We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A routine city centre hotel”
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We decided to stay in Invercargill on the way East and picked the Kelvin Hotel at random.
Friendly and efficient check-in and the took care of parking our car after the bags were unloaded.
Four of us in two rooms. Both rooms were very, very small but had large bathrooms. In one case the cold tap in the bath did not work and strange black sand came out of the hot tap. (Solder residue from some plumbing?) In the other case the hot water was a funny colour.
A strange heating / cooling system in the room which blasted out hot air when set to cool.
No WiFi but an Ethernet Internet system at exorbitant rates. 20c a megabyte which means that an e-mail with a few photos would cost a couple of dollars and a Microsoft or Norton automatic
update could set you back $20 in the blink of an eye. Many hotels made the mistake ten years ago of running 10 base T cable to all rooms. A great idea at the time and unlucky that the world changed when WiFi, but no reason to try and recover the investment now from unsuspecting customers. We used an iPad with 3G on NZ Telecom set up as a Personal Hotspot instead so not a problem for us, but disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan T, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Kelvin Hotel, I understand your stay was in some of our smaller rooms which had been discounted, we do have a variety of rooms including 3 beautiful suites which provide plenty of extra space. I am pleased to advise that we are in the process of installing in room Wi Fi and plan to have this up in running in the very near future.
Kind Regards Bryan Townley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 183 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Kelvin...Invercargill's iconic Post Modern Architecture era multi-storied hotel. A very good standard of service, valet parking and good food for what is a business hotel. A spotless room with a surprisingly good view of the city. Since it's in the heart of the city you have quite a few restaurant choices, for a small city of this size, within a ten minute walk. Has it's own restaurant and luck for me...It was Bluff Oyster season!!! So called 'South Land' sized servings really fill you. The people are really freindly, Queenstown is only an hour and a half's drive away. Aparently equipped with a spa and sauna, but I didn't have time to use it.

Room Tip: The higer up, the quieter it is, also try and get an eastward or south facing room, get a panoramic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan T, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our "classic" 1960 style Hotel. Although a lot of upgrading over the years has taken place the Hotel does possess real character.
We look forward to being of service again. Kind Regards Bryan Townley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Seems like the best option in Invercargill. They valet parked our car, gave us free Internet and allowed for late check out. Located in the center of town within a half block from restaurants and bars. The room was spacious and clean. Not much to do in town but good stopping point when visiting Catlins and or Stewart Island.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoasiaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan T, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Kelvin Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our central location. Kind Regards Bryan Townley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Helpful staff as wanted to change night, no problem. Room was lovely and clean with great views across the city. Car was parked for us and brought around the next morning when we asked for it.
Internet great value and in your room. $5.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chetercity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan T, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Kelvin Hotel, pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Kind Regards Bryan Townley Hotel General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

hotel is central, standard mid-class, nothing was missed, free parking is good.
breakfast in the restaurant was awful, thin coffee, bad taste, reminded of a bad canteen, not acceptable for such a high price

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed wkend of 11th & 12th. The room was lovely and the carparking service was a nice touch. The resturant and bar was also pretty good. Only black mark was the room service saturday night. Only toasted sandwiches avaliable. They were pretty ordinary and hardly what u would call toasted. Overall i wud definately go back again, and recommend as top quality accom in Invers.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathmax02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan T, Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for posting your experience of the Kelvin Hotel, I am pleased that you found the Kelvin Hotel to be a friendly and enjoyable place to stay. I was dissapointed to find that the toasted sandwiches were not to your satisfaction and will follow this up. A full room service menu is availble until 10.30pm, therefore I assume the sandwhiches were ordered after this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was on business in Invercargill and was recommended to say at the Kelvin Hotel.
When I arrived I was greeted with a smile from the receptionist and a cherry greeting.
I was offered valet parking for my vehicle as there was only metered parking around the building, I enquired if there was a cost to this and to my suprise there was none.
The room that was given to me was on the third floor. It was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable.The only issue was it was very warm and with no aircon.

The meals in the restaurant food was ok but it took a while to come when the resturant was not that busy.

The restuarant staff were very friendly

The best part of my stay were the staff so next time I am in Invercargill I will stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.2 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Tayesta
Comfort Inn Tayesta
#17 of 33 in Invercargill
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: Corner Kelvin & Esk Streets, | P.O. Box 1064, Invercargill, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Price Range: $84 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelvin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing