We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful experience

The trip was a magical experience. Staff very friendly & knowledgable. The boat trip & bus journey... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Rubytaveller50
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
via mobile
Awesome

Overnight boat trip into the Milford Sounds Fantastic, spent lots of time outside staring up at... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
877JimG
,
Perth, Australia
Read all 1,876 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from $72.78
More Info
from $58.08
More Info
from $94.84
More Info
from $58.08
More Info
Reviews (1,876)
Filter reviews
1,876 results
Traveler rating
1,350
362
90
45
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,350
362
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise the bus tasman sea te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,048 - 1,053 of 1,876 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2015

Had such an amazing time on this trip. It had rained the day before, and that morning I was able to see all of the waterfalls that had been created overnight. The Nature Guide was very knowledgeable and informative. I wanted to give a shout out to Forest, he was very personable and answered all of my questions about Milford Sound. He even has a great "penguin dance" to try and entice the penguins out of hiding :) I highly recommend Real Journeys, amazing views, amazing staff, and you can't go wrong with Milford Sound. Absolutely breathtaking!!

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank 371jennag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2015

3 friends and myself booked the Milford Sound overnight cruise, with Real Journeys, leaving by coach from Queenstown. Steve, the coach driver, was very informative and interesting, without being over the top in unnecessary chatter. Arriving at the boat, we were very quickly allocated our cabins, and then met in the saloon to be introduced to the crew who would be on the boat with us overnight. Dion, the Captain; Michelle, the Team Manager ; Blair, the Nature Guide; and the other crew members were all very friendly and helpful. Special mention must go to Bob, the chef, who provided truly exceptional food throughout our stay. due to extreme weather conditions ( a major storm, with very high winds and torrential rain) meant we had to stay an additional 24 hours on the boat, as landslides had occurred on various parts of the road between Milford Sound and Queenstown. We were looked after superbly well by the entire crew, in what must have been difficult and challenging conditions - they were in the dark about what was happening as much as we were, but relayed to us any information they obtained. We received this extra 24 hours stay entirely free of charge, which was amazing ( wouldn't happen in the UK, that is for sure !). All in all, this excursion became the highlight of our stay in New Zealand ! i cannot recommend Real Journeys highly enough, they are an exceptional company.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Senga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015

Fabulous. Highlight of our vacation to New Zealand. We had lots of time to cruise the fjord and enjoy the spectacular views. The captain took us very close to the waterfalls. We kayaked in a calm cove and penguins and seals swam past us. Food and cabins were much better than I had expected. Staff really love their jobs too. We took the Real Journeys bus from Queenstown and are glad we did as it allowed for each of us to enjoy the view on the beautiful drive.

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank Lorraine2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015

We decided to catch the coach from Te Anau to our Milford Sound cruise and I'm so glad we did - I actually enjoyed it more than the cruise! It's a two hour drive each way - and you get commentary and some stops at various points along the way.

The cruise itself was amazing and everything I was hoping for and expecting - though I did miss fresh espresso coffee on the boat. Filter just doesn't do it, but did not detract from the experience.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2015

This tour was excellent, from the moment we were picked up in Te Anau until we were returned to our motel nine hours later. The bus journey to Milford Sound was long but the driver was excellent and talked along the way. We stopped along the way for some photos and to see some birds.

The cruise itself was very relaxed and leisurely. Milford Sound is stunning, and the cruise let us go underneath waterfalls and out into the Tasman. We saw baby seals and even penguins.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews