We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood chowder.... with top coffee..... yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zookeepers Cafe

Zookeepers Cafe
Ranked #9 of 100 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seafood chowder.... with top coffee..... yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great wee cafe with attitude.... Good menu, lots of honest options served by great staff and theres a real live buzz about the place, all with good music... its got style and pizzaz, (it's fitted out like a zoo). Its always good to speak to the Boss and Paul makes a choice coffee. The Seafood chowder was fresh, hot and flavoursome, its a meal in itself...... a must visit if in town...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    97
    37
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistant Quality.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good portion size along with good presentation from a friendly waitress. No long waiting time was a bonus.. My wife and I have been there on and off over several years.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great flat white and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It was set horrible and windy (not the norm for Southland) so popped in for a coffee at zookeepers the other day - The atmosphere is brilliant - books to read, magazines to peruse and plenty of 'cycling' trophies ponder about. Plus the food was great and the coffee was one of the best that I've had for a long time. Great work Zookeepers

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Good sized servings, delicious food. Their smoothies are Yummo, I had a banana, mango, passionfruit, yoghurt and milk Smoothy, delish. Warm atmosphere. You can't miss it, it has a huge corrigated iron elephant on the roof.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank spmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Severe illness after eating.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ate at Zookeepers 36 hours ago. I had a Falafal Burger. Six hours after eating I developed severe stomach cramps and daihhorea and I still have it.

I will report this to the food safety authority.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwicj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zookeepers Cafe also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Zookeepers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing