We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
My Perfect Lunch Date

A delightful journey on the Vintage Steam boat Earnslaw Warm glassed in cold fired, able to... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
FaeIsite
,
Queenstown, New Zealand
Magical Experience

We did the overnight cruise on the Milford Mariner,and it was just a magical experience. From... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Tony H
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 1,868 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from $363.84
More Info
from $72.33
More Info
from $57.72
More Info
from $94.25
More Info
Reviews (1,868)
Filter reviews
1,868 results
Traveler rating
1,343
361
90
45
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,343
361
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise tasman sea the bus te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals milford track
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,358 - 1,363 of 1,868 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We visited the Sound with family and decided to take the plunge and book the overnight cruise, getting to the Sound is a trek so better spend quality time there! The boat left at about 4pm and after a welcome drink and chat, the boat sailed out into the Sound and we were able to do some kayaking (my husband went out in the tender boat). The staff were really informative and friendly. After sailing up the Sound and seeing some of the sights we moored up for the evening and enjoyed an amazing buffet meal. Tons to eat and something for everyone. I am a part time vegetarian and found loads to eat. Next morning, after a equally impressive breakfast, we sailed out to the Taz Sea, it was a lovely calm day, the clouds hanging in the Sound, so low you felt you could touch them. On the way back in we saw dolphins, the captain turned the boat round for them to play at the bow end.

The cabin was comforable and the shower was nice and hot.

We were very lucky with the weather, no rain and calm conditions. It was cold in the morning, though.

Expert navigation by the captain meant we got up close to the waterfalls and seals (who obviously didn't care about us bening there).

Great staff, great food, great trip! I hightly recomment the extra cost of an overnight trip to really enjoy the Sound, the scenary was amazing.

Date of experience: February 2014
2  Thank thabelro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Our NZET group stayed at the 'Milford Marina' over night. The most amazing thing was the food - great buffet and freshly baked muffins. Apart from this we had great weather and the crew offered us amassing water activities like kayaking and boat riding or even for the bravest among us swimming. At night the stars were a breathtaking sight and there were even seals playing beside the boat. The double cabins were clean and very comfortable, the crew friendly.

2  Thank Evyzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Really well organised, excellent food, lovely cabins, great staff. It is a long drive from Queenstown but there are plenty of stops for toilets and short bush walks in addition to photo opportunities. The coach is comfy and clean. Stop for lunch is at Te Anau for just under an hour. The Pop in cafe there is good. It was raining on our first day but the good side of that is that rain creates masses of spectacular waterfalls. The next day we woke early to very atmospheric mist rising above the water and, later, the mountains peeped out of the cloud with the sun shining through, creating a real 'wow' factor. The view from the Tasman Sea to Mitre Peak was stunning. Taking the half hour trip before dinner on one of the two tender boats. We saw a Fjordland crested penguin as well as seals and starfish. We saw dolphins from the boat. After dinner fur seals beach themselves on the transom at the back of boat so you get to see them at close quarters. The cabins on the Milford mariner are warm and comfy - double bed, excellent saltwater shower and electric points with a hair dryer supplied. Tea and coffee is supplied free throughout the boat trip. The bar prices are good. I thoroughly recommend this trip and it is definitely worth doing it overnight on the boat - you get to see so much more and particularly when the day trippers have left, increasing the atmospheric impact of Milford Sound.

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank Lucie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

What an awesome experience! We travelled by coach from Queenstown to the Milford sounds. Craig was our knowledgeable tour guide. He had a great sense of humour and entertained us as we travelled. The coach was well designed so that each passenger had good views without having other passengers in their way. Chris was our skipper on the Milford Mariner. He was friendly and informative. Our accommodation was very clean and comfortable. We even had our own bathroom en suite with hot water!! The food was plentiful and very well presented. The staff were friendly and helpful. One of our fellow travellers was heard to say that this scenery was the best she had seen in the world! We flew back to Queenstown on a little 8 seater plane. This was another great experience. We saw so much more from this little plane. Very happy to recommend this tour. Thank you, Real journeys, for going the extra mile to make our experience so pleasurable!

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank Fannda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We were picked up from our safe park where we had parked for our overnight trip and taken back to the real journeys office which was a great service, we then boarded a comfortable coach and started our trip to Milford Sound. Our driver Steve was exceptionally knowledgeable about the area and his commentary during our drive was great to listen too, he didnt speak the whole time which was nice as it left us time to soak up the wonderful scenery. There were enough stops to break the trip up without being too many. On arrival to Milford Sound we were greeted aboard the well appinted Mariner. The trip out to the sounds was fantastic, water sports were offered before dinner. dinner that evening was superb with an amazing array of food which catered for meat eaters as well as vegetarians. Dessert was amazing! Early breakfast as bad weathrt was predicted. Breakfast again was a huge offering of food. Tea, coffee & hot chocolate was available for the duration of the boat trip. Short trip into the Tasman with narrative about what we were seeing along with history of the area. Overall a fantastic experience, friendly team who looked after our every need. My only suggestion would be that if you are traveling with young kids take food with you for the coach trip and also the return trip.

Thank sahmkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews