We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the overnight cruise was the highlight of our trip”
Review of Real Journeys

Real Journeys
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$60.11*
and up
Te Anau Glow Worm Caves Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Choose a Real Journeys Milford Sound Scenic Cruise and experience the fiord's majestic scenery from the comfort of our spacious modern vessels. Exceptional viewing opportunities, spacious decks and comfortable lounges. Look out for seals, dolphins and penguins en route, cruise close to waterfalls and enjoy the magnificent vistas. Informative commentaries in several languages. Delicious lunches available. Departs Milford Sound (all year). Coach connections also available from Te Anau and Queenstown. Fly back option to Queenstown available (extra cost).
Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“the overnight cruise was the highlight of our trip”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

am really glad that we decided to go for the overnight cruise - firstly as the cruise departs at 4pm, we were able to take a leisurely drive from Te Anau, stop at various spots en route and reach Milford Sound at about 3pm when many of the day trippers were departing. This allowed us to park near the terminal and share the sound with the seals, dolphins and sandflies

the crew were great, especially the nature guide John who was helpful with droll insights and information - don't miss his slideshow!

we anchored at anita bay for kayaking, boat trip and swimming (very refreshing experience!), enjoyed a great dinner as we cruised back to Harrison Bay for the night

gorgeous sunset, decent nights' sleep and a great sunrise before another cruise after breakfast to see the seals and dolphins

our children were delighted to have experienced this wonderful cruise!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChubbyHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    967
    278
    68
    34
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scenic Cruise!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were staying in Te Anau and drove along the Milford road to board the Scenic Cruise. And were we in for a visual treat? Once on board, not only did we see towering cliffs and peaks, but we also saw waterfalls cascading into the fiord and dolphins sunbathing on boulders. Simply wow!

And when the chilled wind on the deck began to freeze my bones, I walked down to the comfort of the glass roofed cruise and soaked in the views of the mountains, glaciers and the rainforest. Lucky me!

Also the commentary was pretty informative, and another good thing was the endless cups of complimentary tea and coffee. The lunch options were tasty, too!

Overall, an experience not to be missed as you get to see one of the most beautiful places on our planet!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NomitaKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful night in a beautiful place”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We did the overnight cruise on the Milford Mariner. The boat was lovely and the food great- something to suit even the fussiest eaters. They were also happy to cater for people with allergies. Don't forget water gear if you want to have a go on the kayaks. The speed boat trip around the fiord was also brilliant. We saw seals and dolphins as well and the guides were able to give us plenty of information about the history and nature around Milford Sound. The staff on the boat were helpful friendly and obviously enjoyed their jobs. The wheelhouse is open for you to visit whenever you want- something our kids thought was great. The cabins were comfortable and clean. The family cabin was a little noisier as they are close to the engines (but there are ear plugs in the bedside cabinet). And all this is before you start talking about the stunning setting. It can get a little chilly so don't forget to pack an extra jumper. Would definitely do this again!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DBfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Well orchestrated. We were overtaken by a cheaper cruise that rushed past. You go near a waterfall so take a waterproof layer. Chances of seeing some wildlife is good so when you get near the sides of the bay get outside. You can go out the front past the captains cabin.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anon123456789648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We went on the overnight boat trip and had a fantastic time. All of the guides and team were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The coach and boat were very clean and comfortable with the cruise taking us passed great sights! We saw lots of seals and waterfalls and even a cheeky penguin.
The meals were fantastic with plenty to go around. I was especially impressed with how well they catered for my dietary requirements with specific quality meals :) Yummy!
I would highly recommend the overnight trip as the places of interest are quieter as the majority of people are leaving as you arrive. Plus, to wake up on the water to such amazing views!!!
Pack warm wet weather gear and enjoy! I did :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emi_RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Journeys also viewed

Milford Sound, Southland Region
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Real Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing