We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best trip

Favourite part was the scenic drive from Queenstown to Milford sound with Brian’s knowledge on the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
MonVerevou
via mobile
A most enjoyable day

Thoroughly enjoyed this day. Drove from Te Anau to Manapouri and boarded cruise on Lake Manapouri... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
nzsnrcitizen
Read all 1,883 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from $70.61
More Info
from $56.34
More Info
from $92.00
More Info
from $56.34
More Info
Reviews (1,883)
Filter reviews
1,883 results
Traveler rating
1,357
362
90
45
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,357
362
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise the bus tasman sea te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,561 - 1,566 of 1,883 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Need to travel a bit by coach before getting on the cruise. It was worth the early morning and the coach ride as the place was very scenic with many waterfalls streaming down the hill. It rained in the morning therefore it was great weather to watch the waterfalls. We manage to see some seals resting on one of the rock. Absolutely breathtaking. On the way back to Queenstown we caught a glimpse of the most beautiful rainbow across the hills and meadows,

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank SharineC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Real Journeys gets the kudos here. You gotta do the overnight trip. I did the bus in and the flight back. Both were amazing - beautiful and scenic - nice combo. Their boat tour of the Sound was stunning and the cool factor was huge. Highly recommend kayaking. Being at the mouth of the Sound in kayaks with the penguins swimming about and looking back into the stellar beauty of the sound is breath taking. The overnight was a treat. Dinner was delicious. The slide presentation was done by a guy who is a real comic - way too funny. This was definitely a highlight of my trip.

Date of experience: December 2012
Thank William-NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

some of the most beautiful views I have ever seen. We did a cruise on Milford Sound - about 2 hours - takes you all the way to Tasman sea. The views are beautiful even though it was cloudy for part of the day and Mt Mitre peak was hidden for a large part. the waterfalls, the seals, the mountains - it was all excellent. We managed to see some penguins as well. The snacks/food on the cruise are not great though - might pick up something to eat in advance. We got great pictures and the most beautiful memories. We had travelled from Te Anau to Milford - and drove back to Queenstown the same day. Would suggest to all that while going to Milford - spend a night at Te Anau first - Lake Te Anau is pretty special. Dont forget to eat the Blue Cod in "Simply Seafood" at Te Anau - it was truely amazing. The drive is gorgeous with postcard views, my husband kept on stopping and taking pictures of the mirror lakes, the hills, the sheep and generally most views on the road.

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank Manshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My friends and I had a marvellous day trip by minibus from Queenstown.There were views of the overnight snowfall on all the mountains in the middle of summer. We had a refreshment stop in Te Anau (to buy coffee, icecream or souvenir) and then onto Mirror Lakes and a short walk whilst the bbq lunch was cooking. The really big adventure was travelling through the Homer tunnel and a cruise on Milford Sound to the Tasman Sea. The sunshine gave us many lovely photos with the waterfall spray as we came up close. We also saw fur seals sleeping on the rocks. The return bus journey travelled through beautiful very green hills covered in sheep, of course. Certainly recommend this travel experience in such a lovely country.

Date of experience: January 2013
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had spent the night in TeAnau and had several beautiful stops along the way to Milford Sound. We had brought along our lunch even thoughit can be purchased on board. The day was sunny and warm, a perfect day to see seals sunning themselves. A cruise ship was also in the sound but it looked like a small little boat. The trip reminded me of my visit to the Inside Passage this past summer in Alaska, just a little snow on the tops of the very tall mountains. After all it's late summer in New Zealand now, March..

Date of experience: March 2013
4  Thank FloripaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews