We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Railway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2014

this is a lovely buiding but you should be aware there is no elevator. room was large, clean & quiet.
breakfast was delicious and we also ate dinner there and it was very good. Peter & Rose are gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank j44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 209 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed for one night while touring around the south Island, my partner recommended this place as she had stayed there before and we weren't disappointed, rooms were clean and tidy and the the staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the Victorian style of the hotel and the character it has which is lost on a lot of other hotels. The Bar is a cozy place to sit and relax, or thou we didn't dine there our host Peter was very helpful in pointing out other establishments near by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peter_fitzgerald67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Before we had sorted out what to get out of our car, Peter our host, had our bags and off he went to deliver them to our delightful room. I had spoken to Peter over the phone about what type of room we liked and the one he choose for us was perfect. Lots of character and plenty of milk, tea, coffee, chocolate etc.
Being a Sunday night, the restaurant wasn't open but we were given a good recommendation by Peter for a pub just around the corner that had great atmosphere and wonderful meals.
We spent a lovely hour or so in the sitting room by the fire talking to Peter and his wife, the next morning we had a delicious breakfast to send us on our way.
All up a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Australianjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed for two night for our wedding anniversary, our hosts were lovely, very welcoming and friendly. Nothing was a problem and we felt right at home. Lovely big comfy bed, room was big and warm. Will stay again such a great place with hosts that make your stay extra special.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lanzcrystalight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed on 2 different nights during our recent trip to New Zealand South Island. We found the place warm and friendly. The first night was on our way to Stewart Island as a couple and the second night was on our return with friends. The bar area was just wonderful to sit, have a drink prior to dinner and chat. The staff were both friendly and helpful, especially as my mother in Australia had become ill whilst we were on Stewart Island. Looking forward to being able to return and stay there another time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed for two nights in this wonderfully restored and historic Hotel. One night before our tramp in Stewart Island and another night on our return. What can I say, after 4 nights in the outdoors, who does not want to return to their room to find the curtains pulled, the heating on in expectation, and our bags - previously stored here while we tramped, back in our rooms. We were a party of five - three rooms and Peter managed somehow to get the right bags in the right rooms. The hosts are fantastic, the surroundings old world, brilliantly restored to its former glory, thoroughly recommend it to anyone - Peter and Rosie extremely helpful and informative about places around town, including suggesting other places for meals and drinks - absolutely no pressure to do either at the Victoria if you wished to take the short walk uptown. Great place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigrock01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Vic in its hey-day must have been something special. Fortunately, after the passenger side of the railway died, a lot of loving restoration has been carried out and the Vic still survives.

At present, the excellent bar and restaurant is only open to residents. Unfortunately, the night we stayed the restaurant was closed (it only opens Mon-Thu) so we had a short walk into town to find somewhere to eat. Not an issue except that with the wind it was seriously cold. On our return, back to a roaring fire and a nightcap ! Excellent breakfasts.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PIGASIMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Safari Lodge
Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Invercargill
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Invercargill
Quest Invercargill
#1 of 12 in Invercargill
152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Folster Gardens B & B accomodation
0.9 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Railway Hotel

Address: 3 Leven Street, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range: $88 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Railway Hotel of Invercargill, New Zealand, offers modern, stylish and comfortable hotel accommodation with a touch of old world charm. Victoria Railway Hotel is an Invercargill icon situated in the heart of the city with a NZ Historic Places Trust Category 1 Registration. The Victoria Railway Hotel offers you all the creature comforts of home as well as the extra care and attention you would expect from an executive hotel, complimented with a private lounge bar and restaurant. We provide a range of modern accommodation options from Standard Studios through to Executive Studios and VIP Suites. From the moment you enter our doors your needs are our priority. The little things we provide are what make a stay an unforgettable experience. As a family owned and operated business, we strive to ensure our guests have the most pleasant stay in Invercargill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Railway
Victoria Railway Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing