We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobb & Co.

Cobb & Co.
Ranked #69 of 98 Restaurants in Invercargill
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Riverton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Went here with little ones after a day out shopping. Both being 7 they wanted to go because of the playroom. Their meals were good for children's meals but mine was AVERAGE. . Staff were very pleasant. So many good places to et in Invercargill won't be coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Nice surprise and value for my money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

On the evening of the 23rd of March 2013 my wife & I had what has turned out to be the BEST dinning experience of an extended South Island holiday. The staff at the Invercargill Cobb & Co could not be faulted. The food was above my expectations. I am an old chef, I know what to expect & have been known to demand it. We were so well looked after that my pants got so tight I could hardly get my wallet out to pay. I will be back, but I fear that the staff have set the bar too high for anyone else.
I waited until we had finished our holiday to write this in case we found a better place, sadly we did not find a place that ticked all the boxes as well as this restaurant. If I was to really try and find a fault ( nit picking ) maybe the speed of the service could be looked at, BUT then I would not have had time to enjoy the atmosphere and the fine food along with the wonderful staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VonM456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish in Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Service badly let them down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Had the potential to be great the menu looked great, it was relatively busy, they even had a mini set menu but the staff really let them down. The hostess was on a power trip & couldn't make a recommendation on wine or explain what beer was on tap (for non kiwis listing out the local beers is not as helpful as saying its a lager or pilsener!) - I pity the young girl she was training!! Most staff members were only interested in taking additional drinks orders, no one asked about our food or checked if we needed anything apart from more drinks.

In fairness our young brunette waitress was tried hard despite being run off her feet taking all the orders, bringing out food etc she was polite & accomodating. I'm sorry I didn't get her name to thank her.

The food was mixed - the fish of the day was completely overcooked & cold, the lamb was barely edible while the coach burger & steak were good. Our deserts were completely wrong - kitchen error explained our very embarrassed waitress chocolate sundae instead of caramel, apple crumble instead of apple shortcake. Locals seemed to be sticking with the basics - burgers, steak, fish & chips maybe that's where we missed out...

When we asked for the bill it took 3 staff to figure out how to print it - obviously no one ever asked to check their bill. Simple management in the floor to supervise could have prevented a lot of our issues.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AoifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lovely food, quick and economical and a lovely order of seating
Yummy! well worth a visit when your in a hurry and need a quiet setting

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rivertonbnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family Restaraunt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Visited after kids rugby games - staff were excellent with the kids.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank MaryInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobb & Co. also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Cobb & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing