We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable Bed, Depressing Outlook.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Railway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its central location.
We received a warm welcome from the proprietor and he even carried my bag to the room which I appreciated as there is no lift. We had booked a standard double room as when I did the reservation there were no Executive doubles left. The room looked pleasant and was reasonably spacious, clean and well appointed. So what's not to like?
1. When we arrived, in daylight, the curtains were drawn which I thought was slightly odd. When we opened them we were looking onto the side of a really ugly concrete multi storey car parking building with cars parked at eye level only meters from our window. I know they can't help what's next door but how about some attempt at beautifying it? (Paint? Cladding?) It belongs to the City Council - surely they would help.
2. I read the room compendium which was probably a mistake. In it there are all these dire warnings about how sensitive the fire alarm system is and that it can be triggered by steam from the shower or allowing the kettle to boil too long. What's more, if you're "responsible" for "the fire engines coming" you will be charged $1200 + GST. I found this unacceptable. If the fire alarm system is really this sensitive then I would suggest that it is unfit for purpose. If it isn't really this sensitive and they are just trying to terrorise their guests then they succeeded and I won't be staying again.
3. The room had a double and single bed and we slept in the double. It was REALLY uncomfortable as it was very soft and really not designed for two people. I know, one of us could have slept in the single, but since this was the first night of a holiday to celebrate our 35th anniversary, it seemed wrong. I usually sleep very well, but I slept really badly that night.
When I checked out I was waiting for one of the proprietors to ask "how was your stay" and although they both had the opportunity neither of them did. Maybe they knew they'd dealt us a dud. If you go ahead and decide to stay here anyway, avoid room 19.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front. The view isn't pretty but at least you have an outlook.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwitraveller904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Railway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 204 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

We spent only one night in this hotel, because Invercargill has not a lot of source of entertainment for the tourist. It was just a stop within our trip. However we keep a very pleasant memory of this short experience. The reception et service were perfect, the rooms very comfortable with a well equiped bathroom, and the breakfast large enough. All that for a very reasonable price. We were surprised to be the only clients.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Where do I start ? Having stayed at the Railway Hotel before and enjoyed it we decided to stay again for our daughters wedding and recommended it to friends and family. They all loved it. We arrived a couple of days before the wedding to help with the preparations and set up of the venue and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Peter and Rose could not have been more helpfull, One of my jobs on the day was to arrange party snacks for the wedding party when they went off to have photo's taken. When I returned to the Hotel with my shopping bag of goodies Rose took it off me and returned with a wonderfully presented gourmet platter complete with chiller bag, all I had to do was add a couple of bottles of Champagne. Peter was on hand for all those little things we needed including shifting cars when we were away. On the Sunday our day of departure we had said that we wouldn't need breakfast we would have it out, however on finding that no where was open at 9 o'clock on a Sunday morning we returned to the Hotel and sheepishly asked if they could possibly supply us with a light breakfast both Peter and Rose rushed in to action and we were soon sitting down with tea, coffee and a continental breakfast. We couldn't have been better looked after had we stayed in a 5 star hotel and it was so much more friendly.
The hotel itself is beautifully restored and all the rooms are furnished differently, this hotel really is a credit to Invercargill and definately the place to stay when in town.
Again a huge thank you to Peter and Rose we arrived as guests and left as good friends. We will always return to this delightful hotel and recommend it to anyone staying in Invercargill.

Room Tip: Just ask Peter or Rose
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerryQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed two nights in this charming victorian hotel. Pete whisked our cases up two flights and from then on he and Rose had our every need cated for. We visited Stewart Island and there was no problem for an early breakfast. Our evening meal was abundant and delicious as was breakfast. We really loved staying with Rose and Pete which was definitely the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paihia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Victoria Railway Hotel is the best place to stay in Invercargill as the town is not inspiring. Interesting building in a sea of 1960's concrete. The owners were very friendly and helpful during our one night stopover.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid traffic noise.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with three other couples.
This is a typical old style hotel with all the charm and wear and tear that old pubs have. We found each of our rooms differently decorated with varying amounts of style.
I would advise to specifically ask for the type of room you would like. We had a very large bedroom with separate lounge area which was decorated in antique style, but overlooking a carpark. Friends had cramped 1960's style of rooms, and one couple chose to move rooms. Service from the owners was excellent - very friendly and the breakfasts were great - good variety of cereals, yoghurts etc and then cooked breakfast. Lots of stairs, so its not for the infirmed or immobile.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The service was great, the rooms very nicely appointed (Definitely go for the upstairs suites!), and warm and comfortable - and the atmosphere was great. Breakfast was generous, and we felt very 'victorian' in the surroundings and setting. (Now, about the weather ... !)

Room Tip: Upstairs is quaint and spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelHanscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Invercargill
Quest Invercargill
#2 of 12 in Invercargill
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
137 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beersheba Estate
Beersheba Estate
#3 of 15 in Invercargill
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Railway Hotel

Address: 3 Leven Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range: $92 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Railway Hotel of Invercargill, New Zealand, offers modern, stylish and comfortable hotel accommodation with a touch of old world charm. Victoria Railway Hotel is an Invercargill icon situated in the heart of the city with a NZ Historic Places Trust Category 1 Registration. The Victoria Railway Hotel offers you all the creature comforts of home as well as the extra care and attention you would expect from an executive hotel, complimented with a private lounge bar and restaurant. We provide a range of modern accommodation options from Standard Studios through to Executive Studios and VIP Suites. From the moment you enter our doors your needs are our priority. The little things we provide are what make a stay an unforgettable experience. As a family owned and operated business, we strive to ensure our guests have the most pleasant stay in Invercargill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Railway
Victoria Railway Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing