We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option”
Review of Tuatara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tuatara Lodge
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Nice, warm and clean hostel. The kitchen is large enough for everyone to cook and the rooms are comfortable.
The hostel is quite and has a parking if you are travelling with a car. Showers are clean with hot water. 100% recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huasobelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 99 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a group of four and stayed in a 4bed dorm. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room clean and the mattresses extraordinarily comfortable...without the well known springs up your back.
The hostel is quite big, the kitchen and dining area can get a bit chilly this time of the year, just like the bathrooms. Still the showers are powerful and the water nice and hot.
The location is perfect, very central and every bar/pub in Invercargill in walking distance. Saying that it can get a bit noisy on the weekends with the Speights Ale pub being just next door.
There's a cafe in the hostel with nice food and very good coffee.
There's parking facilities just around the corner and it's usually free over night.
Overall I think it's a really nice hostel with the average price for Nz hostels. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

You made delicious scrambled eggs and coffee but the whole experience was marred by the smell of burning insense. No one wants
To smell that when they are eating. It's too strong. Also, turn on a heater! It was freezing cold. We all had to put our jackets back on!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Just spent a night here with a group - felt like an office block, we were all on different floors so meant alot of walking up and down stairs. Only one oven working in the kitchen - hopeless when there were so many people trying to cook. Not enough cutlery in the draws and just enough plates - if you know you are going to have lots of people - then stock up. No one checked or cleaned kitchen at the end of the night (even though responsbility of people staying - you would think that a staff member would check). Staff were pretty unhelpful. Best thing - free Wifi!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Counter staff were not very attentive or polite. Price was reasonable. Rooms were clean but felt very much like a converted office block. Bunk rooms were decent size. Beds were okay. Foyer was eclectic and messy. Common room had broken furniture but had a few comfy couches.

Cafe downstairs was great! Food and coffee was delicious! Would definitely go back to the cafe, probably not to stay at the lodge though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed for one night on our way to Queenstown from Dunedin. The room was a bit dirty, one of the curtains was lying on the floor when we checked in. The place seemed deserted. The Tv room had no TV!
The staff were ok except for whoever was working in the cafe on the groundfloor that decided to blast the Yeah Yeah Yeahs at 7am.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gr87_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night while passing through Invercargill. Was an OK hostel overall. Very clean and well located and with free WiFi, but the staff were pretty miserable, the room was tiny, the kitchen was spartan and had no mugs, and the WiFi was fairly slow. If you are just staying 1 night then its a good option, but if you are staying longer, definitely look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayneKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
402 reviews
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
295 on Tay Motel
295 on Tay Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Tayesta
Comfort Inn Tayesta
#19 of 33 in Invercargill
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuatara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuatara Lodge

Address: 30 - 32 Dee Street, Invercargill, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range: $40 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuatara lodge has recently undertaken new ownership ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tuatara Lodge Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing