We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful experience

The trip was a magical experience. Staff very friendly & knowledgable. The boat trip & bus journey... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Rubytaveller50
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
via mobile
Awesome

Overnight boat trip into the Milford Sounds Fantastic, spent lots of time outside staring up at... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
877JimG
,
Perth, Australia
Read all 1,876 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from $72.78
More Info
from $58.08
More Info
from $94.84
More Info
from $58.08
More Info
Reviews (1,876)
Filter reviews
1,876 results
Traveler rating
1,350
362
90
45
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,350
362
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise the bus tasman sea te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,279 - 1,284 of 1,876 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2014

I made the mistake of taking the 1:00pm cruise when all of the tour buses get in. It was so crowded that I could barely see or take pictures. I got pushed into the side of the boat several times as well. I recommend taking a boat at another time of day, and it should be a lot better!

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2014

It's a long day from queenstown but worth it. Our coach driver craig was informative, clearly spoken and very funny. He made the journey worthwhile, with lots of information and good humour. The cruise was very informative too and a really lovely boat to travel on.

Some say milford sound has become too commercialised but I still think you should see it. It's a beautiful scenic coach journey and cruise and that's what most tourists come for.

Date of experience: December 2014
3  Thank ronella_de_vil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2014

Just returned from a trip to NZ. One of the highlights was the overnight stay on the Real Journeys Milford Mariner. The crew were sensational, great senses of humour, very patient and accomodating for all personalities onboard.

We arrived and it was pouring and very foggy. We boarded the boat and were given our introductions and thorough briefing. Although raining, the scenery was beautiful, it was misty and the rain had created 100's of artifical waterfalls. Once we reached our overnight mooring there was two choices to make - kayaking or go out in one of the tenders. We chose the tender with a lovely young man Travis. Travis provided great commentary and was able to spot some of the penguins coming down to the waters edge.

Back to the Mariner to dry off and some great dinner and company. Compliments to the chef! After dinner was slide night, great way to see some other higlights of the cruise.

Next morning we woke up to a simply sensational day. Sun shining, a new dusting of snow on the mountains, a great breakfast! More cruising out to the Tasman Sea, only to be joined by a pod of dolphins surfung the boat wake, a couple of penguins in the water swimming along with some seals in the water and more on the rocks. The clouds parted and the mountains tops could be seen.

Couldn't have wrote a better script for the trip if we tried.

Thanks to Dean, Evonne, Jimmy, Aaron, Travis, Matt, Sarah and the rest of the team! (Sorry I forgot the other names)

Date of experience: November 2014
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2014

We went by bus from Queenstown and the driver kept up a very informative commentary all the way - a long trip but well worth it. We went on the overnight boat on Milford Sound - cruising round the Sound we saw beautiful waterfalls - stunning scenery. We had a very Kiwi dinner on the boat and a good nights sleep in the little cabins. Awoke the next morning tat 6am to a millpond of water with stunning reflections of the surrounding mountains. A good breakfast on board before another sail around the Sound. The photographs we took are a wonderful reminder of this not to be missed trip.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank creen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

If you're visiting south island in New Zealand, visiting milford Sound and taking a cruise is must. One experiences dense rain forest and magical flora fauna on the way. While on cruise we caught glimpse of seals and penguins. Since its in forest, sand flies might irritate you, as precaution carry anti fly/insect ointment.

Thank 409vikashj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews