We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Real Journeys

Real Journeys
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Choose a Real Journeys Milford Sound Scenic Cruise and experience the fiord's majestic scenery from the comfort of our spacious modern vessels. Exceptional viewing opportunities, spacious decks and comfortable lounges. Look out for seals, dolphins and penguins en route, cruise close to waterfalls and enjoy the magnificent vistas. Informative commentaries in several languages. Delicious lunches available. Departs Milford Sound (all year). Coach connections also available from Te Anau and Queenstown. Fly back option to Queenstown available (extra cost).
Jaipur
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked the overnight cruise. It was most charming. saw beautiful waterfalls, seals and Penguins. The cabins were clean and comfortable. The dinner was very lavish and enjoyable. The weather was not very favorable but we had a wonderful experience which we will remember for a long time to come

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pritikhimsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    923
    267
    63
    32
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Have been on this cruise several times before over many years and each one always as enjoyable as the last one i was on. We drove ourselves out to Milford Sound from Queenstown and though a little long for some it is well worth it. The scenery is beautiful. We were late for the sailing we had booked but they managed to put us on the next one though we had to pay an extra $36 for the change. Out on the Sound the crew give just the right amount of commentary and fill you in with plenty of information about the area and its wildlife etc. As always you will be garaunteed to see seals on seal rock and probably some rare penguins too. Don't let bad weather put you off doing it . This time i went it was a beautiful day but on other occasion it was raining which causes hundreds of tiny waterfalls to open up around the cliffs. Very impressive. If you can try to fly in and bus out, or vice versa so you get to see an ariel view of the scenery as well. Its stunning.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Munchkin740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This Milford Sound Cruise was the best thing we could have done on this trip. Our driver was funny and witty he gave us interesting information about the Maori culture and way of life (as he was Maori). We had plenty of photo and toilet stops which filled our every needs, we also stopped off at the Pop Inn Cafe on the way to Milford Sound and on the way back both being very enjoyable experiences. The cruise was lovely and just so pretty! We had the chance to see dolphins, penguins and seals but only saw seals which was still awesome! The day we went there was a massive rock fall blocking the road to Milford Sound, if it didnt get cleaned up then we wouldnt be able to go. Luckily Real Jouneys has a back up plan, going to Doubtful Sound which is equally as beautiful as they own the boats there. So if you are looking for a fabulous day of sightseeing and funny jokes, stories and reassurance of seeing either Doubtful or Milford Sound then this is the company for you!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AussieGirl212192324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked the overnight cruise. The cruise began at 4.00pm when all other cruise boats had left so it was very peaceful. After a welcome, introductions to the crew and safety briefing from the captain we set off for a cruise of the sound taking in the magnificent Stirling falls. Once we had at Harrison Cove -out berth for the night - we started a closer exploration of the cove. We could choose to either explore by kayak or by tender. We chose the tender and once life jackets were donned we set off with 2 crew one steering and one giving us a talk about the area and the wild life. We were fortunate enough to see a group of yellow eyed fiordland penguins and seals reclining on the rocks. Upon our return it was time for dinner and we had a splendid feast watching the sun set over mitre peak. Breakfast the following morning was equally impressive. All credit to the chef! Our cabin was comfortable, ensuite and even had a hair dryer! A fabulous cruise in unforgetable scenery.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank explorer60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent trip with good (but not too much) commentary. Saw both dolphins and penguins and enjoyed the many waterfalls. Didn't try the food but it certainly smelled good. Our tour wasn't crowded.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BicoastalCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Journeys also viewed

Milford Sound, Southland Region
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Real Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing