We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Motel in Invercargill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birchwood Manor Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Birchwood Manor Motel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Motel in Invercargill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Birchwood for 5 nights in January 2013 with our race team whilst competing at Teretonga. Very friendly owners where nothing was a problem, rooms good and beds comfortable. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Napier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for review of your stay with us at Birchwood Manor.
We enjoyed having you with us and trust the rest of your trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    36
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
64
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

David and Sue are good tourism professionals but haven't lost friendliness and availability.
Their motel is very quiet indeed and grounds were flourishing with all colour roses.
Our appartment was very spacious and comfortable and exceptionnally clean.
Thank you again for an impromptu stay that allowed us to get a very positive feel of Invercargill, as a town and a community.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pascale_delos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review for your stay at Birchwood Manor.
It is certainly our pleasure to host such positive guests.
We enjoyed your visit and look forward to meeting again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were here on an overnight transit stay prior taking flight to Stewart Island the morning after, and I chose this motel based on many common guests-stay responses, and its proximity to Countdown Supermarket, which is right across the street.
We were initially recommended Busters Crab by Sue but when we reached, the restaurant was filled to the brim. Not knowing what is the next best option, we drove back to seek Sue & David help. They tried calling several popular dining options and it seemed on that Saturday night, all residents of Invercargill had come out to patronise all dining or bar joints.
From the persevering effort, they found us an irish Pub Waxy Shea's for a dinner dining option.

David even kindly agreed to store our heavy luggages in their garage as we went on to Stewart Island for next leg of trip - as there is a limited baggage allowance onboard the flight. As we returned back to Birchwood Manor to collect our luggages, grateful emotions spill-over our normal reserved self and for one brief moments, the photographs we had taken together kinda make us feel that David & Sue are more than just motel operators, they exude the renowned Kiwi hospitality and charm which endeared many overseas travellers.

Room Tip: Depending on the luggages you are carrying, it is advisable to stay on the ground floor if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emersonlou9285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
It was great meeting you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood Manor.
It certainly was our pleasure to host you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Invercargill and the deep south.
We look forward to meeting you again,perhaps on your next visit to Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Birchwood Manor during our holiday from Western Australia. Our hosts were warm, friendly, considerate and very accommodating. They went out of their way to help us send paperwork back to Australia concerning the sale of a property that unexpectedly happened when we were in Invercargill. Just fantastic.

Their rooms are spacious, clean and have excellent amenities and a very comfortable bed. The location of Birchwood Manor is within a comfortable walking distance to everything you need as a holidaymaker, but removed from the noise of the city.

We highly recommend Birchwood Manor, its comfort, its security and, above all, the warmth of its owners.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your very positive review.
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at Birchwood Manor and to be able to assist with business papers.
We would look forward to having you stay with us again if you make another trip to Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed in a number of places in Invercargill but I keep coming back to Birchwood. Dave and Sue make you feel so welcome every time without fault. The room is big and I love the lazy boy chairs. The rooms are clean, well appointed and so nice to have the small touches such as plunger coffee supllied and not in a sachet. Great stay again.

Room Tip: Can't really what add what would be a good room as they all are! I do like room 11 upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a positive review.
It is our pleasure to have you as a guest at Birchwood Manor and we look forward to your next visit.
We are delighted that you enjoy your visits with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very clean and functional motel fairly close to the town centre. The large bedroom and living area made it feel more like a flat than so many of the tiny "box like" motels that seem to be sprouting up these days. Nice wee personal touches and the free paper went down well. Across the road from Countdown and just down the road from Burger King, and other food places.The owners were very helpful with maps and advice etc. Would go back in a shot!

Room Tip: Travelers would struggle to find a better value motel in Invercargill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your time do write this generous response.
We are pleased that you enjoyed Birchwood Manor and our spacious rooms.
Visitors do enjoy our spacious rooms and our close proximity to the CBD.
We are delighted to hear that you would be" back like a shot".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Again it paid to check Tripadvisor. Birchwood is what we call a motel or motor inn and the management do it well. Too often the carparking area is bare bitumen, here the well loved and tended garden(loved the tulips) was most welcome.
Great to have a hotplate, as well as microwave and the other appliances. Bed very comfortable and unit warm without necessity of artificial heating.
Well situated with large supermarket opposite

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EA1509TC1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We appreciate your comments and thank you for the time to write this positive review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed Birchwood Manor, your room and the garden and surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Manor Motel

Property: Birchwood Manor Motel
Address: 189 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#11 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central City Motel Apartment Accommodation Invercargill. 15 Spacious units with all facilities, some with spas. Central city location on Tay St close to all facilities incl sport & cultural venues. Southland hospitality on Southern Scenic route. Perfect for business travellers, family and holiday makers. With amenities such as high speed wireless internet, fully equipped kitchens in each motel unit, private balconies and much more - you're guaranteed a great stay here. Book online securely and enjoy the knowledge and expertise of our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Birchwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Manor Motel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing