We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southland's secret”
Review of Beersheba Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beersheba Estate
Ranked #2 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A delightful haven to recharge your batteries. The accommodation is first class and hospitality offered by Michael and Anne was outstanding. They were very helpful in telling us about what was of offer in the area. The gardens at Beersheba are also splendid. Our expectations were truly met.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 98 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Recenty we stayed at 'BEERSHEBA' boutique accommodation on the outskirts of Invercargill, as it was an unplanned trip & our preferred accommodation was booked out.

I found 'Beersheba' online and booked and paid in full for the accommodation before we travelled, we picked it because it was marketed as a private/self-contained style accommodation.

The accommodation itself was modern and comfortable, but the managers/owners of the property were not only unprofessional, but also lacked common sense and respect for privacy.

On arrival to the accommodation, we were warned by them that a 'service person' would possibly be conncecting/fixing the internet and might need to come into our room in the morning to get the internet working, we had no problems with that as we would be in the accommodation in the morning anyway.

The next morning came and passed and we waited for the person, so we could give them access to the room, and we had not seen or heard anything about the serive person coming to deal with the internet, so we locked up the accommodation and carried on with our day.

So imagine our shock and surprise when we arrived back to the accommodation in the middle of the afternoon, to find a 'trades person' in our bedroom, by our luggage, with his head popping up from the bedside cabinet!!!!

We questioned the managements decision to let a 'service person' into our accommodation without us being there and without our concent when we're away from the room, while our belongings were unsecured in the room!!!! In turn, the owner/operator quickly offered us a refund and told us to find alternative accommodation, as she saw no problems or implications in their decision.

Her ignorance in thinking it was ok to let people into our room to do whatever they wanted while our belongings were unsecured, amazed us!!!!

Clearly they have never watched an eposide of 'Target'!!!!!

Why the 'internet problem' couldn't get fixed while the accommodation was vacant, rather than occupied, was probably beyond them to comprehend.

And for the wife/owner/manager to so quickly get on the defensive about the situation, demand we take a refund and find alternative accommodation for the night, lead us to think that these 'situations' happen often at 'Beersheba'!!!!!!

And if it wasn't for having our newborn baby with us on the trip, we would not have been so diplomatic and voiced our disgust at the owners, packed up our belongings and left, but we were stuck with needing to stay the night as we had no intentions of travelling to altnernative accommodation as most of the decent accommodation in Invercargill was booked up for the night, and we were not going to travel home through the night with a newborn baby!

Their professionalism and common sense was definitely lacking! As even after the husband/owner understood our frustration and apologised to us about letting the man into our room, and ithe issues with the situation, and even giving us our nights accommodation paid back to us for any stress caused, when we checked out the next morning, giving back their money, as we saw no need to take a free night stay, the husband then had the nerve and/or ignorance to again bring it all up and say that the issues was our doing and we should seek help with our attitudes, and the way we reacted!!!!!

After he apologised for their poor management decision making the day before and offered us a refund....suddenly it was our fault and wrong doing!!! Unbelivable customer service!

So again.....if you value your privacy, and want your belongings safe while travelling, and enjoy good/honest customer service....DO NOT STAY at Beersheba, Invercargill, New Zealand!

To the owners/operators of 'Beersheba' Invercargill, I hope you read our review of our stay....and YOU 'seek help' with your attitudes to how you treat paying customers and how you run a business!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadz, Owner at Beersheba Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We love hosting guests from all over the world here at Beersheba. Our core values are honesty,professionalism and integrity.
Anne and I believe we are always open to guest feedback.The reason the telecommunications engineer needed to work in 'The Cottage' was in response to a guest's review about patchy wireless connection.
As you can read in the review we made every attempt to ensure that our guests left ,having had a good experience but all offers were rejected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a wonderful gem in Invercargill. This would have to be the best place to stay in town-so far above the rest of the offerings in Invercargill. Anne & Mike were excellent hosts and the cottage was amazing-could've stayed for a week! It had everything you could want and we loved it. Would definitely recommend this as the place to stay.

Room Tip: The cottage is a romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_pair24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a lovely oasis during our three-week trip around South Island! We had a two-night stay while visiting Bluff and Stewart Island. Owners Anne and Michael (and their chocolate lab!) were so gracious and made us feel like family. Their home and gardens are set on 11 acres and are spacious and beautiful. We enjoyed visiting with them during the most ample breakfasts they prepared in their very large kitchen and family room. The attention to detail in our room and en suite bathroom was incredible (where else do you find fresh lavender on the hand towels?). We did not choose to stay in the cottage but had a very spacious room in the main house with its own step-down lounge/TV area with doors opening onto the lawn and garden. We wish we could have taken a day out of our ambitious itinerary and lingered there longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poguelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Anne greeted us as we arrived along with a very happy chocolate Labrador who was equally pleased to see us. We'd had quite a drive so it was just perfect we feel relaxed almost immediately. Tea and yummy Afghan biccies were most welcome. The room looking onto the fabulous garden was top notch. The house had an informality which made it feel we were staying with friends.
Breakfast was delicious and Anne and Hubbie sat down with us to sip coffee and chat about our day ahead. Reluctantly we had to move on after just 1 night but can't recommend this little gem highly enough. Thanks Ron and Gillian Oxfordshire UK

Room Tip: All perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having arrived at the cottage and been travelling since leaving the UK on the 29th of January i can safely say this is the most comfortable and mostly homely cottage we have stayed in since our travells began.
Both Anne and Mike were very friendly and very helpful advising us of places to visit, one of them being Maple Glen Gardens which is stunning and well worth a visit.
The cottage is situated in its own private gardens a wonderful place to just 'kick back' as they say in New Zealand.
The little touches that most women notice and men don't, like fresh lavender laid on the towels fresh roses and candels provided to set the mood. A wonderful comfy bed awaits you after a dip in the fantastic spa bath.
Anne even went to the trouble of providing us with some eggs and bread for our breakfast and making up a big roaring fire so the cottage was lovely and warm upon our return.
We originally only booked in for one night and ended up staying for two what more can i say. apart from THANK YOU Ged and Tina. Yorkshire.UK

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaandGedAdamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We only stayed one night in the bungalow at Beersheba, but it was a haven on our journey. You know how you get to the point on a five week holiday where you need to sort everything out? Well this was it for us before we sub-packed for a trip to Stewart Island. The tranquility of the garden calmed us, and we suddenly realised that we were in a very well appointed and decorated bungalow, everything we needed, comfy beds, great bathroom, oodles of space. Phew....relax, enjoy.

Delightful hosts, jolly good breakfast, all we needed by way of hints for things to see, and sunshine. Beersheba certainly deserves its number one spot in Invercargill

Room Tip: The bungalow is worth the extra for sheer indulgence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archaeologyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
394 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
331 reviews
3 mi away
Safari Lodge
Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Invercargill
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Invercargill
50 reviews
3.2 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
207 reviews
3.8 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beersheba Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beersheba Estate

Address: 58 Millton Park Road, Invercargill 9871, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range: $128 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beersheba Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beersheba is located in a quiet semi-rural location on the outskirts of Invercargill. The house is surrounded by landscaped gardens and ponds. The guest rooms and the cottage are created to meet the needs of the discerning traveller. Guests are provided with a platter on arrival and a gourmet breakfast in the morning. The cottage can be booked at cheaper self-contained rate, if guests wish.Swimming pool available for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Beersheba Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beersheba Estate Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing