We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best trip

Favourite part was the scenic drive from Queenstown to Milford sound with Brian’s knowledge on the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
MonVerevou
via mobile
A most enjoyable day

Thoroughly enjoyed this day. Drove from Te Anau to Manapouri and boarded cruise on Lake Manapouri... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
nzsnrcitizen
Read all 1,883 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from $70.61
More Info
from $56.34
More Info
from $92.00
More Info
from $56.34
More Info
Reviews (1,883)
Filter reviews
1,883 results
Traveler rating
1,357
362
90
45
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,357
362
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise the bus tasman sea te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,318 - 1,323 of 1,883 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2014

this was a great choice for our Milford sounds cruise. We took the coach from te Anau. The driver was awesome and told us a lot about the scenery and history. Once at the pier, we boarded the boat right away. Friendly crew, tea and coffee served. Saw Dolphins and fur seals.Beep ending on the time of year, it is possible to drive the two hours from te anau, however, taking the coach was great and convenient.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank kourtneyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2014 via mobile

What can you say had the best day you could ever want the weather was perfect the staff were great and helpful ,the boat was clean and tidy ,thank you real journeys

1  Thank hrpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2014

We had a wonderful bus ride to Milford Sound, an exciting overnight cruise; but the weather prevented our return trip by fixed wing aircraft. It's important to note that the weather may be great in Milford Sound, but terrible in Queenstown 30 km away or up in the mountains.

The staff are uniformly friendly and well informed. Saw crested penguins and fur seals. Worth every minute

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank Tejas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2014

Just returned from a trip with Real Journeys to Milford Sound. From the start of the day at Te Anau, we experienced knowledgable commentary, fabulous service and an experience that will no ever be forgotten. The day was wet, but that didn't matter, we saw hundreds of waterfalls and the Sound looks magnificent in good or bad weather.
A must for anyone

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank EAS509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2014

We went on an overnight cruise to Milford sounds and it was the absolute best thing we did. The cruise starts around 4.30 pm in the evening and drops you back at 9.30 am next day. We all carried our welcome drink to the deck and enjoyed the beauty of those thousands of waterfalls across the Fiord. We watched seals, penguins, an albatross and were also lucky to sight a couple of whales which is apparently a rare occurrence. After a couple of hours the boat was anchored and we enjoyed various water sports and an hour trip in a speed boat. Dinner was quite good with a good spread of boat vegetarian and non vegetarian dishes. Breakfast in the morning was also quite good. Night on the deck was absolutely blissful though it was quite cold after a while. Warm cloths are an absolute must for this trip as the temperatures drop quite a bit during night and early morning.
The weather was very good during our trip and understand it's not an everyday occurrence so you would better check before. If your trip is just after a good rain you would see thousands of waterfalls all around you giving a magical aura but on the other hand if you go when it is raining it could spoil your experience.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank Takkaratakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews