We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Tower Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tower Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed two nights here in February. The owners were very welcoming, and offered good advice about where to eat and what to see in Invercargill. The room was spacious and well-equipped, with a separate bedroom. The park is just across the road and is well worth a visit - the gardens are amazing for a public park. To be fair, there is not a great number of things to do in Invercargill, but we thought it was a very nice place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 331 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Most welcoming hosts we couldn't have asked for better service. The cleanest motel room we have ever stayed in. Excellent decor well fitted out and everything that you could possibly need. We were on motorbikes and like an earlier review we were offered the garage for overnight storage and use of anything we needed for any maintenance jobs! Ray and Dawn couldn't have done enough for us, offering advice on places to visit, eat and even to drive us there. First class and value for money too. A well deserved excellent rating here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love this town with its beautiful gardens and fabulous museum. This is a return visit to the Tower Lodge and we felt welcome as nothing is too much for its owners. It is clean and has good overall comfort although our couch was showing its age ( ie not so comfy or suppotive). We stayed in a family unit and the owners were most helpful providing an electric frypan as the bbq wasn't readily available. On booking in there is one quirky habit - you are given one packet of biscuits between 2 people but they are a lovely quality. Yes, we would return. If you travel down to Bluff, visit the local fish and chip shop and try the wonderful blue cod.

Room Tip: There are road works outside on the main road but this does not cause disturbance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BendigoJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were just passing through Invercargill and so were looking for somewhere to stay for a night.

The room was incredibly spacious, clean and well appointed (including a full stove and oven - which had we been staying there for longer would have been excellent).

The location is excellent - plenty of places to eat within a short walk, and if you want to explore the town centre, it's a very comfortable 15 - 20 minutes on foot.

The manager we're super helpful and friendly; in short we'd definitely stay there again.

As a foot note, at the time of our visit there were some pretty serious roadworks that required a little navigation to find the "back door" into the lodge, but it was sign-posted (good idea to have a decent map with you if you are there in the next week or two).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Accommodation and service of a very high standard, a very clean and comfortable room, got direction for a good dinner restaurant, and was not disappointed. Most helpful owner operator, a delight to stay there. Highly Recommended, better book in advance!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PolarbearSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Difficult to miss this motel opposite the unusual water tower landmark. The owners were very welcoming and a mine of local information. They have very high standards in every department and we wanted for nothing. They directed us to a very good restaurant within walking distance; also within walking distance, there is an exceptionally good park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Tower Lodge Motel and the friendly helpful service I received. The rooms are very clean, well maintained, and within walking distance to downtown. I would definitely stay here again.

Dawn went the extra mile and helped me plan my trip to Stewart Island. She made the ferry reservations, motel reservations, and contacted a water taxi to arrange for transport to Ulva Island, Thanks Dawn!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
141 reviews
3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Lodge Motel

Address: 119 Queens Drive, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Green Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#2 Best Value Hotel in Invercargill
#2 Business Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: $88 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tower Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Emily offer true Southern Hospitality in comfortable surroundings at the Tower Lodge Motel, Invercargill. Centrally located and just a few minutes walk from everywhere, including the city centre, Queens Gardens, golf courses, swimming pool, sports facilities and the home of Southland rugby - Homestead Stadium. Honeymoon Suite, units with private courtyard, spa bath units and wheelchair access. Studio units (sleep 2), 1-bedroom units (sleep 4), 2-bedroom units (sleep 5). Cots and highchairs available. DVD & flat-screen TV in most units. Courtesy vehicle by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tower Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Lodge Motel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing