We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget value plus huge breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homestead Villa Motel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent budget value plus huge breakfasts”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Located only a few kms outside the town centre, we found this motel excellent value from several perspectives. The rooms are spacious, clean, great kitchenette facilities and cheap Internet access (which they waived for free). You can walk across to the road to eat at Cobb & Co or Buster Crabbe, two restaurants with a wide variety of wholesome NZ choices especially many seafood options and generous portions. The breakfasts are not included in their room rate but for only an extra $18, you can choose from the kiwi cooked breakfast, waffles or eggs benedict (which rivals many higher class establishments) - the portions are probably double what you need, cooked fresh and hot in their kitchen and delivered with a smile to your room. Location-wise, you are only 5 mins drive to the Southland Museum (definitely worth a visit) or 10 mins walk to the town centre. Behind the motel, you can also walk in the Queens Park and down to the Southland Museum or for much needed exercise after the large-sized meals.

Seriously consider this option when you are in Invercargill - great value for money, the staff are very welcojming and eager to help and the environment and ambience feels much higher class than an average motel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    44
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
56
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We arrived 2 hours earlier than our projected checkin with a screaming baby (she had had enough of sitting in her car seat and needed a wriggle badly and a sleep in a bed). The staff quickly sorted our room, heated a bottle for the baby and within 5 minutes of arriving super early we were sitting in our very clean and serviced motel room.
The room was spacious and comfortable and was just what we needed at the time. There was room service available from the restaurant across the road and other local restaurants delivered food also. Information was in the room to show you many of the things Invercargill had to offer. The motel was quite central - a 2 minute drive into the centre of the city.
We will definitely stay here again if we are in Invercargill again.
All the staff we spoke to were so friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The motel was very clean and very spacious. Staff were welcoming, particularly Debbie who was very obliging, helpful and welcoming. Eateries close and not far from town centre. Bit of a blip on New Year's Day when staff was a little late but New Year's Eve had to be got over! Overall we thought this a very good motel providing excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Units away from main road are a little quieter but it is not a major issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the unit with separate bedroom and lounge / kitchen area. The spa was great. Can't believe we had such a good deal. The girls were very helpful with our requests for wifi although the connections were not satisfactory. They promised to have that checked. The property is in a very convenient location. There are a number of eateries within walking distance. We had a lovely 2 day stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GohAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This motel is amazing. We had a two bedroom apartment and it was just like being at home. Everything was clean and in amazing condition. Big lounge room and bedrooms and separate bathroom and toilet. Initially we were only staying one night, but loved it so uck that we stayed four nights. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stay here every four weeks and always enjoy my stay here. Friendly and very welcoming staff make you feel very welcome. Rooms are very good. Very quiet too considering it's on the main road. Meals across the road from the restaurant/bar are great value too and even better they can be charged back to your room as with many I.L.T. establishments in town.
Make sure to book ahead so you're not disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here overnight and found the accommodation top-notch. The unit was warm, which was very nice on a cold night, clean, modern and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them and they were informative about dining close to the motel. The breakfast provided was wonderful. I would recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
311 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
99 reviews
2.5 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 33 in Invercargill
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Villa Motel

Property: Homestead Villa Motel
Address: Cnr Avenal and Dee Streets, Invercargill, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#10 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#10 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Homestead Villa Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homestead Villa Motel offers you premium accommodation and location, only minutes to Invercargill’s major recreation spots, sporting facilities and city centre. Only a block to our picturesque, feature packed Queens Park, golf course, museum and art gallery. Just 10 minutes stroll to the city centre. Short drive to Stadium Southland & the Velodrome, Splash Palace, Rugby Park, hospital and airport. Adjacent Cobb & Co restaurant and bar and within walking distance to many fine dining options. Spacious, comfortable rooms offering stylish, modern decor. Quality amenities with all the extras, including our special breakfast menu to tantalize your taste buds.Ideal for the business traveller at the hub of Invercargill’s commercial district, the leisure/family travellers for activities and sightseeing plus the convenience and facilities suitable for all sporting, recreation and performing tour groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homestead Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Villa Motel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing