We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Railway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Affable and genial hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Clean, comfortable and spacious accommodation. Central location. One of the best we stayed at during our 4 week tour of both islands.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhousesitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Railway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 204 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2009

We really loved this hotel - the building is beautiful and the owners are doing a fantastic job of both renovating the building and providing a fantastic level of service. We arrived here on my birthday and decided to eat in the hotel that night. Eain & Trudy cooked us a fantastic meal - complete with complimentary birthday cake! Our room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The dinner menu and also the breakfast was great. Eain and Trudy are friendly and have great knowledge of their city and the surrounding area. They were also happy to store our luggage and car while we went on a four day trip to Stewart Island. Well done guys - keep up the great work and we hope to visit again when we are back in NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Eian and Trudy have done a wonderful job renovating this magnificent, characterful building and turning it into unquestionably THE place to stay in Invercargill. The hotel oozes character and hospitality. The food is excellent, wholesome and homely, the bar is well-stocked (including the fine beers of the town's micro brewery), and the hotel's owners are exceptionally welcoming and helpful. The public rooms, and the VIP room we stayed in, were all very roomy, comfortable and clean, echoing genuine Victorian feel modernized sympathetically. The rooms have broadband access, tea/coffee facilities and a safe. The perfect jump-off point for Stewart Island and a chance to see Invercargill's other attractions. Would not even consider staying anywhere else in this city. Little wonder it is rated the Number 1 hotel in Invercargill!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Didn`t exspect any special of Invercargill or this hotel. Just one night before leaving NZ :-( in a cheap hotel.
What a surprise: town not bad, lovely Oreti Beach, nice Bluff and this lovely hotel, in perfect condition, high quality and the most friendly owners I ever seen (and I stayed in many high-quality hotels all over the world)
I'm sure, you will love this hotel and the owners. A reason to come back to Invercargill again...

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtkretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed one night at the Victorial Railway Hotel on our way between the Catlins and Fjordlands. It was an excellent choice. The hotel is a wonderful old building from the late 19th Century that has been lovingly restored and maintained. Our room was large, spacious and comfortable. We were on the third floor, however, and there is no elevator. Eian, who with Trudy runs the place, very obligingly carried our bags up to our room. Both Eian and Trudy were welcoming and helpful. There was high speed internet in the room. The bathrooms were modern and well equipped. They were not serving dinner the night we were there, but the breakfast the next morning (not included with the room) was quite good and served in an interesting old dining room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

My Husband & Myself stayed only one night but it was very enjoyable. We have a problem with stairs so we were given a down stairs room. The Hotel has been extensively restored but has been done in a very good way and not lost any of its charm. The room was very tastefully furnished.

The Hosts and Bobby the cat made our stay very memorable. Its really was not just a place to rest but a place to enjoy the whole experience.

We were delighted with the choices for our evening meal which we chose while having a quite drink in the very comfortable bar.

The hosts go out of their way to make you very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night en route to Stewart Island. We were given a very warm welcome by the owner together with excellent recommendations on what to see in our limited time in Invercargill.

The room was large and well furnished. The hotel facilties are good. It is run for the guests and so there are no outsiders drinking in the bar or eating in the dining room. We had dinner elsewhere - I suspect this was a mistake.

The hotel is a Heritage building and the outside has been restored with tender loving care by the owners. It is within walking distance of all Invercargill's major sights.

An added advantage was that the Stewart Island shuttle bus collects from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeSHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Invercargill
Quest Invercargill
#2 of 12 in Invercargill
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
137 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beersheba Estate
Beersheba Estate
#3 of 15 in Invercargill
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Railway Hotel

Address: 3 Leven Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range: $92 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Railway Hotel of Invercargill, New Zealand, offers modern, stylish and comfortable hotel accommodation with a touch of old world charm. Victoria Railway Hotel is an Invercargill icon situated in the heart of the city with a NZ Historic Places Trust Category 1 Registration. The Victoria Railway Hotel offers you all the creature comforts of home as well as the extra care and attention you would expect from an executive hotel, complimented with a private lounge bar and restaurant. We provide a range of modern accommodation options from Standard Studios through to Executive Studios and VIP Suites. From the moment you enter our doors your needs are our priority. The little things we provide are what make a stay an unforgettable experience. As a family owned and operated business, we strive to ensure our guests have the most pleasant stay in Invercargill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Railway
Victoria Railway Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing