We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and peaceful”
Review of Queens Park Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Park Motels
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This motel is in a great location, next to the beautiful Queens Park, with direct access to it. It is a nice walk to the town centre through the Park. It is a very nice, comfortable and quiet motel. The unit is spacious and very well equiped. The host is very kind and helpful. We highly recommend this motel, and also to stay overnight in Invercargill if you are going to visit the Catlins.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luisgarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a positive review. We are happy that you found the location to be quiet, and that the motel suited your requirements. Queens Park gardens are through the back gate and we are glad you were able to walk through to the town centre.
All the best
Maureen and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 142 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were greeted by Mark, a most friendly and helpful host, who provided good information about the city. The single bedroom unit was spotlessly clean and had everything one could want, including a DVD player and free WiFi. It was in a premier position at the front with a sunny northern aspect. Next door is a school where, on our arrival, a very powerful loudspeaker was part of noisy sports activities, but we knew this would soon stop once school finished for the day. We enjoyed a quiet and relaxing evening with a walk in the beautiful park right out the back.
The compact bedroom had a single and a queen bed. Space around the queen bed was tight with a bedside cabinet and clock radio having to be placed in an adjacent wardrobe. This curious location did not bother us though.
We have stayed in other Invercargill motels but this one will be our first choice for any future visits being so clean and well maintained, its peaceful location next to Queens Park and a friendly and helpful host.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you for taking time to give a positive review for our motel.Again we have advised the cleaning staff of your lovely comments regarding the cleanliness of the apartment.

We love to tell the guests what a wonderful city is Invercargill and the delightful things to see and do..Yes the sports day is the glamour event for the athletics at Southland Boys High School which is about half a mile away.. They are a noisy bunch on this sports day which happens once a year.

Again thank you for kind comments which are much appreciated.

All the best.
Maureen and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We arrived here late on a cold wet February night after travelling from Europe and left early the next morning in the rain. So we did not see this motel at its best. That said, Mark and Maureen were very welcoming, raiding the breakfast larder to find us something to eat when we arrived, as it was too late to find a restaurant open in town, and giving us the quietest room to ensure we got a good night's sleep. This was an older room, with a rather cramped bathroom, but both were very clean and the bed was comfortable. The motel provides a cooked breakfast on request and there is free wifi, though we did not use it.

The motel is a 10-minute drive from the airport and a short drive into the town centre. Unfortunately we did not have time (or the weather) to sample the reputed delights of Queens Park.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking time out to stay with us.We are glad that the room was clean and tidy and that you had a quiet and confortable night's sleep after a particularly long and tiring trip.
All the best .
Maureen and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This motel offers excellent facilities for those travelling with small children - close access to Invercargill's premier park, two playgrounds in very close proximity and a playhouse on site. Good sized laundry facilities, quiet cul de sac location with no traffic and playing fields next door to kick a ball around. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our motel and thank you for your outstanding recommendation. We are a very child friendly motel with playgrounds, park and school grounds next door. The two bedroom apartments are used a lot by families and the laundry facilities are used frequently. We are very happy that you enjoyed your quiet stay in our motel at the end of the cul de sac.
All the best.
Maureen and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Manager very welcoming and accommodating. Gave me full cream milk in a jug when he only had Trim in the usual guest bottle. Very clean and well equipped.Well positioned for walks in the beautiful park and shopping .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments.Your recognition that our apartments are clean and well equipped have delighted us and our cleaning staff. Thank you.
You did enjoy the walks in the park and we are so lucky that the park is right next door to our motel..
I am sure you enjoyed the other delights in Invercargill and do not hesitate to contact us agin when you are next in town. All the best.

Maureen and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This Motel was recommended to us by the owners of the Portobello Motels in Dunedin & we were not disappointed. Immaculately clean with everything we might need. The owners were very friendly & helpful. Our unit was next to the lions by the entrance so it was very easy to come & go without disturbing anyone else. It was always a delight to come back to after a trip out into the countryside. A highlight was listening to the Tuis each morning & evening. So lovely being so close to Queens Park for a recreational walk. We would definitely like to stay here again if we are down this way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you Lindsay and Judy for reviewing your stay in our motel. We are happy that the unit was clean and we have passed these comments to our dedicated staff.
Queens Park gardens are a true asset to our city and we are so lucky being the only motel next to the park. Nothing like a walk in the park on a Southland summers day.!!
All the best
Maureen and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. The manager was really nice and he was kind enough to accommodate my request of having all 6 of us in the same unit. He gave us fresh towels each day of our stay which was so thoughtful. I accidentally broke the knobs for the oven as I twisted it and the manager was very gracious and didn't charge us for it. Overall, we had a good experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for taking time out to appraise our service and motels. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and that you will be back in the not to distant future.

Mark and Maureen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.1 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
340 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 33 in Invercargill
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Park Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Park Motels

Address: 85 Alice Street | Gladstone, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Best Value Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#9 Business Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: $73 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Park Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a peaceful environment with a central location? Enjoy the best of both worlds at our unique location. On the edge of Queens Park gardens, enjoy the fitness track, golf course, gardens, Museum, all just a short walk out our back gate. All our guests enjoy the prospect of a restful sleep. Families can enjoy a home away from home environment in our large fully equipped units and the all the park facilities as our backyard. 6 X 2 bedroom units, sleep 1-5. 2 X 1 bedroom units 1-4, 6 studio units sleep 1-2. All self-contained, non-smoking units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queens Park Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Park Motels Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing