We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pork Belly Supreme”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rocks Cafe

The Rocks Cafe
Ranked #5 of 100 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pork Belly Supreme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a great meal at The Rocks, we tried the Pork Belly after it was recommended by friends. It was so worth ordering. A very generous serving of perfectly cooked Pork Belly with service to match. Made for a great night in a fabulaous friendly atmosphere. Most of our table ordered what we did and everyone loved it... Believe this is a signature dish for this restaurant and will admit I couldnt finish it... good old fashioned southern sized portions..... no faffy gourmet presentation smearing on a plate here ....good honest ,wholesome, flavoursome food ......and nice to speak to the owner and Chef Tony ....well done guys ... we will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    72
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Found this place by walking around town it is s little hard as it is down an arcade but well worth the effort the steak was fantastic melt in the mouth cooked to perfection salad was good as we're the rosemary mash Potatoe

Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Eating our way around New Zealand
Found a gem in Invercargill. The Rocks Bar and Grill...a mix of a Carlton Trattoria blended with artistic stone and fabric on walls and ceiling...overall comforting and welcoming with a serious degree of interest. Our first day on the job waitress, Ana looked after us very well.
Food....could crisp grilled bread with dips of fresh rocket, chive and walnut pesto, whipped garlic butter and mild chilli tomato relish be any better....doubt it.
Entree...steamed green lipped mussel was the best had in NZ!!!..roasted garlic butter, Sav Blanc and parsley. Have had mussels on this trip 4-5 times and had been more than satisfied previously, BUT this dish initially seemed to be dry, my mistake....steamed mussels scream for sauce, and this sauce didn't disappoint. Nothing individually different but a great marriage.....loved it. Kay's smoked salmon should have been promoted as Salmon 2 ways....We enjoyed house cured salmon at Amisfield Winery but the salmon tonight displayed two separate qualities. Profound, beautiful smokiness to the outer part of the fish but a perfectly cooked melt in your mouth, fall off the fork fresh salmon interior that left nothing to be desired.
Mains were no disappointment either. Tender loin of venison, seared rare with a port and blueberry sauce. A very generous serve of venison sitting on a maple baked sweet potato and buttered spinach. Perfectly cooked venison, beautiful flavours, despite being just slightly sinewy in some cuts of the meat. Kay's pork belly was delicious, perfectly braised and slow roasted in orange, fennel seed and five spice, with crisp crackling.
No room left for dessert but menu was enticing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiernan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 850 helpful votes
“Wanted Seafood - Blue Cod was Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came to Invercargill to see the "Fastest Indian" motorcycle and found a really nice restaurant. We asked lots of folks where we should go for good seafood and were told "everyone" has seafood - we are glad to report that blue cod is a specialty of the region and it is served perfectly at The Rocks. The atmosphere is pleasing and the servers are more than pleasant and helpful.
We shall return here someday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved the meal, both meals were cooked to perfection .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Was recommended The Rocks for a meal and was not disappointed. The meal was perfect and the waitress was very efficient and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocks Cafe also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing