We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we stopped at Invercargill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Railway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped at Invercargill”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were traveling by bus from Dunedin, on our way to Bluff to catch the Stewart Island ferry. The connection time seemed tight so we decided to spend the night in Invercargill and take the late morning ferry the next day. Our stay at the Railway Hotel made it all worthwhile. The first floor lobby and dining room have been lovingly restored and furnished. The guest rooms are more modern and are very comfortable. Pete and Rose could not have been more accommdating. We had dinner here and it was first rate. They also do a really good cooked breakfast. The hotel is one block west of the main or high street and is close to everything. If we could have ridden the train here it would have been even better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    61
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
123
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
459 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is not a 5 star hotel! However it is full of character and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Not the cheapest in its class but great location close to the small town centre. Rooms were quaint but very functional and full of character.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Wonderful hosts who go out of their way to help and make you feel welcome. Rooms well serviced,clean and tidy, very comfortable bed, ensuite, wifi, delicious food, rich in history, close to town, warm, quiet - everything you could ask for and more. Very highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
211 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed 1 night at the Victoria Railway Hotel in a V.I.P. room on the top floor which delivered all that it promised. Delightfully furnished, spacious, spotlessly clean, recently renovated and well maintained. Rose and Peter were extremely welcoming, providing directions and places of interest. We had a drink in the cosy bar downstairs followed by fish and chips (huge portions) in the quaintly decorated restaurant. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends and would most certainly return if back again in Invercargill. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We opted for a VIP room which proved to perfect for our needs - spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahLBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our one night stay was very comfortable. Hosts were friendly and helpful and brekky was good. We enjoyed a nightcap in the small bar chatting to Peter and Rose about New Zealand after dining at the Irish pub in town. We had a large ground floor room on the corner. Close to the road but little traffic noise. The hotel is old but has charm and character. Parking is very limited, but we managed to park in the street between metered times.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

stayed 1 night the host couldn't do enough for us, the rooms are a great size, enough room for a lounge area also. there is also a area for your suitcases. the breakfast is good, but be warned it is huge.The building Is beautiful been redecorated to a high standard. we would recommend the hotel and we will stay there next time, thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: no lift so if you are elderly get a room on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is a bit of railway history brought up to date with wifi and en suite bathrooms. Both dinner and continental breakfast were excellent (and great value!) The hosts are genuinely friendly and happy to help. One even walked with me to an address I needed to find to make sure I didn't end up going in the wrong direction!

Room Tip: I had a room at the front and slept fine, but the rooms at the back are said to be even quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjdrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Invercargill
Quest Invercargill
#5 of 16 in Invercargill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill
#5 of 11 in Invercargill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Railway Hotel

Property: Victoria Railway Hotel
Address: 3 Leven Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Railway Hotel of Invercargill, New Zealand, offers modern, stylish and comfortable hotel accommodation with a touch of old world charm. Victoria Railway Hotel is an Invercargill icon situated in the heart of the city with a NZ Historic Places Trust Category 1 Registration. The Victoria Railway Hotel offers you all the creature comforts of home as well as the extra care and attention you would expect from an executive hotel, complimented with a private lounge bar and restaurant. We provide a range of modern accommodation options from Standard Studios through to Executive Studios and VIP Suites. From the moment you enter our doors your needs are our priority. The little things we provide are what make a stay an unforgettable experience. As a family owned and operated business, we strive to ensure our guests have the most pleasant stay in Invercargill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Victoria Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Railway
Victoria Railway Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing