We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night not enough!”
Review of Beersheba Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beersheba Estate
Ranked #2 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed for one night in the Tamarisk Room in late February and wish we could have stayed longer. The room was large, well furnished and equipped and very comfortable, with a patio door leading directly onto the large and secluded garden. Excellent breakfast. Mike and Anne were great hosts, friendly and helpful. A very good place to stay, convenient for the centre of Invercargill and for the south coast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadz, Owner at Beersheba Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Great to read your comments Colin. Hope you are having a fantastic spring in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 97 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and found the accommodation to be excellent. Mike and Anne our hosts were really friendly and helpful regarding what to do and see and where to eat. Our trip to Maple Glen at their suggestion was wonderful, beautiful gardens and birds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadz, Owner at Beersheba Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

So pleased you enjoyed your visit to Maple Glen.It is one of our favourite places to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at Beersheba in February and we can only say good things about our stay. Our room had fresh flowers on either side of the bed and in the bathroom. The room was very comfortable. The owners even rang and booked us a restaurant. Being that it was Valentines day we were lucky to get a booking at all, so that was much appreciated. The breakfast was really lovely and it was lovely conversing with the owners in the morning. We found our room very private and we had a beautiful outlook onto the garden. We would definitely stay here again should we be so lucky to return to Invercargill. Our hosts even gave us hugs when we left!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadz, Owner at Beersheba Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thanks Kerri for those kind words. Your review was very special.Hope you have eased back gently into Brisbane life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for one night at Beersheba and were absolutely delighted with the Tamarisk room which was very comfortable and spacious. Our hosts extended us a very warm welcome and were most helpful in assisting us to book dinner in Invercargill. Surrounded by acres of garden, Beersheba is a true oasis away from the madding crowd. Would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here if visiting Invercargill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadz, Owner at Beersheba Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thankyou for those positive comments. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ and will keep an eye out for you both the next time we watch Munster play!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Very pretty grounds, lovely rooms. Beautiful and well-maintained location. Unfortunately the estate is let down by its strangely unfriendly staff and managers. Customer service is a big part of overall experience, and the almost hostile manner of staff was unusual as well as disconcerting. If staff were trained properly I could see some real potential.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hello_sunshine_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadz, Owner at Beersheba Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

As a family business we absolutely pride ourselves on our customer service. We do all we can to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience at Beersheba. We do have a beautiful estate and we work hard to maintain this.

Therefore when there is behaviour that affects these high standards and threatens to negatively impact the experience of others, we will certainly address this behaviour.

We stand by the boundaries we felt were needed, to ensure your friend's wedding day was perfect for her and her guests.
We as a family are disappointed that the steps we took were percieved by you as being hostile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The weather in Invercargill was not pleasant during our one night there, so it is lucky that Beersheba was so comfortable and toasty warm. The room smelled of lavender, which I am sure helped me to get a very good nights sleep, along with it being so quiet. We had the tamarisk room which was a very good size, with a sitting area down a couple of stairs. Because of the weather we didn't have a chance to enjoy a walk in the gardens, but they certainly looked gorgeous from our room. Hosts were very friendly and helpful with dinner suggestions.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strudelgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in the cottage which is a lot more than a cottage. Quiet location, great furnishings, large living area with views to the beautiful gardens, large bedroom, full kitchen facilities and a large bathroom with double spa bath. We were a bit concerned when we first arrived as the first view we had was of corrugated iron but on opening the door it was like walking into a different world. Perfect! Well, the hosts, Mike and Anne made it perfect answering any questions we had, filling the wood basket for the tile fire, even lighting the tile fire one afternoon so that when we arrived home cold and a bit wet, the cottage was warm and cosy. The cottage doesn't have Cable TV so Anne even let us watch some Test cricket in her own lounge area. Now that's going above and beyond! Also, the Wifi worked exceptionally well. We'd recommend Beersheba cottage to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swaniesperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
383 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
325 reviews
3.2 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Invercargill
50 reviews
3.0 mi away
Safari Lodge
Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Invercargill
56 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beersheba Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beersheba Estate

Address: 58 Millton Park Road, Invercargill 9871, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range: $125 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beersheba Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beersheba is located in a quiet semi-rural location on the outskirts of Invercargill. The house is surrounded by landscaped gardens and ponds. The guest rooms and the cottage are created to meet the needs of the discerning traveller. Guests are provided with a platter on arrival and a gourmet breakfast in the morning. The cottage can be booked at cheaper self-contained rate, if guests wish.Swimming pool available for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Beersheba Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beersheba Estate Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing