We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay place to stay for one night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Invercargill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quest Invercargill
Ranked #6 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Okay place to stay for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Always feels a bit strange when you walk into a place and a person emerges from the room behind reception with no other bodies in sight..... I have to say that our short stay in Invercargill ran along pretty similar lines. hotel was okay but basic and that was all we needed. Thank god for the free ride to the wonderful Cabbage Tree - see previous review.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    48
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
17
62
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Quest Invercargill was an unexpected surprise given its excellent quality at an amazing price. We booked at the last minute while on a road-trip and picked up an amazing rate for one night, staying in a club room 107 in this restored post office.

I've known the Quest brand from Australia, and this site certainly lives up to expectations: friendly staff and a high quality room, all in an amazing location. Sure Invercargill isn't that big, but we found nothing of this quality even close to the town centre. Parking was included, and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

I strongly recommend you take a look if you're in the area and looking for a place for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonButcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverell
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited Invercargill and based on reviews decided to stay at the Quest. At the start of the shopping strip and with lots of bars in walking distance it is in a good location. Such a pity the rooms do not live up to all the hype. We chose a one bed apt and noticed straight away how old the furniture was in the room. BUT, the worst part was the bathroom. When signing in at the front desk it was very obvious to the reception desk I was disabled. I have spinal injuries and find it hard to walk more than 100m. When were given our keys no mention was made to me that the bathroom would not be suitable nor was I asked about preference. When we arrived in the room all I wanted was a shower but noticed on entering the shower was over the bath and there was not one handle in sight, Thankfully my hubby who is my carer was able to assist but even then with the shower curtain not being long enough there was water all over the floor and he slipped and so did I. This was not a good start to our stay, but due to being tired after travelling for three hours we picked ourselves up and decided it would be best to catch up on some sleep. This was slightly difficult due to noise out in the street, we requested a room at the back but none were available which again was disappointing. I noticed that one reviewer said to request a studio room due to the fact they are more modern, I should have taken that advice. I am really keen to find out what the building was used for previous to being a hotel, if anyone knows I would love to hear about it.

Room Tip: Studio room is much better furnished than the one bed apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truckette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel was great!! They didn't actually have our booking registered when we arrived so after ten minutes of trying to fix it, they ended up upgrading us to a 1 bedroom apartment (instead of the studio we had), and also gave us a free bottle of really yummy wine!

The rooms were very nice and modern, complete with laundry facilities which was really helpful. The property was also in a great location, right on the main strip and heaps of shops and restaurants were easily accessible. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I spent two weeks here recently supporting a sick son who was in hospital, and the management couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. Quest is across the road from the bus stop, walking distance to the shops, and there are several good eating places, like Speights Ale House, up the road. I stayed initially in a one bedroom apartment, but then moved to a studio room which I thought was the nicer of the two.
My only negative observation is the the place needs a little brightening up furnishing-wise. The dark sombre sofas and black and white photos are a little off-putting. A touch of bright red or yellow or orange would bring a little cheer into the rooms, but this is just me being niggly.

Room Tip: See my comment above. Studio rooms are nicer IMO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Quest and found the room to be comfortable, clean and tidy. The 3 receptionists we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. I did find the clock chiming every 15 mins a little annoying, and also I had to ask for fresh towels as our room still wasn't serviced by 4pm the next day but otherwise was a good stay and good for what we needed. Good for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxyLoxy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a first time stay for me at this hotel. I wanted to try somewhere different in Invercargill and I was not disappointed. my flight was delayed so by the time I reached the hotel it was about 9.30pm and the external door was locked (the reception closes at 8pm). However, the intercom provided a prompt response and release of the door. The staff had left an envelope with my name welcoming me with introductory information.
The room I had (205) was spacious enough. A kitchenette at the room entrance for those who want these self help facilities. A leather couch for relaxing. I can't say I spent much time in my room but it was quite adequate.
What I enjoyed most was the location of the Quest. Immediately across the road was Thai Dee, a local Thai restaurant. And within 100 metres was a Speights Ale House bar and restaurant and Tuatara Café. Tuatara Café is a great option for breakfast.
The Quest has some character so you may well come across the odd squeaky floor board on the second floor. There are old sepia tone photographs on some walls depicting earlier days of Invercargill and Southland. And in the hall ways there are examples of local art.
The hotel has a parking lot adjacent. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill
#5 of 12 in Invercargill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Invercargill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Invercargill

Property: Quest Invercargill
Address: 10 Dee Street | Cnr Dee and Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Invercargill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Invercargill Serviced Apartments Hotel offers guests relaxed accommodation in the heart of Invercargill. The property is centrally located to the city centre, shops, cafes and restaurants, and is less than 5 km from Invercargill Airport. Free parking and free WiFi is included. Quest Invercargill offers hotel accommodation conveniently located to a range of landmarks including Invercargill Hospital, Southland Stadium, Teretonga Raceway Park and the Civic Theatre. We offers guests a range of modern, spacious and stylish studios, as well as one and two bedroom serviced apartments. The studios offer a kitchenette, and all other apartments have a fully equipped kitchen, separate bathroom with bath and laundry with washing machine and dryer. All offer free WiFi and SKY TV. Also available to all guests are gym passes to an offsite gym, breakfast options, valet dry cleaning, a pantry shopping service, and wheelchair access. There are also numerous excellent restaurants that offer charge back facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Quest Invercargill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Invercargill Hotel Invercargill
Quest Hotel Invercargill
Quest Invercargill South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing