We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, 'solid' value for an overnight family stay”
Review of Monarch Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monarch Motel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Good accommodation, if a little basic. Very clean, spacious and coupled to friendly service made this a pleasant stay at the southern most city in NZ.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrishwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 90 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

Owners very helpful and friendly. Gave good advice on where to eat. Very helpful when I had trouble connecting to wifi, but it worked fine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to review the Monarch Motel.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you are able to return again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The motel room was very clean and well presented. We were to stay in a double room but were upgraded to a very large family room which was a pleasant suprise. The owners were very helpful and nice to deal with. It is a bit out of town however Invercagill is pretty spread out. A short walk to the hotel down the road for a god meal. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantTaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel.
We appreciate your positive comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We would love for you to stay again if you are ever in Invercargill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at the Monarch Motel on a trip we recently took where we stayed at 4 other motels. Monarch was easily the best motel - it was clean, reasonably priced and had great decor. We would definitely stay there again. We inadvertantly paid twice - once when booking and again at the motel. They promptly contacted us and returned the overpayment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a little away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to place feedback. Your positive comments are much appreciated, we hope you are able to return to the Monarch Motel,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Motel easy to find on Tay street, rooms are well set back from road which is good as not much road noise at all! Very friendly staff at check in, we got a top floor room as requested. Laundry available and very cheap. Free wifi in the rooms too as well as flat screen tv with some sky channels. Large bathroom area and kitchenette with fridge and microwave. Nice gardens outside too they obviously take good care of their motel. Rooms spacious and clean - would definitely stay here again a real gem! 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place such a positive review.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Though many people don't see anything special in Invercargill, I really liked the city (the Water Tower is pretty charming, and the Queen's Park is wonderful!). And choose Monarch Motel to stay was a wise choice. The owners are extremely helpful and polite, and the rooms are very comfortable. It's a bit far from the city centre, but Invercargillis almost has no ups and downs, so is an easy and pleasant walk. And the owner even gave me a lift to the airport, which lies on the other side of the city! I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manticora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Thank you for your positive review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time in Invercargill & at the Monarch Motel.
It was a pleasure to host you & we hope that you are able to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I recently spent a few weeks at the Monarch motel. It was a business trip researching a move to Invercargill. I cannont offer enough praise of the rooms, cost, location and most importantly the quality of service and friendly service from Karl and Kerry Mariu. It does look a little dated outside, But, everyroom is renovated to a high standard. Karl has done a great job. I would recommend this motel to anyone needing accomodation in Invercargill. I will not stay anywhere else. Oh and I will be moving my business to Invercargill, its a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you Tony for your positive review. It was our pleasure to host you & we look forward to meeting you again when you return to Invercargill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
347 reviews
1.9 mi away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#7 of 33 in Invercargill
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#13 of 33 in Invercargill
67 reviews
1.1 mi away
295 on Tay Motel
295 on Tay Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Motel

Address: 633 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#11 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: $81 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monarch Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If outstanding service and inviting surroundings set in a park-like location are what you're looking for, then experience a little bit of Southern Hospitality with your hosts Karl & Kerry Mariu at the Monarch Motel. With 22 spacious units available, the Monarch Motel suits the corporate traveller or those planning to base themselves in the South while visiting the Catlins, Stewart Island, Riverton, Queenstown & Te Anau. Relax in our Sauna & Spa pool at the end of your busy day. Situated on State Highway 1, just a short walk to Stadium Southland/ Cycling Velodrome, Surrey Park sports facilities, Ascot Park raceway & convention centre. We have clean, modern facilities designed with you in mind. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monarch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Motel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing