We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small studio rooms but tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The location is great. We used one of the studio rooms which was quite tidy but a bit small for two people. The stuff were helpful and affable but the business name was misleading since they have changed the name recently but still keeping the old one on the booking site we used!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Ali,

Thank you for your review - I am glad you enjoyed our property. Our studio rooms are 28SQM - perhaps next time you could consider booking a 1 bedroom apartment for more space and comfort.

Thanks

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed for two nights over a weekend. This hotel is in a very good location to the central business area. We had a two bedroom unit that was quite roomy but very basic facilities but no lounge area. Good bath room and shower but with one major defect. The wash basin had a cabinet built right over the top of the basin which made it really difficult to clean your teeth or wash with out making a mess. This is not acceptable. Secure parking is at the rear of the hotel but requires navigation through a number of security doors. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our key cards did not work on the second night which caused us a bit of a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandTrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Auckland,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our property and would use it again as a base for your travels in Invercargill.

Thanks

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you have to stay in Invercargill I guess this is an okay place to do it, but we didn't like it. It was pretty clean, but depressingly outfitted. As other reviewers have noted: it's functional. Definitely did have enough space, and the efficiency area was nice enough. Utilitarian bathroom with heavily bleached/starched towels. Sheets had small holes in them. Our window looked on a weird industrial wall/fan area and we had to keep it closed due to really loud generator/fan noise. I was so itchy all night that I had to get up and put on long pants and long sleeves to sleep. I think the heavy cleaners used on the sheets just made me itch but of course I spent the night paranoid about bugs.

At check in, the poor guy staffing the counter was not very friendly but it also seemed like a bit of a rough night with some drunk guests. I was definitely misled into thinking there was secure parking available; there was not (not sure why some guests do have access to it--longer term? only certain rooms?). Fortunately it was a Saturday night going on Sunday so it was okay to park on the street, though this was the only place out of 3 weeks of constant travel in NZ where I was nervous for its security. At checkout the staff were much friendlier.

So yeah, relatively clean and centrally located, but not nice and with enough experience detractors (the itchy, worn-through sheets, the lack of parking, the unsafe feeling of the block at night, the horrible noise outside the window) that I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennetj623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Jennetj623

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments.

I appreciate your comments about our linen and the strong use of chemicals - this is something we will need to address with our local linen supplier. I am unsure why you were paranoid about bugs, to this date we have had no cases about bugs and take proactive measures to do our best in ensuring that we are bug free.

Further, your comments about our lack of parking is false - we have secure parking within our complex and available for hotel guest use. Perhaps we could do a better job at time of check in in explaining these features of our building.

Thank you for your comments - they are all useful in making us a better property.

Take care, thanks

Ram.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

There is nothing special about this place. It's functional and somewhere to put your head down if you can get over the overpowering smell of bleach plus other strange odours in the room.
The facilities in a studio room include tea/coffee facilities and internet connection included in the price. There is plenty of space with a separate living space and bedroom. The bedhead is under the window - that might be OK now but wouldn't like the probable draft on your neck in the winter. There is free parking directly outside the hotel on the street providing you arrive after 6pm and don't have a lie in in the morning.

My room hadn't had a tea stain mopped up in the kitchen or the small bin in the bathroom emptied. Small details but still noticeable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZTraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear NZTraveller,

Thank you for your review - I appreciate your comments and we will work towards solving the issues you have highlighted in your review.

Thanks Ram.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom room. The staff were very helpful, friendly and accommodating when we wanted to cancel one night. The parking is around the back which you enter with a key card. This key card is then used to open a seemingly endless amount of doors to get to your room. The room was ok- yes it had 2 bedrooms but the actual living area only consisted of a small kitchenette and a tiny table with 2 stools- there was no couch or tv so we had to sit in our own bedrooms and watch tv so it wasn't very sociable. On the plus side, the beds were really comfortable although my bed was up against a window so I did get a bit of a draft on my head during the night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our Great Location in the Central City.

Take care and safe travels back to Hamilton.

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel is well thought out and is good value for money. Internet access is good, and the facilities available on each floor clever. Even so, I believe they could make a huge difference with minor improvements. For example, there are neon strip lights in the rooms - not good for a hotel room. Also, the breakfast is not worth $10. The walls are a bit thin, but that will only bother the light sleeper. The hotel staff are friendly, and there is unlimited drinking water on each floor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Hi Deon,

Thank you for your review, i am glad you enjoyed our facilities - especially the free WIFI.

I have taken your comments on board about the lighting and breakfast - I will address this personally to ensure that we improve.

Thank you Deon,

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great location - fantastic helpful staff, clean and modern. Only down side was it being extremely hot in the room even with the fan they supplied. Would definitely recommend and stay here again. Make sure you request a room with air-conditioning!

Room Tip: Higher floor away from street noise and request a room with AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your kind words - we we certainly take on board your advice and look to improve accordingly.

Take Care

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
328 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Invercargill
Quest Invercargill
#3 of 12 in Invercargill
148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Invercargill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Invercargill

Address: 15 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand (Formerly Invercargill Apartment Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range: $60 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Invercargill 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Styles Invercargill is a 3 Star Self Contained and Serviced Apartment Hotel located in central Invercargill. Ibis Styles Invercargill offers comfortable accommodation and the convenience of staying at the heart of Invercargill, a perfect home away from home. Enjoy a comfortable and affordable stay in the heart of Invercargill. Facilities and Features: • Studio rooms available • 1, 2 & 3 Bedroom units that can accommodate up to 6 guests • 24 Hour On-Site Management • Building Wide Central Heating • Security Cameras and Swipe Card Access Public Areas • Secure On-Site Parking • On-Site Movie Theatre and Complimentary WIFI • In Room Kitchenettes • Off Site Gym • TV in all rooms with 5 Sky Channels • WIFI throughout the Building • Self-Service Laundry • Games room with table tennis table and Billiards table ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Styles Invercargill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingspace Hotel Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing