We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical backpackers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milford Sound Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

we stayed in a double room although i would have loved to stay in one of the chalets, it seems you have to book months in advance cause there are only 4 of them! this is the only place to stay in milford sound so we had no choice. the walls are paper thin and you can hear every single person that walks past your room cause of the creaky wood plank walkway. this is a typical backpackers, its always noisy, a little dirty and run down, just a bed in a room with a chair, heater and bedside tables.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livingdolldisaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi, thanks for placing a review on our Lodge. We are a typical backpackers in an extraordinary setting. The rooms you stayed in are being rennovated this winter so we are looking forward to being able to offer a higher grade of rooms alongside our chalets which do book well in advance as you say. Thanks for posting and hope to host you in our new rooms soon. Regards, the Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Milford Sound Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

The lodge itself was fine, facilities were good and rooms clean. The problem we had was that whilst we were out on Milford Sound, the cleaners left our room door propped wide open (all our belongings were in there). Staff were apologetic and said they would investigate but we didn't hear anything else from them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueonhols_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

HI, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Lodge. We were mortified to hear the door to your room was left open to air the room while your belongings were still in there. Housekeeping have been consulted on this and staff are very clear this is not to happen again. Our apologies for this error and thanks again for posting. Regards, the Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed overnight in one of the four chalets that are part of the Milford Lodge. If you don't want to stay in a dorm / backpacker setting, and you want to stay in Milford, then this is really your only option. Staying overnight in Milford was a great experience. You get to be in Milford at night and experience the quiet, serene setting and the beautiful sunrise (and the sandflies .. watch out!!). This also enabled us to catch the very early Morning Glory kayaking trip with Rosco's Milford Kayaks, which I highly recommend! (& review separately)

Here are some pros and cons with staying in the chalets at Milford Lodge:

Pros:
- The chalets are brand new and very, very nice. Comfortable beds, and nicely decorated and furnished rooms.
- Rooms include a kitchen with some small appliances (toaster, microwave, electric hot pot).
- The chalets are separate from the rest of the Lodge, so there's plenty of privacy as long as the curtains are closed. Parking is right next to each chalet, which is great for loading and unloading gear.
- Very friendly staff in the Lodge where we checked in. Make sure you ask for free drink coupons at the Blue Duck Cafe!! There's also a small shop open until 9 (I believe) with some snacks and drinks.
- The Cafe and waterfront are about a 15 minute walk from the Lodge / chalets. The first part of the walk is really pretty as it follows along the stream which opens up to the Sound.
- There's a bottle of "Goodbye Sandfly" repellent in each chalet .. it was great to have, and it works!

Cons:
- These chalets are not cheap. You are paying for the luxury of having your own private space. Definitely worth it for the comfort and privacy!
- Our biggest complaint was that there's no air conditioning, and the chalet was HOT. There are huge windows instead of walls on some sides of the chalets, which are great for viewing the scenery but terrible when the sun shines in. The windows don't open, though there are some small windows with screens that we were able to open to get some fresh air. Unfortunately, there was no screen door so we couldn't open the front door to help with circulation without risking filling our chalet with sandflies. Even a fan would have been great to help move the air and cool down the place.
- There is Internet access, but it's sketchy in the chalet and there's only limited MB provided.
- The kitchen in the chalet would be much better if there was some way to cook, either a small stove top or even just a hot plate.
- We didn't have any privacy issues, but there's nothing keeping other guests from coming right up to the huge windows of the chalet. So we kept the curtains closed the whole time, which took away from the enjoyment of the scenery. Would be ideal if the area was restricted to guests of the chalets.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you're looking for a comfortable, upscale accommodation at Milford Sound.

Room Tip: We were in the end chalet (closest to Milford Sound, furthest from the Lodge). This gave us a little...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi, thank you for such a thorough review, I'm sure this review will be helpful to a lot of people planning a trip and overnight in Milford Sound. Our chalets are our most popular accommodation and we are always glad to hear how much people enjoy them. Thanks also for all the helpful feedback on other aspects of our Lodge. Regards, the Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The cottage was one of the nicest places we stayed at during our 14 day trip to NZ. It was beautiful, clean, and had a magnificent view. I appreciated the Goodbye Sandfly repellant in the room as I had read about the voracious sandflies before our trip. The kitchen was a little crowded, but I was pleased to see people work so well together. My only disappointment was that there weren't really accommodations for a family of four. My husband and I booked the cottage and a cabin. We thought they were a little closer together than they actually were. I would most definitely return here again! Only suggestion would be to add a BBQ.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank newnztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi, thank you for placing your view on our Lodge here on Trip Advisor. 2 of our Chalets can accommodation a family of 4 and 2 can accommodation just 3. We will take this into account when planning upgrades to new rooms in the future. Thanks and Regards, the Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Milford Sound Lodge is primarily designed to serve frugal hikers and campers willing to sleep in dorms or in private rooms with shared baths (like my wife and me in yesteryear!). Recently, however, they have added four top quality chalet units facing directly onto a scenic river with mountain views. The experience is truly luxurious.

They serve a very nice limited breakfast menu at the Lodge and there is a very good full-service restaurant down by the waterfront and tour boats, only a two minute drive away. There is one other motel in town, but it is available only to package-tour hikers on the Milford Track.

If you make this trip, be sure to take a cruise on Milford Sound and also be sure to take a few hours on your way in or out to hike to Key Summit on the Routeburn Track - the views are fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for Chalet #1, which has the best views.
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Traveler4230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

HI, glad to hear you were able to book and enjoy one of our chalets. The key summit day walk is fantastic, straight up to alpine views just the best. Thanks for posting again, the Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Yikes! After staying at the Queenstown Hilton and then at a wonderful little B&B in Te Anau, Milford Sound Lodge was a real shock to my system. While we weren’t looking for a four star hotel, we were pretty surprised (and not in a good way) with the accommodations. Stay here only if you can book one of the chalets or if you’re one of those hardcore backpackers. Booking the chalets, however, seems very difficult to do since there are only four of them and they book up well in advance. We stayed in the twin lodge room and the walls there are paper thin. You can hear your neighbor’s every single word. The walkway outside your room is a wooden plank and it makes an incredible amount of noise, especially when people are dragging their suitcases over it. Plus there aren’t any screens over the windows so you can’t really leave them open without all the sandflies coming in. The so-called WIFI is nonexistent in the rooms. You have to be in the lodge for it to work. The last straw was the shared female bathroom; it made me feel like I was back in my high school gym locker room. One good note was the staff – very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank theoatybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi, thanks for posting. It sounds like our chalets would have suited your needs and you are correct, the Lodge today is largely a backpackers and shared facilities are par for the course here. Thanks for the review. Regards, the Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in a backpacker room. The shared bathroom was clean and spacious. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend the "Summer Bed, Breakfast & Boat" package. Early in the morning, before the day trippers arrive, it's FANTASTIC !

PS : You have to book well in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on our Lodge. Very glad you enjoyed the opportunity to stay overnight in Milford Sound and hope to see you again one day. Regards, the Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
23.3 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 7 in Glenorchy
287 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
61 reviews
24.2 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#5 of 53 in Wanaka
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Sound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Sound Lodge

Address: State Highway 94, Milford Sound 9640, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milford Sound
Price Range: $13 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is simply not possible to fully experience Milford Sound in a day trip... Stay in Milford to enjoy its pure beauty after the day tripping crowds leave and before they arrive. Just 5 minutes drive from Milford Sound cruise boats, Milford Sound Lodge is ideally located. With picture perfect views of the Cleddau River and surrounding mountains, activity bookings on site, and a cafe and a shop, you won’t find a better base for your time in Fiordland. Choose accommodation that suits your needs – from award winning Premium Chalets to cosy Backpacking Rooms and Rainforest Campervan Sites – and let our friendly staff help you make the most of your time in this World Heritage site.There is so much to do: boat cruises, kayaking, walking and sightseeing, or relaxing and soaking in the beauty of your surroundings. You won’t regret treating yourself to an overnight stay in Milford Sound. Pre booking is essential Nov - April and year round for our Chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milford Sound Hotel Milford Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing