We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
78
63
8
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
63
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queens park city park quiet street bedroom unit kitchen equipment shower pressure no air conditioning beds were comfortable cold night separate toilet stayed here for nights free wifi backing motel hosts facilities accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 151 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were greeted by Mark, a most friendly and helpful host, who provided good information about the city. The single bedroom unit was spotlessly clean and had everything one could want, including a DVD player and free WiFi. It was in a premier position at the front with a sunny northern aspect. Next door is a school where, on our arrival, a very powerful loudspeaker was part of noisy sports activities, but we knew this would soon stop once school finished for the day. We enjoyed a quiet and relaxing evening with a walk in the beautiful park right out the back.
The compact bedroom had a single and a queen bed. Space around the queen bed was tight with a bedside cabinet and clock radio having to be placed in an adjacent wardrobe. This curious location did not bother us though.
We have stayed in other Invercargill motels but this one will be our first choice for any future visits being so clean and well maintained, its peaceful location next to Queens Park and a friendly and helpful host.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you for taking time to give a positive review for our motel.Again we have advised the cleaning staff of your lovely comments regarding the cleanliness of the apartment.

We love to tell the guests what a wonderful city is Invercargill and the delightful things to see and do..Yes the sports day is the glamour event for the athletics at Southland Boys High School which is about half a mile away.. They are a noisy bunch on this sports day which happens once a year.

Again thank you for kind comments which are much appreciated.

All the best.
Maureen and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We arrived here late on a cold wet February night after travelling from Europe and left early the next morning in the rain. So we did not see this motel at its best. That said, Mark and Maureen were very welcoming, raiding the breakfast larder to find us something to eat when we arrived, as it was too late to find a restaurant open in town, and giving us the quietest room to ensure we got a good night's sleep. This was an older room, with a rather cramped bathroom, but both were very clean and the bed was comfortable. The motel provides a cooked breakfast on request and there is free wifi, though we did not use it.

The motel is a 10-minute drive from the airport and a short drive into the town centre. Unfortunately we did not have time (or the weather) to sample the reputed delights of Queens Park.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking time out to stay with us.We are glad that the room was clean and tidy and that you had a quiet and confortable night's sleep after a particularly long and tiring trip.
All the best .
Maureen and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This motel offers excellent facilities for those travelling with small children - close access to Invercargill's premier park, two playgrounds in very close proximity and a playhouse on site. Good sized laundry facilities, quiet cul de sac location with no traffic and playing fields next door to kick a ball around. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our motel and thank you for your outstanding recommendation. We are a very child friendly motel with playgrounds, park and school grounds next door. The two bedroom apartments are used a lot by families and the laundry facilities are used frequently. We are very happy that you enjoyed your quiet stay in our motel at the end of the cul de sac.
All the best.
Maureen and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Manager very welcoming and accommodating. Gave me full cream milk in a jug when he only had Trim in the usual guest bottle. Very clean and well equipped.Well positioned for walks in the beautiful park and shopping .

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments.Your recognition that our apartments are clean and well equipped have delighted us and our cleaning staff. Thank you.
You did enjoy the walks in the park and we are so lucky that the park is right next door to our motel..
I am sure you enjoyed the other delights in Invercargill and do not hesitate to contact us agin when you are next in town. All the best.

Maureen and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This Motel was recommended to us by the owners of the Portobello Motels in Dunedin & we were not disappointed. Immaculately clean with everything we might need. The owners were very friendly & helpful. Our unit was next to the lions by the entrance so it was very easy to come & go without disturbing anyone else. It was always a delight to come back to after a trip out into the countryside. A highlight was listening to the Tuis each morning & evening. So lovely being so close to Queens Park for a recreational walk. We would definitely like to stay here again if we are down this way.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you Lindsay and Judy for reviewing your stay in our motel. We are happy that the unit was clean and we have passed these comments to our dedicated staff.
Queens Park gardens are a true asset to our city and we are so lucky being the only motel next to the park. Nothing like a walk in the park on a Southland summers day.!!
All the best
Maureen and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews