We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves it's number 1 spot”
Review of The Rocks Cafe

The Rocks Cafe
Ranked #5 of 99 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Deserves it's number 1 spot”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch on a Saturday with our young kids (both under 5). The food was fantastic and the service was great too. They catered to our child's dietary requirements and we asked if the food could be as quick as possible as we had somewhere to go after lunch and they got it out super quick. It is definitely the best place in Invercargill.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kandicane55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    73
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,202 reviews
2,902 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise after Wellington”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Invercargill was a mere pit stop on the way to Stewart Island so we had no great expectations. However this was to be the best meal on our trip to date.
Tony is a wonderful chef with many years of experience but he also has excellent produce. After 2 failed attempts at pork belly in Wellington's finest, I'm surprised she tried again but it was first class at The Rocks.
My seafood chowder was wonderful - I'm a sucker for a good chowder and this had so much flavour and as good as I've had in years.
If it wasn't so far away, I would be a definite regular.
The service was excellent too - a great team

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
179 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Decent Selection”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My bride and I tried the seafood chowder and the garlic prawns. The presentations were above average but the flavors were average. For the prices charged, our meal with two beers was $46, a bit expensive for lunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pork Belly Supreme”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a great meal at The Rocks, we tried the Pork Belly after it was recommended by friends. It was so worth ordering. A very generous serving of perfectly cooked Pork Belly with service to match. Made for a great night in a fabulaous friendly atmosphere. Most of our table ordered what we did and everyone loved it... Believe this is a signature dish for this restaurant and will admit I couldnt finish it... good old fashioned southern sized portions..... no faffy gourmet presentation smearing on a plate here ....good honest ,wholesome, flavoursome food ......and nice to speak to the owner and Chef Tony ....well done guys ... we will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Found this place by walking around town it is s little hard as it is down an arcade but well worth the effort the steak was fantastic melt in the mouth cooked to perfection salad was good as we're the rosemary mash Potatoe

Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocks Cafe also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing