We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birchwood Manor Motel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The location is very central to the city, super markets close for travellers.David and Sue are fantastic friendly and helpful hosts.The room was spotless and the bed , well I wish I could have taken it home slept like a log.Hope to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lear69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for writing a review after your 1 night stay with us.We are delighted you enjoyed our great facilities and especially pleased that you enjoyed the bed and had such a great sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 150 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

We are so glad we decided to look at this place too after checking out a few other hotels right in Downtown as this had high reviews. The older couple that ran this place were great hosts and very helpful. They gave us the choice of a lovely Studio room with a King Bed or a great single bedroom. We went with the studio and loved it. A wonderful bathroom, kitchenette with microwave, fridge, a little dining area, flat screen TV and a big comfy bed.
They also provided us some free wifi and could buy more as needed. Laundry facilities on site. The garden outside was full of colorful flowers including roses. They guided us to some great restaurants in town and to the Queens Park with the rose garden to go check out. We absolutely loved the place. Hope to go there again.

Room Tip: We took a room on the top floor with a private view out back to a garden but all rooms there seem gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Invercargill.It is great to get such positive feed back about your visit to Invercargill and its lovely park and surroundings.However we are especially pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Birchwood Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Well, after staying at some sub-standard disabled accommodation, I found Birchwood to be a breath of fresh air. Let me explain, the bed height is awesome (so many have beds that are 12 inches from the floor), the toilet and wet areas are also very good with hand basin and mirror at a great height, shower is totally usable (only complaint is too much water, so a smaller shower head maybe better), basin is good height, allowing a wheelchair to get underneath, and mirror is right there at a good level. The whole unit has heaps of room, so a wheelchair has no problem at all navigating around this area.
Now for the owners, Sue and David, they are spectacular, offering every assistance that one could ask for. When we arrived, they gave us a special carpark in their own area, and David also helped my wife to unload the car. We have travelled the length of New Zealand and never found hosts that are so very helpful, please take this review as a personal recommendation to stay at this motel. Thanks Sue and David, you are totally awesome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevdarev56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood Manor in February so enjoyable and that the facilities were so much to your liking.
It was our pleasure to meet you we feel honoured to recieve such accolades from a happy couple as you travelled around NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Good size unit with basic cooking facilities - ample for an on the move traveller. Clean and spacious unit. Our hosts were helpful and friendly - reasonable location close to the supermarket. Close to the main road but no traffic noise. Would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim01253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood Manor and found the place quiet and comfortable.We would love to have you back agiain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very spacious room with 2 rocking chairs and dining table, with a private view out onto a pretty garden. From reception to the cleaner everyone was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were quiet and the motel had a laundry room. This accommodation is right opposite a supermarket. We only stay 1 night but will return next time in Inercargill.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKain59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thanks for your review.
It is pleasing for us to get positive feed back and we appreciate you taking the time to post a comment.
We are delighted that you had a relaxing experience here and enjoyed our comfortable spacious rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We selected Birchwood Manor at random when we drove into Invercargill. We found the hosts David and Sue so helpful. David gave us all the information we needed to visit Stewart Island and he did all our bookings. The motel was clean and well equipped and very handy to everything. Following our trip to Stewart Island we returned and stayed another night. We recommend Birchwood Manor thoroughly and would return without hesItance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for giving us a great review.
We were delighted that you returned for a second stay after your trip to Stewart Island.
We look forward to meeting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Excellent accomodation.
Very spacious room.
Large bed.
Two comfortable chairs and dining table.
Unit had normal bath and shower but spa baths available.
Very warm rooms, didn't even need to put heater on and it was 6 degrees one night.
Stayed two nights.
Good parking and very quiet even being on a busy road.
Friendly owners.
Free wifi.
Close to cbd.
Thanks for the great stay, cheers.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for spending a little time to put your review on for us.
We are very appreciative and delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us at Birchwood Manor.
We look forward to meeting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Manor Motel

Address: 189 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#13 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: $87 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central City Motel Apartment Accommodation Invercargill. 15 Spacious units with all facilities, some with spas. Central city location on Tay St close to all facilities incl sport & cultural venues. Southland hospitality on Southern Scenic route. Perfect for business travellers, family and holiday makers. With amenities such as high speed wireless internet, fully equipped kitchens in each motel unit, private balconies and much more - you're guaranteed a great stay here. Book online securely and enjoy the knowledge and expertise of our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Birchwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Manor Motel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing