We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best trip

Favourite part was the scenic drive from Queenstown to Milford sound with Brian’s knowledge on the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
MonVerevou
via mobile
A most enjoyable day

Thoroughly enjoyed this day. Drove from Te Anau to Manapouri and boarded cruise on Lake Manapouri... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
nzsnrcitizen
Read all 1,883 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from $70.61
More Info
from $56.34
More Info
from $92.00
More Info
from $56.34
More Info
Reviews (1,883)
Filter reviews
1,883 results
Traveler rating
1,357
362
90
45
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,357
362
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise the bus tasman sea te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,405 - 1,410 of 1,883 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Milford Sound is just a beautiful day out and, in the hands of Real Journeys, everything went to plan. Our driver (Paul Brown) was full of stories about the area which, together with the magnificent scenery, filled the journey from Te Anau to Milford Sound. Paul is of Maori origin and this really added authenticity to his commentary - even his jokes were tolerable! The scenic cruise is well-named. "Scenic" barely does it justice. Everywhere you look are magnificent views. We saw some seals - we really hoped to see dolphins but they weren't around on our day.
All in all a really excellent day trip.

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Milford sound is stunning and a must do if visiting the South Island. We also very much enjoyed the drive from Queeenstown and stopped at several of the recommended viewing spots along the road from Te Anau. The overnight cruise was nice but somewhat disappointing. We were on the Mariner and the cabins with ensuite bathrooms were clean and comfortable. The food was good both dinner and breakfast. The nature guide was very informative and entertaining. It is very nice to see the Sound without the planes buzzing overhead and less boats. It also was nice to be able to spend the night after driving from Queenstown.

But the overnight cruise was disappointing as the staff seem to unnecessarily rush the evening and we were in our cabin before 9 pm. The cruise leaves the dock at 4:30 but you are in the cabin for a safety briefing for the first 30 minutes. The Sound takes about 1 hour to tour and was definitely NOT disappointing! We could then either kayak or board a small tender craft. Both would be nice except the swarming sea flies made it unbearable.

It would have been nice to enjoy the beauty of the sound and take pictures as the sun was setting after the excursion but we were rushed to dinner then. No complaints about the quantity or quality of the food and we very much enjoyed our dinner with the other travelers. The boat anchors in a bay and the slide show after dinner was very good and entertaining but that basically wraps up the evening at about 8:15. We had an after dinner drink on the deck watching the stars with basically only one other couple then retired to our cabin by 9:00pm.

Breakfast was nice and served at 7:00am before the boat tours the sound again. The morning cruise was very good as the Sound was peacefully quiet and the guide was informative and good at pointing out wild life. We were back to the dock by 8:45am.

I do not like to give negative reviews but want to help set expectations. Strongly recommend bug spray before the kayaking or tender craft!!! And it would have been nice to have the option to dine a little later in the evening and enjoy the beauty of the sound rather than feeling like the staff was rushing to feed us and send us to bed. Definitely recommend a cruise of the Milford sound but have realistic expectations of the overnight cruise.

Date of experience: March 2014
3  Thank MMJCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We booked the Milford Sound bus trip and nature cruise with Real Jouneys and so glad we did. It's a long day but glad we did it on the bus instead of driving it ourselves. Curl (Diane I think) our driver and tour guide was super and made sure we stopped at the most important sites. Her historical knowledge of the area was superb. We arrived at the boat launch area and word to the wise do make sure you have insect repellent! The sand flies bite and they are annoying! The boat trip was magnificent and glad we did the nature cruise as the commentator was great and made the trip even more spectacular. We did not book the lunch with Real Journeys in advance and so glad we didn't. The food on board was really good. We had the panini and it was yummy. They also have beer and wine etc. and free coffee. Great day out and highly recommend this activity.

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank SandyFrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I really enjoyed this trip, Milford Sound is a magical place. I can honestly say that the view from the restaurant during dinner was one of the best that I've ever had anywhere while eating a meal. The cabins are quite small, as you'd expect, but quite well equiped and comfortable. The food was good quality and plentiful. I would highly recommend taking a windproof jacket with you because even on a warm sunny day if you go out on deck it can get quite chilly during the cruise up the sound. The advantage of taking an overnight trip is that you get to see the sound in late afternoon/evening and then again in the morning so more chance having good weather.

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had checked out this trip before we left the UK, as it looked so good we booked it before we arrived. We had heard horror stories about how bad the drive to Milford Sound was so we allowed ourselves lots of time to drive there, we needn't have worried as the road down was not crowded and easy enough. The trip itself was fantastic it was just a shame the weather wasn't so good. The crew were really friendly and couldn't do enough to please. We were sat for dinner with another English couple and by the noise in the dining room every table was getting along as it was so noisy. The food itself was just fabulous, bread to start with and then a 3 course dinner. The rooms were much roomier than I had anticipated and the bed really comfortable. The sights as you travelled were just amazing. A little pricey but well worth it.

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews