We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$10 Fish and Chips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kiln

The Kiln
Ranked #13 of 98 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“$10 Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a great deal! And it was Blue Cod!! Nice atmosphere. Nice clean bathrooms. Other meals at our table also received great feed back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank angewhipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    55
    31
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rolleston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best seafood chowder....ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Don't go past the seafood chowder, but it is filling!
Great food and service. Great central location.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant supprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Called in for dinner before going to the Glen Miller concert.
Time was limited so we went straight to the main .
We ordered a seafood board for two and it was presented on a large 8x2 board,
It looked fantastic and tasted even better .
This really filled us both up and we would definitely have this again.
We will be coming back to check out the desert menu some time in the future.
Service and staff very good

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam22Haast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Called in with a friend on a Wednesday during the school holidays. They were over half full but not with families - rather people out on their lunch break from work. The service was prompt and very friendly. The wine waiter was most helpful in offering us wee samples of three different wines until we found one that we wanted to order. The ceasar salad with hot smoked salmon was excellent. The egg cooked just right, the lettuce crispy, the smoked salmon beautiful and it was good to be served a ceasar salad complete with anchovies, although I'm sure the chef would have refrained from adding them if you requested. All up a very pleasant lunch and I will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TandJInv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otautau, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This has a lovely ambience, staff are friendly and the Chicken Filo and Seafood Chowder are outstanding.
They make the best spicy tomato juice in town!!!
Only regret is that the menu hasn't changed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kiln also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing