We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poorest top 10 we've been to” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Poorest top 10 we've been to”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We opted for this top 10 as it was the closet site to the town.

We were quite disappointed with the facilities. There were 2 kitchens, we cooked in the smaller one. There was no extraction, so condensation ran down the walls and made the floor and every other surface wet. It was freezing cold outside, but we had to open the windows and door. The showers were nicely decorated but again no extraction so steam ran down the walls and wet everything including clothes hung on the back of the door.

The kettle didn't work in the kitchen. We did mention it and it was quickly replaced. The toasted only worked if you held it down. We couldn't find any recycling bins either.

For a Top 10, it felt very basic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debstheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Being the southernmost city in NZ the weather can at times be challenging as would appear at the time of this review. We do have two kitchens and one has full extraction of moisture caused by cooking. The showers are vented by way of skylights but we try to balance the need for people to keep warm as well as make sure all steam is gone and on the odd occassion in adverse weather there is condensation. We do take recycling seriously and have two stations in the park in very visible places with a third one due to be completed prior to Christmas.
Guest experience is critical to our business and hopefully Debstheleo will get the oportunity to visit when the sun is out and get the change to experience our park in a different light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    60
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
65
97
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed two nights in a deluxe unit which was extremely comfortable and well appointed. The reception welcome and ongoing assistance was excellent.
My only feedback to the Managers would be that some instructions on how and when to use which remote for the TV would avoid frustrations when things go wrong. Also we wondered why all the product labels had been left on white goods and in the bathroom.
Despite these minor things the Holiday Park was well situated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely feedback on your stay here with us at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park.

Your suggestion regarding the instructions on the T.V remotes is very helpful and we are workign on replacing these instructions with something a bit less technical,

The reason we keep the stickers on the whiteware is so that guests know that the appliances that are utilised in the units are of a high enviromental rating.

We hope you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to having you with us again

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hassle free check in as we hadn't booked. Very clean amenities. No vending machines for drinks though. This could be something to look at :)
The Tui in the tree right outside our motorhome sang us a morning song. Really quite lovely. Very peaceful and serene park. Will stay here again if we venture that far south :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devil_n_Disquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review about your stay with us here at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park,
we take all our guest suggestions very seriously and after receiving your suggestion to put in a vending machine we have now done so.
The machine is great and includes beverages and snacks which guests are loving so thank you very much for the suggestion!
Your photo is very beautiful and we would love a copy if you are bale to forward one to us :)

Hope to see you again in the future!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here in August with a camper van , we had not booked ahead and drove in, no hassle friendly easy check in, toilets and showers very clean and modern, the best part was the laundry facilities, the coin operated machines were the cheapest we used in New Zealand!

Room Tip: It's on the outskirts of the town and set in rural area so you have to drive to shops etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetJud71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi there,

thank you for taking the time to place such a lovely review on your stay here with us at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope that you enjoyed Invercargill just as much.

Yes we are on the outskirts of Invercargill, approximately 5kms, this is so our guests can leave the hustle and bustle of city life and noise behind and relax in a rural atmosphere.

We hope you had a fantastic holiday and look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind Regards,
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

A great place for families to stay on the outskirts of Invercargill City. Only a 5 min, straight-forward drive into town, so an easy commute. Rooms were excellent - very new, clean and tidy. Adequate kitchen facilities in the self-contained studio - good for breakfast and you could also make lunch there if needed. We didn't use the 'outside' seating etc, but looks like a nice place to sit on a good day!

Room Tip: Self-contained studios - great set up for family and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wakatipu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Hi there,

thank you for such kind feedback!
Its always great to hear it positive things from our guests especially locals and fellow New Zealanders.
Hopefully you enjoyed your stay here with us and missed the cold winter days, we are very pleased to see the sun out again yay!

Kind regards Sharlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed in a powered site and the staff were very helpful. Beautiful clean facilities and grounds. Nice and peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Hi Gary,

Thanks so much for taking the time to place feedback on your stay here with us!
Its always great to hear from our guests where we can improve and what we should continue to do!
I hope you enjoyed your stay in Invercargill and that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Kind Regards
Sharlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

motel or chalet room type with all facilities of cooking, good for the family with children.
Room facing the green, or the farm generally quieter.
Just that cooking salmon for children met with strong, objection from owner which is uncalled for.
Cooking produced smell thus, maybe a little too strong, however a child needs to eat. Very rude owner on this occasion. Greatly disappointed with attitude of owner, should not have the kitchen utilities at all.

Room Tip: Facing the forest seems quieter. Motel, country home style. Rooms have small Heaters
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francisLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your time here with us at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park.
We do appologise for the fact that you thought you would be able to cook strong smelling foods in our units. In an attempt to minimise customer dissatisfaction we do tell all guests upon check in that strong smelling foods are required to be cooked in the camp kitchen or at the barbeque area so as to ensure that the next guests aren't met with the odour.
We have also written this on a welcome card and in the compendiums so that all guests are aware of this rule at least three times.

The "attitude of the owner" was as a result of the fact your family had brought 3 or 4 extra heaters which were not needed in the units and also were not safe to have in the units. As a result you blew the power 4 times during your one night stay and other guests were inconvenienced by your actions. We had asked you three times to switch the heaters off as our switchboards only cater to what we have installed in the units and smaller electronic devices such as chargers. You neglected to follow these requests so after the 4th blackout when we noticed you were cooking fish despite being asked not to, we were very unhappy. This is because you have stayed during the busiest time of the year (the Oyster Festival) and we had other guests staying in your unit the next day.

As a result it cost us an additional $100 in cleaning which we have not charged you and a number of appologies have had to be made to guests staying in the units beside you and entering your unit the next day as a direct result of your actions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
3.0 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavarian Motel
Bavarian Motel
#22 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 77 McIvor Road | Waikiwi, Invercargill 9876, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Invercargill
#2 Green Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill TOP 10 is located on the northern edge of New Zealand’s southernmost city. Invercargill is a provincial city with some stunning buildings and shopping and restauraunts as good as cities many times its size but without the problems of parking and getting around. The Southland Coastline is nature at its most raw and can be explored via the Southern Scenic Route. Invercargill is close to Fiordland, Queenstown and the Catlins. It is also the departure point for the Stewart Island ferry and flights.Your hosts, Philip and Diane Todd have created a comfortable and welcoming environment for you to stay whilst visiting Invercargill. Forget traffic noise and settle back in a sheltered and spacious setting a short drive from the city centre in Invercargill's only 4-Star Plus Holiday Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing