We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location but facilities were a let down”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milford Sound Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Amazing location but facilities were a let down”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at Milford Sound Lodge on a powered site for one night in October 2012, We'd read great things about the location in all the guide books and we weren't disappointed when we arrived (after a spectacular drive through the snow to get there!) to find ourselves surrounded by amazing snow-capped mountains and forest. The views from the back of our camper were spectacular but unfortunately the rest of the site was a bit of a let down. At $44 a night this was one of the most expensive sites we stayed on during our five week tour of the south island and the facilities were among the worst we experienced. The male toilets and showers were closed for refurbishment so the female bathroom became unisex. Having boys in the loo really didn't bother me but with only a handful of showers and toilets to choose from it meant waiting times were pretty high. There were also no shelves or benches in the showers meaning that storing anything while showering was difficult. I'd also recently sustained a broken shoulder so it was almost impossible for me to shower and dress without anything to sit on or anywhere to place items. I completely understand that refurbishments have to take place but I felt the price should potentially have been discounted as a result. My only other complaint is that the powered sites here are also the most cramped we came across on our travels - the site was full during the night we stayed and it was impossible to leave your curtains open without staring straight into the van next to you. Bit of a shame as it became difficult to admire the view once the site filled up with campers from late afternoon.

There are no other powered site options if you want to stay overnight in Milford Sound so if we were to visit again and do an early morning tour we would probably stay here again. If you're visiting Milford for the day though and staying overnight in the immediate area isn't essential I would highly recommend Hollyford Camp (also known as Gunn's Camp) about half an hour back down the road - authentic 1950's worker's cabins with log burners and equally awesome views for only $10 more per night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
HI, thank you for placing your review, all comments are taken on board. Overnight in Milford Sound is not an experience to be missed though. The peace of a world class destination for a select few only - priceless. Will look into those hooks for you though! Regards, the Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    327
    186
    54
    31
See reviews for
173
539
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Well what a amazing stay, sadly only 1 night. After a big day doing Doubtful Sound & a drive to Milford Sound, we needed a good nights sleep.

The chalets are the top end of the accommodation offered by Milford Sound Lodge (they offer everywhere from campings sites up). The service receives on check in was great, fast & friendly. The guy recommended a great little restaurant (the blue duck) which was fantastic.

The room itself has a kitchenette, nice bathroom (with bath), king sized bed & stunning views of the river. Staying in summer we where concerned about the heat (as there is no air con) however there where a number if windows that could be left open with fly screens, which kept it cool.

All in all, a great stay, I wished I had booked for a little longer before heading back to Queenstown the silence makes this a nice little retreat.

Thanks to all for a great stay.

Room Tip: Well worth spending the extra dollars to book the chalets, there are only 4 so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_Trav_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
HI, Thank you for such a positive and encouraging review! The chalets are always a winner and a 2 night stay is even better for recharging batteries. Regards, the Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a great (and only?) place to stay in Milford, and is surprisingly good considering they could rest on their laurels. The facilities are big enough, the setting fantastic and well maintained - but some little bits need sorting out. For instance, everyone gets up early in Milford - so why not open the reception and shop a bit earlier? Why not keep the bathroom doors closed at night, to stop sandflies getting in and the noise of the hand driers getting out? The kitchen is pretty cramped also. Great place to stay, apart from some little annoyances.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi, thank you for your comments, none of those suggestions are hard to do so we will see what we can do! Regards, The Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

As one of two accommodation options in Milford Sound, this review may be pointless. This is a nice place - good lounge, good kitchen. They can book activities for you, which is good. We stayed in the a basic cabin, and it was very small, essentially just a double bed and nothing else. The internet here is also pretty expensive, and sold by the megabite. Also the sandflies are like nothing else. But despite all that, we still thought it was worth it to stay in MIlford Sound, which has to be one of the most beautiful places in the world.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace_Kinza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi, No review is ever pointless so we appreciate you taking the time. The internet is expensive unfortunately because it costs us alot. We cannot access mainstream broadband and are restricted to satellite, hence the slower pace as well. Better than dial up thought! Regards, the Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Only 2 lodge available at milford sound. Not much of a choice since I do not really like the other review.

Check in time, strictly 2pm, no matter your room is available or not. I guess peak hours? But at least they allow me to use the facilities around while waiting the check in time. WIFI is not free but the connection is quite lousy. It's connected but you just couldn't launch anything. Kitchen very small. But bathroom and toilet is huge. I stayed in Cabin. The bed is comfy. They are kind enough to provide umbrellas for you to use it when raining as the toilet/bathroom is far from the cabin and there's no corridor linking to it from the cabin.

Can't really complain about the sandflies as the whole Milford Sound is full of it. The cabin have nets avoiding the sandflies from coming in from the window.

The view around the cabin is nice thou.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
HI, Thank you for placing a review. We are disappointed that you felt your experience was average, operating in Milford Sound we have alot to live up to! Your are right, there isn't much to be done about the sandflies, they were here long before we were! There is complimentary insect repellant available at reception for all guests to use which does help. Regards, the Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed for one night in one of the chalets. The chalet was lovely, recently refurbished, beautifully decorated (love the lamps!) and though just one room it was a good size for a small family with 2 single beds (or a king bed option) and a pull out double sofa bed. The bathroom was a great size too. The chalet also had a microwave, toaster and fridge so we could prepare our own simple dinner in the chalet. There was a tv and dvd combo which we made use of the evening we arrived as it poured with rain all night. You can borrow dvds from the Lodge reception, unfortunately the one we borrowed was really scratched and impossible to watch in parts. The chalets overlook a river and beautiful mountains, what a wonderful view! We didn't use any of the facilities in the lodge as we didn't need to, but the lodge itself looked nice and cosy and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room had a bottle of sandfly repellant in it and that was gratefully used, there were swarms of sandflies at Milford and they hurt! The chalets are a great place to stay, reasonably priced for the fantastic location and amenities. Book well ahead as they only have a few chalets at the Lodge.

Room Tip: Choose a chalet! With the pull out double sofa and 2 singles we comfortably fit 2 adults and 2 small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your kind remarks about our Chalets. They are very popular and book out months in advance. We love the lamps too, there are different native bird in each chalet, very neat. Regards, the Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you are a backpacker I guess this lodge is fine. However, we are a family and there are only a few private rooms that were all booked. We took a shared room and paid extra to have it private. The size of the room is similar to a prison cell. The rooms have 2 bunk beds, one chair and a tiny side table. We had no hot water in the joint showers. It is impossible to enjoy the outdoors with all the sand flies around. Over all if you can get to Milford without staying the night there it is much better. (stay in Te Anua)

Room Tip: Either take a private room or stay in Te Anua not in Milford Sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi, Thank for you reviewing our Lodge. Unfortunately due our minimal capacity for ensuited motel type accommodation we often have people stay with us in accommodation they are not used to. Some make the most of it and enjoy a different experience but for some, understandably it is just too far out of their comfort zone. We are pleased to let you know we are renovating a wing of rooms to ensuited for next season, so we hope to host you again some day. Regards, the Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
23.3 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
24.2 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#7 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Sound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Sound Lodge

Property: Milford Sound Lodge
Address: State Highway 94, Milford Sound 9640, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milford Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is simply not possible to fully experience Milford Sound in a day trip... Stay in Milford to enjoy its pure beauty after the day tripping crowds leave and before they arrive. Just 5 minutes drive from Milford Sound cruise boats, Milford Sound Lodge is ideally located. With picture perfect views of the Cleddau River and surrounding mountains, activity bookings on site, and a cafe and a shop, you won’t find a better base for your time in Fiordland. Choose accommodation that suits your needs – from award winning Luxury Riverside Chalets to cosy private and dormitory backpacking rooms and powered campervan and tent sites – and let our friendly staff help you make the most of your time in this World Heritage site.There is so much to do: kayaking, diving, boat cruises and sightseeing, or relaxing and soaking in the beauty of your surroundings. You won’t regret treating yourself to an overnight stay in Milford Sound.Pre booking is essential Nov - March and year round for our Riverside Chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milford Sound Hotel Milford Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing