We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good”
Review of The Kiln

The Kiln
Ranked #14 of 99 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have been here for dinner and lunch when I have visited Invercargill. The service was excellent. Extensive menu and well priced. I had the Eye Fillet and it melted in my mouth. Beautiful taste with the various sauces and vegetables. Washed it down with a Church Rd Cab Sav Merlot.

Enjoyed my meal and the efficient friendly service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    56
    32
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Blue Cod”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

As the title says, the baked blue Cod dish made at the Kiln was Fantastic. Great blend of flavours that really works well with this fish.

Staff friendly an helpful during my 2 visits there so far.

I travel on Business and ALWAYS co to the Kiln now, just to eat this amazing dish.

Well done chef!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A thoroughly enjoyable experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Called in for a business lunch on a recent trip to Invercargill.
A nice warm, welcoming atmosphere & friendly, attentive service.
We were particularly wanting Bluff oysters but they were unavailable due to bad weather but the manager said he would call an associated restaurant to see if they had any. That's pretty good service I think.
They didn't so we stayed & enjoyed a great meal of blue cod & fries followed by very good coffee.
No hesitation in recommending.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“so much food!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wednesday night platter and bottle of wine $69, excellant. We had lamb platter, which was like sharing a roast for 2 with every trimming and sauce you can think of....soooo yummy. This was our 3rd time doing this

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy14214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst service ever!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Waitress was rudest I have ever experienced. Was rude as soon as we in the door. She had a terrible attitude which ruined our experience. Dont think she is in the right job for being around customers. Didnt even get to try food as we left in disgust. Walked around the corner to speights restaurant where service was outstanding as soon as u walk in door.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kiln also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing