We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Railway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is a bit of railway history brought up to date with wifi and en suite bathrooms. Both dinner and continental breakfast were excellent (and great value!) The hosts are genuinely friendly and happy to help. One even walked with me to an address I needed to find to make sure I didn't end up going in the wrong direction!

Room Tip: I had a room at the front and slept fine, but the rooms at the back are said to be even quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjdrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Railway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

We really liked this well preserved bit of railway history, the rooms are excellent and up to date with all mod cons and a really comfortable bed, the welcome you receive is warm and friendly and you are made to feel special from the moment you arrive. Breakfast offered is well presented and tasteful and we would recommend the hotel to everyone who is staying in Invercargill.

Room Tip: Chose an exclusive room, excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A lot of money has been spent to restore this old building. Warm, welcoming, comfortable and affordable. We had the luxury of a bath in our room. Room itself was called a standard double room. This was one of the largest rooms we stayed in on our holiday round the South Island. We had an early start the next day so we never checked out the small bar nor the dining room. Both looked very boutique and comfortable. Hosts made us feel very welcome and went to the trouble to make sure we felt comfortable making our way around town. Gave us tips on what to see in our short visit. Car parking is very limited. Does have several spaces over the road in off Street parking. Recommend but only if you can handle stairs. No lifts. Very easy to find if driving into town.

Room Tip: So easy to find if driving into town.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great hotel, situated close to bars and restaurants! We had a lovely room with very comfortable beds and we paid for the cooked breakfast which was fab, I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I'd go back again if I were every in Invercargill again:)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel retains it's charm while providing a comfortable room. The bathroom was ensuite in room 19 however I did notice that there were also bathroom facilities separate from the rooms. The room contained a fridge and flat screen TV. The hotel faces the railway station but I heard no noise from it. It is a short walk to the main street of Esk and also to Queens Park. Free, unlimited, wifi. Nice managers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chez-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This great brick building has charm and charisma. It's larger than the average B&B but is a quiet place nonetheless .Peter keeps thing running smoothly and made sure everyone had what they needed for a comfortable stay.
The place itself is within easy walking distance to all shops and restaurants and only 5 minutes for the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheryl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is a very interesting/quaint older restored hotel run by great people who were very helpful with luggage (no elevator). Close to restaurants and the really nice city park. We had a really large corner room on the top floor. Very quiet. Probably would be warm, though, in summer, no a/c. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Invercargill
Quest Invercargill
#2 of 12 in Invercargill
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
136 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beersheba Estate
Beersheba Estate
#3 of 15 in Invercargill
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Railway Hotel

Address: 3 Leven Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range: $91 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Railway Hotel of Invercargill, New Zealand, offers modern, stylish and comfortable hotel accommodation with a touch of old world charm. Victoria Railway Hotel is an Invercargill icon situated in the heart of the city with a NZ Historic Places Trust Category 1 Registration. The Victoria Railway Hotel offers you all the creature comforts of home as well as the extra care and attention you would expect from an executive hotel, complimented with a private lounge bar and restaurant. We provide a range of modern accommodation options from Standard Studios through to Executive Studios and VIP Suites. From the moment you enter our doors your needs are our priority. The little things we provide are what make a stay an unforgettable experience. As a family owned and operated business, we strive to ensure our guests have the most pleasant stay in Invercargill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Railway
Victoria Railway Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing