We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view”
Review of Mitre Peak Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitre Peak Lodge
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here in January and was pleasantly surprised. It is an older building with amazing views. Was very very clean inside and the staff were lovely to deal with. Breakfast was provided and there was a restaurant next door which also served a great meal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cl_ireBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Mitre Peak Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here in December. The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are very basic but okay. The rooms have no bar fridge, Wi-Fi or TV. The breakfast was good with lots of food options. The set dinner was also good with the lamb rack being especially good. There is a self serve laundry and drying room was those with wet and/or dirty clothes. Understand the hotel is owned by Ultimate Hikes which in turn is owned by its parent Trojan Holdings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay great views great staff great food you must do the boat cruise great to see the waterfalls sesls and dolphins what a great day out we went twice it was that good.
Milford is a great place to visit we had a great time wish we could come back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed a night after completing the Milford Track. The hotel is run and used by the company which guides hikers, but they do make rooms available for non-hikers. Fabulous views of the Sound but the interior needs to be smartened up.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northern_fellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Not fancy but very clean and fantastic views. Breakfast was good..but basic. No internet here at all. Comfortable and great location for Milford Sound.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AEboylston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Being a photographer I was very pleased with the location of this lodge. Just in front of Mitre Peak. If you walk a few minutes the views are great! I advice you to do so at sunrise.
The lodge itself looks a bit 'seventies' from the outside, but has surprisingly good and modern rooms. You can have breakfast and there is a bar, but they don't have a restaurant. Just around the corner you can eat in a bar (average quality). If you plan to visit Milford Sound this lodge is the place to be. It's not cheap but certainly worth to spend a night. Staff is very friendly. Beds are good. Rooms are clean. Unfortunately you are completely disconnected: no mobile network and no internet.

Room Tip: I don't expect you to spend much time in the room. You can't because their check-out time is...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DiederickPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arivio1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
14.6 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 7 in Glenorchy
287 reviews
16.3 mi away
Blanket Bay
Blanket Bay
#1 of 7 in Glenorchy
211 reviews
16.1 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
77 reviews
16.2 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Peak Lodge

Address: Milford-Te Anau Highway, Milford Sound, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milford Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing