We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth Staying At - Affordable Yet Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a great place to stay, some wheat hesitant due to the property not having a brand behind it...however it really did surprise me how well the place is upkept and the standards of housekeeping were impeccable, the room was functional and spacious along with warm. It is freezing in Invercargill and being in the property you could hardly tell.

Had a great stay and will recommend to others in the same regard.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Queen I stayed in was great....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmySap123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear JimmySap123

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your kind words.

Yes, it is cold in Invercargill - we have a great heating system that keeps our building nice and warm for days that may get a tad cold.

Thanks Jimmy,

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 266 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was chosen based on its price and location in relation to the town centre. What a great property and something totally unexpected in a place even as remote as Invercargill. The free wifi and gym access was a real bonus.

I will be back and recommend to others - a thank you to Tess and Margaret for always being welcoming at reception. I had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Choose the larger Deluxe Queen Rooms or 1 bedroom if possible. The difference in cost is not much bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKLWantinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear AKL Wantinga

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the property and hope you tell others about your experience with us.

Thanks

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay as the location to poly -tech, local shops and available outlets gave me less stress as study is enough in it-self. I felt great with the hospitality from all the staff, which leaves me to thank the cleaners as my room was always left smelling nice and looking brilliant. The room I had was perfect for study as it is set for this purpose. The laundry and games room with a bonus cinema room meant you could have a breather while doing what was needed. Over the three weeks I had a great stay. Thank-you all, p.s. It's what you make it, so have fun and enjoy!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, Manager at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Dean,
Thank you for your wonderful review, which I have shared with our staff. You are one of our guests who have made the most of the various facilities that we have like Games Room, Theater, Laundry, Secured parking etc. I did see that your kids enjoyed the games room and theater the most.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed for one night on a short business trip - it was my first visit to this property.

The location is good - central city and within easy walking distance of shops, etc. Despite the main street location I had no issues with noise.

My first impression on entering my room (a studio on the 4th floor) was that it was very small. The furniture and fittings are all contemporary and clean, with a large wall mounted flat screen TV and basic 'kitchen' facilities including sink, microwave, etc.

The small size causes a number of issues though. As an example - the cutlery drawer will not open when the room door is closed as it is blocked by the lock unit. The only way to get into the cutlery draw is to open the room door. The bathroom is the smallest I have ever experienced at any accommodation. It is effectively a tiny wet room - using the shower means that the floor is then soaked with nowhere dry to stand. There is nowhere for towels, etc, so these were left on my bed. The cupboard/mirror unit is directly above the sink and means that it is not possible to lean over the sink to wash, etc. There was also no plug in my sink, I had to wedge a flannel into the plug hole to keep water in.

Overall this accommodation is let down by being far too small and cramped, which is a shame as the location is good and the rooms are otherwise of a reasonable standard.

There are better local options than this.

Room Tip: Don't select a studio - far too small - and ask for the 4th floor for the quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulrproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, General Manager at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Paul R Proctor,

Thank you for your review. I can see that you are a senior reviewer and a seasoned traveller and your feedback is invaluable to us as a small property.

I am very happy to see that the room decor was up to your standards as well as our fantastic location.

Our Studio rooms are 22SQM which is about average for a serviced apartment. However, I can appreciate that with baggage and other items the rooms can feel 'busy'. However, perhaps on your next stay with us - I would recommend you go for either our Deluxe Queen Room or our 1 Bedroom Superior Apartment which are much larger in size for a marginal increase in cost (still cheaper than many other competitors around for a basic studio). We offer a great rate for a practical product a have many options that may suit the individual traveller. Our product is all about Value for Money.

Take care and thank you for your feedback, i hope you choose us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

IAH Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit that over looked the main street for 2 nights.
The staff were really helpful and the unit was clean.
The movie theatre downstairs was great for the kids to use.
Unit was adequate but the windows were cracked in the bedroom with wide black tape over some of the cracks and not many opened to allow fresh air in. Our bathroom was tiny.
Our elderly parents had a studio unit and they found the fireproof doors hard to open in the building. They would have appreciated another chair in their room so they both could sit down and eat. Swipe cards used for all floors and doors.
Worst thing was the noise from the street during the night. The locals driving up and down with loud music in their cars all through the night on the Sat. 3am must be when the nightclub shuts 4 doors down the street judging by the people walking on the street!
We appreciate the staff but if you don't like loud noise I would not stay on the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Tay Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZBeachfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, General Manager at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear BeachFan1

Thank you for your detailed review of the property, it really helps us improve our own standards taking into account your feedback.

On a positive note, I am very happy to read that the property and the staff were up to your standards and the team went our of their way to look after you. Further, our movie theatre is really something totally unique and I am glad your enjoyed the complimentary use of the facility.

I have taken your notes about small work needed at the property into account and we are working hard to rectify these small issues.

In terms of the fire doors, this is a council requirement and something we are unable to avoid and need it for the safety of our guests. Your would have noted our excellent swipe card system.

We are a central city property, as with any property in the middle of the city noise on weekends can sometimes be an issue. We are luckier than others however this may have been a one off even in the city that caused the disturbance.

Take care and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

IAH Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here over the weekend while visiting friends in Invercargill and going to see Shapeshifter (AWESOME gig) play on the Sunday. We only stayed one night due to having to get back to work, but what a great place to stay.

Lovely and modern, clean and with a nice bit of style to the place. Have stayed in a couple of other places in Invercargill in the past and this is defiantly my pick of the crop. Great location, friendly staff. I really cant find anything to complain about the place. I know where we will be staying next time we visit Invercargill!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fraseryvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, General Manager at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Fraser and Yvette

What a great review our staff are really encouraged by stays such as yours. Our location is terrific for events that happen in the city as we are in the town centre.

We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

IAH Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are a bit tight but the decor makes up for this. T.V reception poor and internet access is limited.Bathroom. and toilet feel very small. Location is excellent and near to shopping and cafes. Would reccommed for a business traverler staying overnight will wait before recommending for a longer term stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, General Manager at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Kerrez,

Thank you for your review and time. I am so glad that you have brought up some valid points that I would like to address as I feel the property has made great strives since your last stay with us in July.

You will be happy to know that we have just introduced the following:

- Flat Screen Tv's with Free-View and crystal clear reception
- High Speed Complimentary WIFI for all guests to enjoy

Our property is one of the best located in town and I am glad you enjoyed the great things it has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

IAH Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Invercargill
Quest Invercargill
#3 of 12 in Invercargill
152 reviews
3.4 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
1 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Invercargill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Invercargill

Address: 15 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand (Formerly Invercargill Apartment Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range: $76 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Invercargill 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Styles Invercargill is a 3 Star Self Contained and Serviced Apartment Hotel located in central Invercargill. Ibis Styles Invercargill offers comfortable accommodation and the convenience of staying at the heart of Invercargill, a perfect home away from home. Enjoy a comfortable and affordable stay in the heart of Invercargill. Facilities and Features: • Studio rooms available • 1, 2 & 3 Bedroom units that can accommodate up to 6 guests • 24 Hour On-Site Management • Building Wide Central Heating • Security Cameras and Swipe Card Access Public Areas • Secure On-Site Parking • On-Site Movie Theatre and Complimentary WIFI • In Room Kitchenettes • Off Site Gym • TV in all rooms with 5 Sky Channels • WIFI throughout the Building • Self-Service Laundry • Games room with table tennis table and Billiards table ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Invercargill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingspace Hotel Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing