We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay there again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birchwood Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Birchwood Manor Motel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Wouldn't stay there again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

I travel a lot throughout NZ and I found this motel to be one of the most expensive I have ever used.
The decor and furnishings are dated but my main gripe would be the cost of the breakfast. It cost as much as a 5 star hotel for a bowl of cheap cereal and 2 slices of homebrand bread!
I have stayed in Invercargil before at the Quest and will go back there in future for a higher quality room at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvis518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
We are disappointed this guest did not enjoy his/her experience at our motel.This is a very rare experience for us and in fact guests regularly compliment us on the comfort and quality of our units.
The majority of our guests are from the corporate sector and many enjoy our breakfast and indeed compliment us on them and the choices given.The ingredients for our breakfasts are all of high quality and are of reputable brands brought at our local supermarket.There is a personal effort made by us to ensure the quality of the cereals and other foods.We consider the cost of our breakfast more than reasonable and in line with many places we have stayed ourselves, including 5 star hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    36
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
64
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warkworth, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Yep a very nice stay but still the stigma about motorcycles and black jackets.Owner rushed in to check we hadn't taken or damaged anything as we were riding out.However -very nice units and very nice people to stay with.

Room Tip: heaps of safe parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biker044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments about our motel and us as hosts.
We really enjoy the Burt Munroe weekend which is a great event for our city.
We have no problem with the black jackets or our guests integrity.
We were very busy that weekend and needed to work smartly to prepare the unit for our next guests arrival.
We are happy to welcome all bike enthusiasts to the Burt Munroe weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at the Birchwood Manor Motel in May. The hosts David and Sue were so very welcoming and helpful the moment we arrived. Nothing was too hard for them.
The room we booked was the Jacuzzi one, and we throughly enjoyed using it after travelling miles. The only drawback was that the room was located up stairs, and since I suffer with Lupus, I found it a bit hard to climb the stairs. I should have asked about being moved, however the motel was full, and I felt I couldn't. The booking engine should state whether the room is downstairs or upstairs. This is the only gripe, and something I should have followed through. All and all a lovely homely motel with happy hosts that go the extra mile. We would definately return.

Room Tip: ask whether the room is upstairs or downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

David & Sue were true hosts. I travel a lot and can honestly say this is the first motel I stayed at were the hosts made me feel like a guest staying in their house. David went out of his way to check on my (which had been delayed) so that he could collect me. The room was clean, warmed up (before I arrived!) and everything was well presented and appointed with all one needed for a stay. David even went out of his way to drop me off at my meeting venue - a gesture I very much appreciated. Thanks guys - I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Hosts very friendly, charming place ... to return and enjoy. I recommend it. Stella (Buenos Aires, Argentina)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaMaris53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

The owners, David and Sue, are great hosts. Very nice suites, well equiped, clean, quiet and comfortable. Excellent location close to town center and public pool. One minute walk from grocery store.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Pierre_Quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for your very positive review and we are pleased to be able to accommodate your colleague with us at the moment.It was our pleasure to have you as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

I've been coming back to the Birchwood for 6 years or so.

It is probably the closest motel to the centre of Invercargill, and handy to many facilities.

While on a main road, the building at the front shelters the units form any noise.

Units are spacious, many have separate main bedroom from living area. And the beds are very comfy, I always sleep like a log here

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChChKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Manor Motel

Property: Birchwood Manor Motel
Address: 189 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#10 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central City Motel Apartment Accommodation Invercargill. 15 Spacious units with all facilities, some with spas. Central city location on Tay St close to all facilities incl sport & cultural venues. Southland hospitality on Southern Scenic route. Perfect for business travellers, family and holiday makers. With amenities such as high speed wireless internet, fully equipped kitchens in each motel unit, private balconies and much more - you're guaranteed a great stay here. Book online securely and enjoy the knowledge and expertise of our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Birchwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Manor Motel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing