We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hospitality”
Review of Tower Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tower Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dalby, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband was taken from Queenstown hospital to Invercargill hospital, and when I arrived on bus Ray was there to collect and welcome me, sorted luggage, and then took me to Hospital. They absolutely saw to my every requirement , took me to the hospital each morning (10 days), and before my husband came from hospital they suggested I change out of small studio room to larger one as they thought he would be more comfortable which was certainly the case, (and we had cooking facilities in larger room etc). It is a small complex but beautifully maintained, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again and recomend to other people, and as I was there for alot the time by myself I felt very safe. Guest laundry facilities AND a cloths line if preferred to dryer! This is very rare.

Room Tip: The complex is a single storey one, in straight line and the morning sun was just glorious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen-stagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    57
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
158
19
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked by phone after discovering Dunedin was very busy with some sporting events. The hosts could not have been more helpful including providing advice on driving to Invercargill. The rooms were very clean, tidy and comfortable.
Cannot think of a single issue. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C_Windy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Would like to thank Dawn and Ray (The Hosts) for great hospitality and helpful demeanor. Made us feel very comfortable and arranged all the reservations for sight seeing (the next day being a good Friday, it was tricky). The motel is not very big but maintained to detail, clean and functional. A full kitchen available in the units although we were asked to not cook "curries" as it leaves a lingering smell. We had no plans to cook in the room anyway so didn't bother but might be a consideration for someone planning to prepare flavorsome food.Good location, walking distance to CBD (15min) and next to the Queen's park. The hosts will drop you off to anywhere in the city free of cost if you so desire.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escapebeat_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Being asked to find accommodation elsewhere by Kew Hospitals NICU unit, I found myself welcomed and looked after at Tower Lodge. Aside from being quiet and peaceful place to stay, the managers catered for me when I returned late from being at the hospital by turning on lights and heater on the cold spring nights and even asking what cookies I'd like with my cup of tea.

They made me feel really welcome considering I came and went so often during several periods of stay. They always kept a room free even when I didn't know I was going to stay or not some nights, I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. If I return to Invercargil, this will be my first port of call, even just to pop in and show my gratitude.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HnG98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a great place to stay! Lovely quiet clean comfortable unit, tastefully decorated with all the necessary conveniences. Parking right outside your door. Close to the amazing historic water tower across the road and a short walk to Queens Park which is worth checking out. Helpful, pleasant moteliers. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntipodeanGenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in March, had a great welcome and some good advise about looking around Invercargill. The room was clean and plenty of room with a separate bedroom.
The park was just across the road but had to go the long way around to get to it as the road outside the motel was being remade.

Room Tip: If travelling shortly ask for a room near the back due to road construction out the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandAMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed two nights here in February. The owners were very welcoming, and offered good advice about where to eat and what to see in Invercargill. The room was spacious and well-equipped, with a separate bedroom. The park is just across the road and is well worth a visit - the gardens are amazing for a public park. To be fair, there is not a great number of things to do in Invercargill, but we thought it was a very nice place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Lodge Motel

Property: Tower Lodge Motel
Address: 119 Queens Drive, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Green Hotel in Invercargill
#2 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#2 Best Value Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tower Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Emily offer true Southern Hospitality in comfortable surroundings at the Tower Lodge Motel, Invercargill. Centrally located and just a few minutes walk from everywhere, including the city centre, Queens Gardens, golf courses, swimming pool, sports facilities and the home of Southland rugby - Homestead Stadium. Honeymoon Suite, units with private courtyard, spa bath units and wheelchair access. Studio units (sleep 2), 1-bedroom units (sleep 4), 2-bedroom units (sleep 5). Cots and highchairs available. DVD & flat-screen TV in most units. Courtesy vehicle by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tower Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Lodge Motel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing