We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Fantastic -Lodge Primitive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milford Sound Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA, USA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Chalet Fantastic -Lodge Primitive”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed in one of the four chalets wow wow wow! The chalets are wonderful.The view is not to be believed. The chalet itself is decorated beautifully with wonderful kitchen facilities, bathroom, sleep qualities and the VIEW.We had brought our own food and we enjoyed cooking and relaxing in the wonderful surroundings.We also received free wifi. The lodge itself is crowded.The kitchen are was packed and so was the lobby area.We didn't saty in the lodge for any length of time, due to the wonderful chalet we had.The staff was quite rude.We tried to check in early knowing that the chalets were cleaned and they wouldn't allow it.They have a very small store with very overinflated prices...bring your own food with you from Te Anu.As for the price-it is expensive .Save somewhere else as we did and stay in the chalet....it is worth a view from your bed for a lifetime.The chalets are on the walking path so expect some foot traffic by your little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucket-Listers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    327
    186
    54
    31
See reviews for
173
536
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Loved our stay here! The Riverside Chalet was very worth it for our two night stay - It was luxurious. I took a hot bath in a tub larger and nicer than my own new tub back home. Large windows facing the stream, which had an active and lively flow. The staff were friendly at the greater Lodge area, and seeing the other accommodations there, we are especially glad we did the Chalet. We had to book in October to reserve it for February...

Room Tip: Reserve a Chalet - worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We booked our caravan in here, had bad service at reception which must be normal if you read the sign saying to e Brecht a fifteen minute wait. We then got double booked or allocated the world site, so three hours after setting up camp another poor tired family turned up to the same number site, the service in dealing with this mess was worse than check in and after getting wet in the rain we were only offered the gravel in front of reception to camp at we opted to drive on to the numerous doc campsites down the road, no rain over the main divide. We had been offered a refund but the manager snuck away early and the staff she left were not allowed to give refunds, they reluctantly passed on her contact details but warned me that if I mispronounced her name she would get upset and refuse the refund, all in all it's an ok location but I've heard that staying out on the water is the manic choice, this lodge is poorly run with average functional buildings, but worst of. All it lacks any ownership from the staff who run it on a FIFO system

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Hi,

We are so disappointed that you have had a less than acceptable experience at our Lodge in Milford Sound. We apologise absolutely for the service you have received and we ask that you make contact with us by email as soon as possible so we can arrange a full refund. No matter how busy we are, our guest experience is so important to us, especially those that have run into difficulties like the rain! We do thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge and we hope to get another chance to host you another day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Before traveling to Milford Sound my husband and I consulted many friends who had traveled there before us to get their advise on the best way to see the Sound. All of them recommended taking a tour bus from Queenstown for the day. If you do that, you will be missing out on one of the most spectacular trips of your life.

I would hands down recommend a stay at the Milford Sound Lodge for one reason. It lets you experience not only the sound, but also the drive there and back, in a totally different and very unique way. We stayed in the backpacker portion of the lodge. The accommodations are adequate but very reasonably priced. Everything was very clean. The main areas had good ambiance and the staff was pleasant.

The real draw is that you aren't competing with hoards of people to see all the natural beauty of this area of the world. My husband and I planned a cruise of the sound the day after our stay at the lodge. This allowed us to drive up to Milford in the afternoon. The roads were almost empty and as we stopped along the way we had the forest and valleys all to ourselves. There was something really incredible about standing alone (as the sun sinks lower in the sky) in the basin right before you head through the Homer Tunnel. It gets even better in the morning when you can go for walk and watch the clouds burn off the peaks before you go on an intimate cruise of the sound.

You are allowed all of this because of your stay at the Milford Lodge.

It also makes for a nice drive home before all the tour buses begin to crowd the road.

Room Tip: Our one complaint is that we stayed in a room where a gentlemen chose the bed next to the window, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The location of the lodge cannot be bettered, it is stunning and Milford Sound is a few hundred metres up the road. The faciloties on site are basic and to be honest we were expecting a slightly higher standard of accommodation- the website makes the lodge look quite luxurious - which it isnt. It s clean and functional but very basic. This is not a problem, as getting supplies up to this part of the world must be a challenge, but anyone booking into the lodge needs to be aware of this. There are a lot of people staying here and laundry facilities in particular are in short supply. This is more like a hostel with shared bathroom and kitchen facilities. Alternative accommodation is not readily available and with Te Anau a 90 minute drive away, this lodge is really your best bet if you want to take an early morning boat ride across the stunning sound.

Room Tip: room 18 is the furthest possible from the bathrooms - it is a cold long walk at night, so try not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londongirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Milford Sound Lodge is difficult to review. We recently stayed two nights in a chalet directly on the river. We really enjoyed the amenities, location and quality of the chalet. Wow, what great views! However, the common areas and the lobby are really dorm/hostel style. Check in staff was not welcoming at all. And unless you enjoy cooking your own dinner in a shared kitchen while on vacation (10 or so in the kitchen cooking on the night I walked though), you're out of luck for a decent restaurant. (the chalet does have a microwave) The lodge suggested the one and only restaurant in Milford Sound. It was absolutely terrible. The first burger ever I couldn't eat! We purchased pre-made sandwiches for dinner the 2nd night in lieu of another meal at the nearby restaurant. We loved the chalet but wouldn't stay overnight again due to the lack of food choices. That said, if you enjoy a dorm/hostel experience and group cooking, you'd probably like the place. The Sound is breathtaking

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Milford Sound is a massive magnet for tourists, and is one of the best places to visit on the South Island. The Campsite/Lodges are still in the process of being built and looks a bit like a building site. The place is functional, clean and efficient. The Kitchen is heavily used but again, everyone is tidy and clean.
If going to Milford Sound Camping or Campervan, then your choices are limited.

Room Tip: Stock up before you go to Milford, both Food & Fuel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyGerstner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
23.3 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
24.2 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#5 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Sound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Sound Lodge

Property: Milford Sound Lodge
Address: State Highway 94, Milford Sound 9640, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milford Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is simply not possible to fully experience Milford Sound in a day trip... Stay in Milford to enjoy its pure beauty after the day tripping crowds leave and before they arrive. Just 5 minutes drive from Milford Sound cruise boats, Milford Sound Lodge is ideally located. With picture perfect views of the Cleddau River and surrounding mountains, activity bookings on site, and a cafe and a shop, you won’t find a better base for your time in Fiordland. Choose accommodation that suits your needs – from award winning Luxury Riverside Chalets to cosy private and dormitory backpacking rooms and powered campervan and tent sites – and let our friendly staff help you make the most of your time in this World Heritage site.There is so much to do: kayaking, diving, boat cruises and sightseeing, or relaxing and soaking in the beauty of your surroundings. You won’t regret treating yourself to an overnight stay in Milford Sound.Pre booking is essential Nov - March and year round for our Riverside Chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milford Sound Hotel Milford Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing