just this week replaced our cosy little cabins with more chalets that you have recommended. Overnight in Milford Sound certainly is something to experience and the less rush while you are on holiday the better! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of the tramping season in a 5 bed mixed dorm. Had stayed in a number of backpackers across the bottom of the South Island on the same trip and this was by far the worst. Dorms were extremely small and bed linen was visibly dirty - I'm not one to be fussy but I was sure to use a sleeping bag. Bathrooms had good showers but weren't very clean. We didn't even bother looking at the kitchens...

From what I could see the more expensive accommodation was far nicer, so I would recommend that if it's in the budget. If not - take a sleeping bag

Charges for the internet were very high so don't bother unless you have to. If you can, make sure you have the food and supplies you need for your trip if you are driving in and out - the food in the small store they had was expensive.

As it is the only accommodation available in Milford Sound for travelers on a budget, it's hard to be picky. The staff mostly made up for the poor quality of the lodgings with very friendly and helpful service, including free rides to the restaurant and ferry/bus terminal. Nevertheless, I was glad I wasn't there for more than just a night's sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fubs90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi, thank for your review and we regret that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay with us. The issues you have raised absolutely should not be the standard for our Lodge so you can believe we will be looking into it. Our internet and groceries unfortunately are more expensive than in main centers in NZ because we have satellite internet and the freight on goods into Milford Sound is expensive. Glad to hear our staff delivered great service to you. Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The only "hotel" in Milford Sound for those who don't want to be either driving all day or on a bus all day is the Milford Sound Lodge. It's basic but warm and with a good shower...well it is if you stay in the deluxe chalet room. This was fine for what we wanted and despite being battered by wind and rain all night we got a good night's sleep!

Other options exist for those more budget conscious/traveling in groups which have shared facilities and there seemed to be a great communal atmosphere in the lodge's main building.

The only restaurant is the Blue Duck cafe and bar in Milford Sound itself and the lodge provides a free bus service to and from and fits within their friendly but practical service!

Room Tip: the deluxe chalet if you want your own bathroom/private space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisJR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We largely offer backpacking style rooms but we have 4 fabulous chalets on the riverside which are very popular and booked out months in advance. We do cater for a wide range of guests needs as we are the only on land accommodation available to the public in Milford Sound. This mix of accommodation might be a little confusing but we are happy to host the range of guests who want to stay overnight for a special experience in Milford Sound. Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

In the evening and at night is unforgettable. It has a completely different atmosphere than during the day when there is a huge number of tourists. You're just a few people, there's silence, you can hear the animals in the bush, watching the birds and moonrise. The setting sun and the rising moon over the Mitre peak causes a unique atmosphere, the sky plays all colors. Lodge has a nice shower and a lounge with couches, wifi, books and magazines, the kitchen is the accommodation capacity is too small. The refrigerator somebody even stole beer. Very nice are places for tents - under the trees. It is possible to sleep in his car in the parking lot for a fee of course. Do not go here without sand flies repellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmastef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

HI, what a great description of an overnight in Milford Sound! It really is a special experience and sounds like you really enjoyed the calm and peace of the night time with very few people and no buses. Just to let those reading this know, you actually can't park in the car park overnight in Milford Sound, paid or for free. There is no freedom camping in Milford Sound. There is however many Department of Conservation freedom camping spaces on the Te Anau side of the tunnel and in Milford Sound itself, our Lodge is the only site allocated for camping. Thanks and Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in a 4 bed dorm for $33 a night. It comprised of 2 bunk beds, a table, mirror and chair. It was simple and compact. Heating was provided to keep you toasty warm. There was a huge lounge area with lovely comfy sofas and bean bags, plus loads of leaflets to have a look at. The kitchen was also large and clean. Staff were very helpful and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatterboxmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hi, thanks for taking the time to post about the Lodge and your stay. Sounds like you had a good time and pleased to hear you found our backpacking quad rooms value for money. Thanks and Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
23.2 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 7 in Glenorchy
287 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
63 reviews
24.2 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
27 reviews
23.3 mi away
EcoScapes
EcoScapes
#4 of 7 in Glenorchy
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Sound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Sound Lodge

Address: State Highway 94, Milford Sound 9640, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milford Sound
Price Range: $13 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is simply not possible to fully experience Milford Sound in a day trip... Stay in Milford to enjoy its pure beauty after the day tripping crowds leave and before they arrive. Just 5 minutes drive from Milford Sound cruise boats, Milford Sound Lodge is ideally located. With picture perfect views of the Cleddau River and surrounding mountains, activity bookings on site, and a cafe and a shop, you won’t find a better base for your time in Fiordland. Choose accommodation that suits your needs – from award winning Premium Chalets to cosy Backpacking Rooms and Rainforest Campervan Sites – and let our friendly staff help you make the most of your time in this World Heritage site.There is so much to do: boat cruises, kayaking, walking and sightseeing, or relaxing and soaking in the beauty of your surroundings. You won’t regret treating yourself to an overnight stay in Milford Sound. Pre booking is essential Nov - April and year round for our Chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milford Sound Hotel Milford Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing