We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A night in Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milford Sound Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milford Sound Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A night in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Last time I stayed at Milford Lodge, the chalets were under construction. So I knew if I booked ahead, I could surprise my partner under the pretense that we were staying in a little backpacker's room with communal shower facilities. The chalet was a hit, with it's natural timber and big windows looking out on to the untouched beech forest across the stream. We could walk in to Milford Sound in about 15 minutes, to watch the sun setting behind Mitre Peak. The chalet had a microwave oven and toaster, which was adequate for jacket potatoes. The following morning we went out on the Sound on one of the boat trips. Perfect! Then headed for Te Anau.
Don't forget insect repellent!

Room Tip: Book way ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bright0nkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    314
    181
    53
    31
See reviews for
167
514
52
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Milford Sound is utterly beautiful but strangely undeveloped, given the number of visitors it receives. Thank heavens we decided to opt for opulence. We paid a staggering NZ$420 per unit for 2 of only 4 chalets placed in front of everything else the Lodge could offer and right on the shores of the stream with mountains on all sides. The chalets were extremely well equipped and very comfortable with Villeroy and Bosch bathroom facilities, The Chalet had large windows on 2 sides with table and chairs inside and deck outside. Utterly beautiful. The only problem is you would starve if you wanted to eat out - the only option is the Back Packers cafe bar down at the Sound. Fine if you like your food in batter. No restaurant facilities on site. Ample cooking facilities in the Chalet however. And the price included a fabulous boat trip and visit to the Discovery Centre the next morning. Breakfast was included on the boat and the trip was absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: If you want to feel top of the pile for a night, book one of these chalets. The boat trip acounts f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I were lucky enough to arrive at Milford Sound on a beautiful sunny day. The sun was shining and there was not a cloud in the sky.

I must admit we were not expecting much given the price of the accomodation (twin room at $85) and were therefore very pleasantly surprised when we found Milford Lodge to be very comfortable, charming and full of character. The room was clean and practical. The cooking facilities were excellent and we ate our evening meal on the picnic tables within the outdoor communal area. We had a few drinks and met some fellow travellers. Most guests (including ourselves) were in bed by 10pm and therefore it was a very peaceful and restful night. We had expected more noise given the backpacker crowd that this place attracts.

One thing that was a little frustrating was there were only 2 staff on reception and when making enquiries or buying drinks one had to wait for up to 20 minutes to be served. Having said that, New Zealand is a very laid back kinda place and you get used to having to wait to be served haha.

The location was excellent. The drive to Milford Sound cruise was less than 5 minutes.

Overall a fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Staff were great when I arrived. I needed to confirm a kayaking trip the next day; the payphone was out of order and with no mobile reception, the staff just passed me their landline phone to make the call.

There's not a huge difference between powered sites and the unpowered sites in the car park so if you're in a Jucy van or similar, an unpowered site will suffice.

Facilities are good, but busy, and the good thing about the kitchen is that there are saucepans, plates, etc that can be used without charges.

Yes, there are lots of sandflies. If you're coming from Australia or anywhere else that sells it, use Bushmans. I had some other travellers asking me why the sandflies weren't interested in me and it was down to use of protection. There's a Maori legend about why sandflies are in Milford Sound... it's because the underworld Goddess was so concerned that people would spend so much time there because of its beauty that she sent the bugs.

There's not a lot to do in Milford about from the cruises but I ran and kayaked and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Don't forget to fill your petrol tank before leaving Te Anau as there are no servos between (240km round trip).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA, USA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed in one of the four chalets wow wow wow! The chalets are wonderful.The view is not to be believed. The chalet itself is decorated beautifully with wonderful kitchen facilities, bathroom, sleep qualities and the VIEW.We had brought our own food and we enjoyed cooking and relaxing in the wonderful surroundings.We also received free wifi. The lodge itself is crowded.The kitchen are was packed and so was the lobby area.We didn't saty in the lodge for any length of time, due to the wonderful chalet we had.The staff was quite rude.We tried to check in early knowing that the chalets were cleaned and they wouldn't allow it.They have a very small store with very overinflated prices...bring your own food with you from Te Anu.As for the price-it is expensive .Save somewhere else as we did and stay in the chalet....it is worth a view from your bed for a lifetime.The chalets are on the walking path so expect some foot traffic by your little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucket-Listers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Loved our stay here! The Riverside Chalet was very worth it for our two night stay - It was luxurious. I took a hot bath in a tub larger and nicer than my own new tub back home. Large windows facing the stream, which had an active and lively flow. The staff were friendly at the greater Lodge area, and seeing the other accommodations there, we are especially glad we did the Chalet. We had to book in October to reserve it for February...

Room Tip: Reserve a Chalet - worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We booked our caravan in here, had bad service at reception which must be normal if you read the sign saying to e Brecht a fifteen minute wait. We then got double booked or allocated the world site, so three hours after setting up camp another poor tired family turned up to the same number site, the service in dealing with this mess was worse than check in and after getting wet in the rain we were only offered the gravel in front of reception to camp at we opted to drive on to the numerous doc campsites down the road, no rain over the main divide. We had been offered a refund but the manager snuck away early and the staff she left were not allowed to give refunds, they reluctantly passed on her contact details but warned me that if I mispronounced her name she would get upset and refuse the refund, all in all it's an ok location but I've heard that staying out on the water is the manic choice, this lodge is poorly run with average functional buildings, but worst of. All it lacks any ownership from the staff who run it on a FIFO system

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Hi,

We are so disappointed that you have had a less than acceptable experience at our Lodge in Milford Sound. We apologise absolutely for the service you have received and we ask that you make contact with us by email as soon as possible so we can arrange a full refund. No matter how busy we are, our guest experience is so important to us, especially those that have run into difficulties like the rain! We do thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge and we hope to get another chance to host you another day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
23.3 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
24.2 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#8 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Sound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Sound Lodge

Property: Milford Sound Lodge
Address: State Highway 94, Milford Sound 9640, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milford Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is simply not possible to fully experience Milford Sound in a day trip... Stay in Milford to enjoy its pure beauty after the day tripping crowds leave and before they arrive. Just 5 minutes drive from Milford Sound cruise boats, Milford Sound Lodge is ideally located. With picture perfect views of the Cleddau River and surrounding mountains, activity bookings on site, and a cafe and a shop, you won’t find a better base for your time in Fiordland. Choose accommodation that suits your needs – from award winning Luxury Riverside Chalets to cosy private and dormitory backpacking rooms and powered campervan and tent sites – and let our friendly staff help you make the most of your time in this World Heritage site.There is so much to do: kayaking, diving, boat cruises and sightseeing, or relaxing and soaking in the beauty of your surroundings. You won’t regret treating yourself to an overnight stay in Milford Sound.Pre booking is essential Nov - March and year round for our Riverside Chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milford Sound Hotel Milford Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing