We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food in Invercargill”

Elegance at 148 on Elles
Ranked #4 of 100 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Food in Invercargill”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Briliant, tasty food, friendly staff and great atmosphere. I had the Beef Fillet and my fiancee had the sirloin steak. Both were cooked to perfection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    31
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“love by food”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The service ,food was beautifully cooked and presented .Staff pleasant and not in your face.The chef came to visit the table which was a nice touch. would visit this again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice servive and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Brilliant service, nice meal, the chips were a bit over done but apart from that it was a very pleasant experience

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottie186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
196 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“a lovely night out”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The service was just great. Menu is small which I love, and the food is very very good quality. Lots of local produce with oysters (in season) and good portion sizes. A lovely dinner all round.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank 4myxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegance at 148 was our favorite restaurant anywhere on the South Island”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I had our 'fancy' dinner at 148 on Elles on the evening of February 18, 2013. We had been travelling in New Zealand for over 8 days and the relaxed atmosphere at 148 was a wonderful break from the hustle of our travels all over the south island. Our server, who was also the owner (with her husband, the chef) was kind and gentle.

Wine selection was good and desert exceeded our expectations. I had the venison and my wife had the rack of lamb. Both were delicious and quality was just was I expected for the price. It is a little pricey, but if you want to treat yourself to a great experience, I recommend 148.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lurking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elegance at 148 on Elles also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Elegance at 148 on Elles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing