We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, comfort and a warm welcome”
Review of Beersheba Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beersheba Estate
Ranked #3 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The accommodation is in a beautiful setting on the outskirts of Invercargill. Mike and Anne gave us a very warm welcome and, as the weather looked promising for the following day, Anne made the reservation for us on the ferry to Stewart Island. This was the one trip we really hoped to make during our brief stay near the town, and a fantastic day it turned out to be. The Magnolia room was extremely comfortable and the grounds were spectacular, including the sculptures. Another highlight on our seven week trip around New Zealand.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrettonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Beersheba Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 96 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed in the Cottage.

I was a bit worried before we arrived since Invercargill didn't seem the most likely place to get quality accommodation, especially at the price, but I was so wrong.

The cottage is modern, clean, comfortable and quite luxurious. The kitchen has everything you might want in the way of modern appliances and the spa bath is to die for. The owner was friendly and helpful and just to top off a perfect stay - the sun came out. We spent a lovely few hours soaking up the afternoon sun in the private and very large garden.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We only stayed here for one night but were made to feel very much part of the family. The house and gardens are lovely and you are sure to get a companion to explore them in the form of Ella or True! The room was very comfortable with a great seating area. On arrive Anne produced some delicious freshly baked shortbread to accompany our cup of tea which we drank on the sunny patio. Anne also recommended somewhere to eat in the evening and rang to check they would be open for us. The breakfast was fantastic with a large choice to select from. Thank you Anne and Mike for our short but great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

You really are made to feel at home and even part of the family at the lovely Beersheba Lodge.
Warm, comfortable and homely despite the raging gale ouside which resulted in power cuts at breakfast, coped with by Mike & Anne without batting an eyelid!
You need to drive into town (about 4kms) for meals since the nearby Ascot Hotel has nothing to recommend it! The lodge is in lovely well maintained grounds and Mike still keeps a few sheep to remind him of his sheep farming days.
We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return some day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the cottage at Beersheba at the start of the rugby world cup. Cottage is very nice, cosy and private being 30m from the main house. The gardens around the house and cottage are exceptiona - probably the best I've seen in a private house. The breakfasts are fab and Mike and Anne are perfect hosts - they even organised a piper for us the morning after the Scotland v Romania match!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Beersheba is the perfect place and Anne and Michael wonderful hosts. Their warm welcome (and great tail wagging from Ella and True!) made us feel at home straight away. Our en suite room was cosy and very well appointed – oh so comfortable bed, a fridge, kettle, a great selection of teas, coffees plus nice little extras like fruit and homemade shortbread and biscuits which appeared daily! Sliding doors led onto a deck area where you could sit in peace and quiet and watch the birds and admire the lovely gardens. It's a tranquil haven. Anne and Michael couldn't do enough for you and were so kind and helpful. Scrumptious breakfasts! We felt like friends not guests. We can't praise Beersheba highly enough and would thoroughly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallivantingall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed one night, and it was our best stay in NZ. The cottage was great, comfortable & very romantic. Mike & Anne were very warm & friendly, made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlgmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
377 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
320 reviews
3.2 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Invercargill
49 reviews
3.0 mi away
Safari Lodge
Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Invercargill
56 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Rouge Bed and Breakfast
Villa Rouge Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 15 in Invercargill
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beersheba Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beersheba Estate

Address: 58 Millton Park Road, Invercargill 9871, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range: $113 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beersheba Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beersheba is located in a quiet semi-rural location on the outskirts of Invercargill. The house is surrounded by landscaped gardens and ponds. The guest rooms and the cottage are created to meet the needs of the discerning traveller. Guests are provided with a platter on arrival and a gourmet breakfast in the morning. The cottage can be booked at cheaper self-contained rate, if guests wish.Swimming pool available for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beersheba Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beersheba Estate Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing