We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice well-run holiday park.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 11, 2014

One of the cleanest, most peaceful motor camps in New Zealand in a beautiful location. Out of the bustle of the city, but it's just a nice drive through Donovan Park and you're on Queens Drive. I go to this motor camp every time I'm in Invercargill. The curtains in my van are from a gift of the owner last year!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank A_Griffin_troutbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi
Thanks for the review, we love having you to stay
Glad the curtains are of use,
We think we are in a lovely position to, nice and quiet and no traffic noise :)
See you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 250 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked a powered site for our campervan here, however the lovely owner Diane very kindly showed us some of their motel units. I was very envious that we weren't staying in one of them as they were beautifully fitted out, a real surprise as to us Brits a motel usually conjures up the impression of something not very nice. Definitely a preferred option to a b&b or hotel as they had their own kitchen area, gorgeous bathroom and lovely bedding. They are recently refurbished or built and absolutely pristine.
Turning to the grounds for campers, these were immaculately kept and a really nice personal touch when we arrived was the check in staff walked us to the pitches so we could choose the best one for us - when at other sites you are just pre-allocated without any choice.
The kitchen and bathroom facilities are also well equipped and spotless too. A real credit to the owners who clearly keep very high standards.
We found it easy to drive into the centre of Invercargill from the site only 5-10 minutes away.
Having stayed at numerous other campgrounds this is definitely up there with the best.
If you haven't tried a 'motel' room before this is the place to do it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: One of the newly refurbished or newly constructed motel units. The equivalent of a self catering apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Hi Nicola,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on your stay here with us at the TOP 10 in Invercargill. Its always great to hear such positive feedback especially one as indepth as yours. It always makes us feel like we are doing something right :)
I'm pleased Diane had a chance to take you around the new motels. we are very proud of these and so it is always lovely to hear that others, especially our guests enjoy them as muchas we do.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around New Zealand, and look forward to having you again soon

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The accommodation was spotless and spacious with a peaceful feel. It was just a pity the weather wasn't great. The owner was polite and friendly. Overall it was a lovely experience. We always stay at Top 10 facilities when we travel as they provide good value for money.

Room Tip: Book early as their was little choice of room. We would have preferred a self contained unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on your recent stay with us here at Invercargill TOP 10, its always encouraging to get positive reviews such as yours!

We must agree the weather has been less that satisfactory here for the last few weeks so its nice to see a little sun today, although not sure that it will stick around.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of the trip, and look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have stayed at quite a few of the top ten sites in NZ this is the best so far. Spotless, modern, we got to choose our pitch, and really helpful staff. Can't recommend it enough. The only negative is that its outside of the town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enders2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Enders 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on your stay with us here at the TOP 10
We appreciate all feedback especially positive reviews such as yours
Our staff do their very best to provide exceptional service to our guests so I am pleased that I can pass this review onto them.
We do understand the 5km from the city centre can be inconvenient but we believe that the peaceful surroundings, bird life and that there is plenty of parking in Invercargill outweigh this fact

Thank you again for placing a review,
we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Just left this place. My goodness! So rude! If you want an unpleasant stay and to be ripped off, go here. They charge exorbitant prices for slow internet (despite the urban location, they are not within cellphone coverage). They charge for washing machines and dryers. After giving me coins for them, they said I couldn't use them because I was checking out!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuesdaySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip35, Owner at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Its extremely disappointing when people forget what Trip Advisor is about and use the forum to launch what is bordering on abusive and totally unfounded criticism.
The facts are; these people stayed on Xmas eve. On Xmas morning we were mindful of the fact both our guests and staff want to celebrate Xmas so there is some pressure on to get the cleaning done on time. Our checkout time is 11 am where the norm is 10 am (so not a rip off). In this case these guests were asked at 10.50 am if they wanted to extend their stay. Or to be mindful that checkout was 11 am and because it was Xmas Day wanting to be on time. At 11.10 am they were asked again and continued to just sit around. At 11.30 our cleaners had to wait while these people continued to use the facilities. At 11.45 am they went to use the laundry which would have taken another hour and at that stage were told no sorry that was unacceptable. To say we were unreasonable or rude when they held up staff and wanted to stay in excess of two hours after checkout on Xmas day is incredible. To say they feel ripped off again is a complete misinterpretation of the facts.
We do charge for the use of the washing machines and dryers which is quite normal and again would have no hesitation in saying our prices would be as low as you would find in NZ. We do have excellent cell-phone coverage with a new cell tower recently opened close by. We use a national WiFi provider who set the costs and feedback tends to show they offer pretty reasonable plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed at the powered site with our Campervan on mid- of December 2013. There was a friendly welcome! Excelent in cleanlyness and well maintained. Evertyting is new or well kept. We can only recommend the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Max

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on your stay in one of our powered sties
its always nice to receive such positive feedback.
We do our best to provide the very best customer service and are pleased that we can pass your feedback onto all our staff

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times this year (2013). Lovely Park like surrounds. Located just north of the city off the Winton road. Great staff, quiet and motel rooms are of a very high standard. We came across this motel by accident. We decided to travel at the last moment to Invercargill. After several phone calls to find accommodation we discovered it was the oyster festival weekend and therefore nothing available.
A search online resulted in finding this place under camping grounds, not being one for camping grounds as I now enjoy my fortnightly tax refund we prefer Motels. Being desperate I phoned and discovered they had motel units and there was one available for one night. The owners went out of their way to rearrange things so we could stay longer. I think this franchise needs rebranding to reflect that it has motel units as well as a camping ground / holiday park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrav8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Mrav8or

Thank you very much for placing such lovely feedback on your stay with us here
We always enjoy having you both stay with us and are pleased that we were able to have you over the Oyster festival and again later on this year.
Its always nice to hear feedback about our new motels and look forward to showing off our rennovations to you when we next see you.
Thanks for your feedback about the rebranding. Great minds think alike and we are currently rebranding to incorporate the new TOP motels branding so that guests can be informed of our motel units

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
3.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
394 reviews
3 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
331 reviews
3.4 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
147 reviews
3.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#8 of 33 in Invercargill
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 77 McIvor Road | Waikiwi, Invercargill 9876, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Invercargill
#2 Green Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: $52 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill TOP 10 is located on the northern edge of New Zealand’s southernmost city. Invercargill is a provincial city with some stunning buildings and shopping and restauraunts as good as cities many times its size but without the problems of parking and getting around. The Southland Coastline is nature at its most raw and can be explored via the Southern Scenic Route. Invercargill is close to Fiordland, Queenstown and the Catlins. It is also the departure point for the Stewart Island ferry and flights.Your hosts, Philip and Diane Todd have created a comfortable and welcoming environment for you to stay whilst visiting Invercargill. Forget traffic noise and settle back in a sheltered and spacious setting a short drive from the city centre in Invercargill's only 4-Star Plus Holiday Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing