We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Railway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Both the hotel and it's owners welcomed us warmly and hosted us in the best possible manner. We had a greatstay in Invercargill.
The hotel used to be a railwaystation and has been decorated according to the time it has been built originally, lots of wood, ets., but the rooms and especially bathrooms are extremely comfortable.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MichalKreitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    61
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
125
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

very welcoming, loved room, free internet, hosts couldn't do enough for you, very centrally located

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We went to Invercargill in order to see ‘The Worlds Fastest Indian’ at E Hayes and Sons on the High Street (Recommended). We had no hotel booking for that night and we were told by locals that The Victoria Railway Hotel was the place to stay. Our hosts managed to fit us in even though they were almost at capacity. We were made most welcome and shown up to a clean and comfortable room on the first floor. We even received a hand to get our bags from the car up to the room. The bar is cosy and over a glass or two of wine we got to know our hosts a little better and also got to hear some of the Hotels history. We were lent a copy of a book about Burt Monroe which was signed by his son. After a great cooked breakfast our landlady arranged for us to visit a private museum in the town. The service was truly above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSyntax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

A lot of work has gone into creating a unique hotel. On arrival Eian took over our luggage and had it installed in our room in a flash. Trudy is a delightful host, nothing is too much effort. Our room was large and well appointed with lots of little extras - mints, chocolates, daily newspaper and copious supplies of tea and coffee. We enjoyed excellent home cooking at breakfast and dinner. The house wine is one of New Zealand's best. Nothing is too much trouble for this hard working team and we don't hesitate to recommend it as the place to stay in Invercargill.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshirekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Hosts are excellent. Rooms are large and very well equipped. Meals are aslo good and homely. Highly recommend staying at this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chestercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Spent two nights at this glorious little boutique hotel in the heart of Invercargill. The personal service from Trudy and Iian (hosts) and the gloriously restored old railway station accommodation made our trip to Invercargill a most memorable one indeed.
Our room was cosy and cleanand the attention to retoration of the old style was clearly evident. If you like to step back in time to a piece of history then this venue is your choice. Located within easy walking distance to the main Invercargill shopping district and the fantastic Queens Park you will be pleasantly surprised as were we.
Five star accommodation at a very affordable price....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobbo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

On our second tour of NZ we wanted to go to the very south, and we drove down from Dunedin to Invercargill and stayed just one night.
From the moment we walked through the door we were greeted with a typically NZ relaxed warm welcome. Eian helped us with our cases to our room, which was fine, and then, as it was evening, we chatted at the bar before enjoying an excellent meal in the restaurant. I recommend the Japanese style lamb stir fry!
As we had a long drive ahead of us, we didn't have breakfast.
The interior of the hotel has been tastefully refurbished, and the outside is stunning. Trudy came out when we were taking photographs and took one of us in front of the hotel. She pointed out Mrs Watson in costume in the turret!!
I liked staying in a hotel with a history.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Invercargill
Quest Invercargill
#3 of 12 in Invercargill
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
133 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beersheba Estate
Beersheba Estate
#2 of 15 in Invercargill
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Railway Hotel

Property: Victoria Railway Hotel
Address: 3 Leven Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Railway Hotel of Invercargill, New Zealand, offers modern, stylish and comfortable hotel accommodation with a touch of old world charm. Victoria Railway Hotel is an Invercargill icon situated in the heart of the city with a NZ Historic Places Trust Category 1 Registration. The Victoria Railway Hotel offers you all the creature comforts of home as well as the extra care and attention you would expect from an executive hotel, complimented with a private lounge bar and restaurant. We provide a range of modern accommodation options from Standard Studios through to Executive Studios and VIP Suites. From the moment you enter our doors your needs are our priority. The little things we provide are what make a stay an unforgettable experience. As a family owned and operated business, we strive to ensure our guests have the most pleasant stay in Invercargill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Railway
Victoria Railway Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing