We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectation”

The Saucy Chef on St Andrew
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
195 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not up to expectation”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten at The Saucy Chef soon after it opened we thought we would try it again.

Unfortunately both the service and the food were not up to scratch.

The staff didn't seem to know what they were doing with lots of "running around" and meals being delivered to wrong tables. They tried to give us another tables dessert before we had even placed our food orders.

Meals were generally over cooked with the Duck, Sizzler and Venison being the worst.

The chicken salad had deep fried chicken, which was a surprise!

Helpful?
Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    87
    32
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, brilliant food”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The flavours of the food ordered was lovely, three starters were tried. Gnocchi which was light and tasty, pork belly which came with crispy crackling and juicy meat, and salt and pepper battered squid which was smoothly cooked.

The mains were equally tasty. The person serving wine was aware when out glass was empty and quick to find out if we wished for more drinks (we did).

A pleasant atmosphere for dining in.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The shine has worn off”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We ate here a few months ago and the food and service were both good, but tonight was a different story.

Initially we ordered cocktails - my wife can't have anything with pips in it, so she ordered a blackberry drink which said it contained Chambord, white rum and lime juice. It arrived, and had muddled raspberries in it as well - when she pointed out that it didn't say it had raspberries the waitress said she'd look into it, came back to say of course it had berries, it was a berry drink. Ok, fine, but it didn't say that and we thought the Chambord was the berry component. The waitress came back again and said that Chambord was a raspberry liquor, not blackberry, and she could even bring the bottle over to show us. We had already said that we would pay for it anyway, but this waitress just wouldn't let it go, and gave us the overly-happy-but-sarcastic treatment for the rest of the evening.

To the food. For an entrée I ordered the gnocci. I had this a couple of months ago and it was an absolute delight, light pillows of goodness. This time it was a bit dense, and a larger serving than I'd expect. My wife had the squid, and it was quite rubbery and had a bizzare aftertaste that even the Thai sauce couldn't cure.

Mains - I had the southern chicken. It was nice - the flavours in the coating were good if slightly sweet and the potato and gravy was good, but the chicken itself was very dry. My wife had the pork, and again it was dry, didn't have crackling and the beans and pork itself smelt of LPG - it had been flamed. By this time Little Ms Sarcastic had worn us down so we didn't bother to complain.

Finally, for desert we shared the baked Alaska. This is where the waitress managed to outdo herself with sarcasm. She reached over me to place the cutlery (there was plenty of space around to just walk to the other side), and brought it out with a chirpy "who's going to start." What kind of a question is that! As for the dish, the sorbet and cake part was nice but the meringue wasn't cooked - instead of crispy on the outside and fluffy inside it was rubbery on the outside and uncooked beaten eggwhite on the inside.

All up we were very disappointed with both the food and the service. This restaurant had so much promise, and I know the manager (who wasn't on the night we went) has been working hard to get things right. On this occasion her staff let her down badly, and I doubt that we will be back for a long time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank arj-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We dined as a group (12 adults) on a Saturday night. I was impressed by how friendly and helpful the staff were from the person who greeted us and showed us to our table to the people serving our drinks. The menu had something suitable for us all and had a wide choice of food. All 12 meals arrived in good time so we could eat together which is important. And it was great tasting food well presented. Another good point it was not noisy like some restaurants so we didn't have to shout across the table. We would definitely dine here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisonInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Nice food in nice new dining area.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have had a couple of meals here and found the meals good if a little over priced.The drinks bill was a bit over the top.I support the ILT but don't want to own it.If itis just a quick meal you want try the Bar meals in the Public Bar.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KIWIKEITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saucy Chef on St Andrew also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Saucy Chef on St Andrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing